We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fresh tasty food”
Review of Taste Matters

Taste Matters
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Loughrea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: European, Irish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual restaurant with interesting delicious food & genuine hospitality.
galway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very fresh tasty food”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We ate here a few weeks ago on a Thursday night. The quality of the food was second to none and very tasty. Our 7 year old daughter had a piece of poached salmon with mashed potato and a selection of fresh vegetables which cost 6 euro. Unbelieveable. We both had the steaks which were perfect. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elainecb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    28
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Ate here for a birthday celebration with 9 others. They were extremely accommodating and the food was superb! Really happy with both service and quality, would recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Taste Matters indeed”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my mum were in Loughrea on a spa day in the Lough Rea hotel so were looking for a spot of lunch before heading home. We had noticed Taste Matters on our previous visit to Loughrea but it was closed (we were there Sunday to Tuesday). We had a delicious lunch with very friendly and attentive staff. I had the meatball pasta dish which was fresh and flavoursome. My mum had the kebabs which were also delicious (I had a little taster!).

Helpful?
Thank ruadh_ruadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
“Great little gem”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Delicious food,had pork fillet for mains,the black pudding with it was fab.. my partner had the
chicken and that too was fab,. Great service and great staff!! We will defo be back and will be reccommending here to others in the loughrea area!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Momo19th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely surprise !!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

From the outside view it didn't seem to strike me , but oh how I was wrong !
The food was fabulous I had duck for starter and main. Lemon tarte was sublime too. Presentation and taste both beautiful
Don't judge a book by its cover
I will definitely be back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TC-UK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Matters also viewed

Loughrea, County Galway
Loughrea, County Galway
 
Loughrea, County Galway
Loughrea, County Galway
 
Loughrea, County Galway
 

Been to Taste Matters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing