We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience for Adults and Child”

Turoe Pet Farm and Leisure Park
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Loughrea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Turoe Farm’s official website! Now that you have joined us, we hope that you take the time to have a look around the site to get an overview of the comprehensive range of facilities that are on offer.Since Turoe Farm first opened in May 1993 it has grown from strength to strength and is now one of the leading visitor attractions in the West of Ireland. This family-run enterprise is situated in a rural setting near a village called Bullaun, 4km off the M6 main Galway/Dublin route.Turoe Farm boasts of many wonderful facilities and these can be viewed in the ‘Amenity Section’ of the website. Over the years Turoe Farm has gained a reputation for offering an excellent ‘value for money’ product and our staff provides first class customer service. The Farm offers a unique facility for families, group and individual outings.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

My family and I were very impressed by our enjoyable visit here this morning. It was easy to find from Galway and then only a short distance from the main road. Once there parking was easy and getting tickets from the friendly man at the gate was a breeze. The rate for two adults and one child was €28 (I don’t know if there is a season ticket rate for locals) which isn’t cheap but we were there for over three hours and had a blast so it was worth it for us.

There was so much to do that the adults and child all loved. We started by going around seeing and petting the animals. My daughter loved petting the rabbits and we all enjoyed walking around the nature path and feeding goats, llamas, donkeys, sheep, and an unusual breed of pig called a kone kone we had never seen before. One brown goat was naughty and would chase away sheep who approached the fence looking for food. My wife fed the greedy goat and distracted him while my daughter fed the sheep. It was all part of the fun.

Next we played on the amazing playground outside. We have taken our daughter to Ireland twice now and Iceland last year and each time have visited a playground and we are amazed by how much better the playgrounds in Europe are, with much cooler things to spin on and so forth. This playground was no exception to that. It was fantastic. I also want to note that everything was spotless and well maintained.

Next was the bouncy castle inside. What a wonder! I had to admire whoever designed this engineering marvel for this spot. It is massive and like no bounce place we have ever seen. I also appreciate that there is one way in and out so adults can just relax on the chairs outside knowing their kid is in a self contained area (and, just like every other bounce place I’ve ever encountered on two continents, adults are not allowed in the bouncing area; how do some people not know this?). It wasn’t crowded, either, and at one point our nine year old even had the place to herself for a few minutes and was Queen of the Castle. All in all, she bounced for a full hour!

We had lunch in their “Country Kitchen”. It is a large area with picnic tables and a simple but inexpensive menu which was perfect for our needs. Then we went outside again and visited the animals again.

Between all the museums and castle ruins on our trip which we are all loving, we thought our daughter could use an entirely kid-centric morning. We couldn’t be happier with our experience here.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank AlexanderD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, Manager at Turoe Pet Farm and Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Alexander, Thanks a million for a wonderful step by step review of your experience when you visited our farm, we are delighted that your daughter had a wonderful experience as did both of you. We are fortunate to have plenty of space both indoors and out and plenty of variety. Our customers are very important to us and we are great believers in customer care and are delighted when our customers are happy with our attraction. We also thank you for the five star rating. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bouncy castle"
in 57 reviews
"inflatable city"
in 47 reviews
"feeding the animals"
in 20 reviews
"pet farm"
in 30 reviews
"great family day"
in 11 reviews
"country kitchen"
in 3 reviews
"all ages"
in 18 reviews
"soft play area"
in 7 reviews
"great place for kids"
in 6 reviews
"endless fun"
in 3 reviews
"indoor area"
in 5 reviews
"older kids"
in 5 reviews
"nuggets"
in 4 reviews
"bring your own picnic"
in 8 reviews
"whole family"
in 5 reviews
"astro turf"
in 5 reviews
"football pitch"
in 3 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 272 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

I visited with my family, I have a toddler and he squealed with excitement all the way around the farm! He adored the rabbits and it was great that you were able to go into the enclosure with them and pet them. With your ticket you were provided with food for the animals so it was nice to be able to feed them on the way round and that ensured you got to see the animals up close. There was a playground that was great for older kids but the one thing I would say is there wasn't much in the playground for my son's age. However that's not the main attraction in the place so it didn't detract too much from the experience. A great variety of animals and it wasn't too big and overwhelming to walk around with a toddler.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank GraHarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, Manager at Turoe Pet Farm and Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Many thanks Gra for you lovely detailed review about your visit to Turoe Pet Farm, we are delighted your son enjoyed the feeding of the animals which is a great experience for children. One of our playgrounds where the indoor sand arena is and the small play ground equipment is geared to toddlers and small children and the big playground is geared for the bigger children,however perhaps we should look at having more equipment in the big playground for the smaller children as well (food for thought). We are delighted that you enjoyed the nature trail as it is a half mile but it gives the farm idea as the animals are all in little fields with grass. We welcome and appreciate all comments as this forms the bases for further updates and we thank you for that. Thanks for your five star rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Well this is a great spot to go with a group of children 6 up as the bouncy indoor castles are huge and a great idea to keep kids happy. Petting part was good ... more animals please as it’s a big area and it’s over too quick (to get to the next animal to keep small children occupied). Good swings and slides area, good family day out otherwise.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Davedj68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, Manager at Turoe Pet Farm and Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Daved, Thank you for complimentary comment about our "Inflatable City" children do love it. We are a farm and all the animals like any farm are in fields with grass to feed them so the idea is that as you walk around the farm the animals come to the fence to be fed and by the time you spend time with the animals and feed them it is a half mile. We have all the animals that you would expect to have on a farm, but as a result of the heatwave we have taken out some sheep as they had not enough of grass to eat. We are delighted that you also enjoyed the outdoor playgrounds and that you had a good day out. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

A must for families to visit. Our 5 and 3 year old loved everything about Turoe Pet Farm from feeding the animals to jumping around in the HUGE bouncy castle to eating in the country kitchen. Staff are very friendly and the facilities very clean. Our 5 year old girl fell while running around with excitement (high jinx) and the staff really made a big deal of her by putting a plaster on her knee... We spent over 3 hours here with plenty of things for the kids to do. Food is very good. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank thedublinrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, Manager at Turoe Pet Farm and Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

Hi Dublinrambler,. Thank you for your wonderful review of your experience when you visited our farm and you reviewed your experience in such detail.. We really appreciate it and delighted that the children had a wonderful day. We are fortunate to have a great team of staff who are caring and are happy doing what they do and we are delighted that you experience that. It is our priority that our facilities are clean and pleasant for our customers, as our customers are very important to us as we are so fortunate to have such repeat business. Many thanks for your five star rating and we look forward to a return visit if in the area again. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

Went to Turoe pet farm today and was massively impressed! Such a variety of activities and staff were extremely friendly. Loved that the children could feed the animals themselves! Will definitely visit again!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary C, Manager at Turoe Pet Farm and Leisure Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

Carol, We appreciate your lovely review of your visit to Turoe Pet Farm, we are delighted with it. We are fortunate to have a wonderful team of staff who are always pleasant and are very caring with the children. We are delighted with your 5 star rating and hope when you visit again that you will enjoy it as well. Thanks a million.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turoe Pet Farm and Leisure Park also viewed

Loughrea, County Galway
Loughrea, County Galway
 
Loughrea, County Galway
 

Been to Turoe Pet Farm and Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing