We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastronomic delight,”
Review of Taste Matters

Taste Matters
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Loughrea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: European, Irish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual restaurant with interesting delicious food & genuine hospitality.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gastronomic delight,”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just home from a wonderful night in Taste Matters. The bernaise sauce was perfect ! Steak was very flavoursome, cooked to my liking as per request !
Yet again I could not find fault even if I tried !!!
My taste buds are on overload, well done and thank you to you all at Taste Matters..
Well worth travelling to eat here !!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AishlingM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jirka H, Owner at Taste Matters, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely write up ... 2nd one already! Come back again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    28
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best meal out in a long time”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

A group of ten friends went to Taste Matters tonight for dinner. It surpassed all our expectations. Service was friendly, food was five star and if it were not for the fact that we do not live in the area we would definitely be back in the near future. We could not praise it too highly. Superb taste and quality. Innovative without being over the top. Well done to the chefs and staff involved in making our night out memorable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cailinruadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jirka H, Owner at Taste Matters, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for such a praise! We are happy that you enjoyed your night out with us. Hopefully you will find some excuse to come back to Loughrea and visit us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent yet again.....”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Brought my very extended family to Taste Matters to lunch today. Yet again we were treated to very good food, lovingly prepared and served at exceptionally reasonable prices. A winning combination.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goatstowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jirka H, Owner at Taste Matters, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
As always it was our pleasure serving you and your family. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Earlier this year four of us decided to have a meal out and said we'd give "Taste Matters" a try. As it turned out it was a great decision. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The staff were helpful and friendly and the food was exceptional. Everyone in our group was impressed both with the presentation and the quality of the food. It was an all round pleasant experience. A return visit can't be far away.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dovado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jirka H, Owner at Taste Matters, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for giving us a try! We are glad you enjoyed our food and service and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Taste matters, loughrea”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent imaginative food. Very health and fresh, locally sourced. Service great, attentive but not intrusive, cosy intimate venue. A gem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noeleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jirka H, Owner at Taste Matters, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. We are happy you liked our place and we look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Matters also viewed

Loughrea, County Galway
Loughrea, County Galway
 
Loughrea, County Galway
Loughrea, County Galway
 
Loughrea, County Galway
 

Been to Taste Matters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing