We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day at Turoe Pet Farm”

Turoe Pet Farm and Leisure Park
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Loughrea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Turoe Farm’s official website! Now that you have joined us, we hope that you take the time to have a look around the site to get an overview of the comprehensive range of facilities that are on offer.Since Turoe Farm first opened in May 1993 it has grown from strength to strength and is now one of the leading visitor attractions in the West of Ireland. This family-run enterprise is situated in a rural setting near a village called Bullaun, 4km off the M6 main Galway/Dublin route.Turoe Farm boasts of many wonderful facilities and these can be viewed in the ‘Amenity Section’ of the website. Over the years Turoe Farm has gained a reputation for offering an excellent ‘value for money’ product and our staff provides first class customer service. The Farm offers a unique facility for families, group and individual outings.
-
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful day at Turoe Pet Farm”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just back from a great couple of hours at Turoe Pet Farm. There's a nice selection of friendly animals which the children could feed. Included in the entry fee is a bag of animal nuts per child. The animals (goats, sheep, donkeys, llama) will happily take this food from your child's hand. We brought our own picnic ( which is allowed) and had it outdoors but, if the weather was poor, there's a large indoor area with picnic benches (and flat-screen TVs showing the Olympics)!. After the kids did some bouncing around the two indoor play areas, we decided to have our lunch at the Pet Farm and we were very impressed. The meals were very reasonably priced and the food was of excellent quality. We were happy that there were some non-chip options e.g. our Kids had chicken curry with rice.

All staff we encountered were very friendly and the indoor play areas are well supervised.

I would certainly recommend Turoe Pet Farm for families with young kids.

Cost (August 2012): Eur45 for 2 adults & 3 children
Good value for us given that we spent about 4 hours there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank An_taistealaí
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    46
    8
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great day out with plenty to do inside and out”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We went with our two year old on a day when the weather wasn't looking great. He loved feeding the animals, which all seemed placid and happy to be fed and petted. There are two outdoor play areas which were good, and also a nice open grass space with footballs and goals. Inside both of the play areas were great. The large bouncy castle type room genuinely is huge. We had nice toasties from the kitchen for lunch, though they are happy for picnics and allow them inside as well. First impression on arriving is that they may have oversold it in the brochure but that's not the case. Would definitely recommend it for a family day out.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent:)”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a wonderful family pet farm.I took my daughters here for a day out and they loved it :)
There is a great selection of animals and you get a little bag of food on you're way in to feed them.Although it was a wet and rainy day the whole family still had a lovely time!
The indoor play area and the giant inflatable city was super for the kids..We couldn't get them away.
The food was tasty and efficient and the little shop was v.handy for drinks and snacks!
There is also a playground and pitch for the kids :)

A superb day out for the whole family :)
Highly recommend.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria_Galway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, Blantyre, Malawi
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Real Kid Pleaser”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Went with my nieces and nephew on an okay day. Went in the gate and was very warmly received by Yvonne one of the owners. Family run. The children received bags of food and were allowed to head off. They could go in and rub the rabbits and chickens which was great experience for children to be able to do. Then they could walk around and feed the many different breeds of farm animals. Animals are very friendly and very well looked after. Despite the fact that the farm was busy there was no problem using the facilities as there was plenty to do here. I think the most impressive is the large inflatable attraction inside one of the buildings and kids have great fun in it. It is well supervised so adults can grab a quick tea and revive.

What is really impressive is that you can use the facilities to eat your own food if you bring your own picnic. This is a great idea for families who do not have large amounts of money and with the restaurant there you can get hot food and tea to supplement your picnic if you wish.

The kids had a great day and the animals was such a highlight we walked around the animals twice to see them again. Thanks very much to the great staff here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
“top of conversation list”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

arrived at gate to a great welcome and chat to owner who was very friendly with talk bout the farm,were i come from and even telln me best way back to motorway.Once you in it straight to feed the goats,sheep,donkeys etc with the bags of food given on arrival to kids.animals come over to fence u just stick out flat hand an they eat simple!.all weather paths so no muddy shoes.Then into inflatable city a warehouse with one big not the word but monstrous bouncy castle with giant slide.leave kids here and go for tea in next building.return to inflatable city.. keep looking and your kids will finally appear it dat big.on way out you can buy turoe farm frisbee,magnets pencils etc.were i had another great chat with lady on counter,while behind me the owner was drawing me a map to get home.This spot will be top of any suggestion i would have for anyone traveling with kids.well worth a day trip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank cork1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turoe Pet Farm and Leisure Park also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Loughrea, County Galway
 
Loughrea, County Galway
 

Been to Turoe Pet Farm and Leisure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing