We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It !”
Review of Taste Matters

Taste Matters
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Loughrea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Casual restaurant with interesting delicious food & genuine hospitality.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love It !”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have eaten here a few times for lunch and dinner. I have not one negative to say about everything. They are child friendly at Lunch time and every meal I have had has been perfect. Service was excellent. The food is very tasty with a different zing to it. It is a small restaurant but you can still have an intimate chat. I like the food best of everything. There wine choice is good too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zarrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jirka82, Owner at Taste Matters, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Many thanks for you kind words! We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    29
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“''Eye catching and Excellent''”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

If your are a Sunday road tripper, and enjoy good wholesome fresh home cooking - then a visit to 'Tast Matters' in Loughrea is a must!
On Sun 16th Sept , my friend and I took a spontanous trip to east Co Galway, en route we decided to abandon the motorway and enjoy the rural route, Behold - our taste buds were enlightened on noticing an eyecatching Restaurant in Loughtea called 'TASTE MATERS'. parking at the door was readily available, with bistro tables and seating for 'al fresco' dining if desired. On entering, we were pleasently greeted by a cheerful waitress and friednly young gentleman. the decor was fresh and Art themed, Tables neatly arranged - but the best was yet to come! Sunday lunch menu was varied with prices ranging from 5.50 to 9.50. good selection on offer and tempting array of Desserts. The young gentleman introduced himself as co-propritor, We ordered 'SEAFOOD CHOWDER' for two, opting for one serving of mash instead of Soda Bread, The chowder was served -perfectly hot and creamy with delicious chunks of fresh perfectly cooked fish including whole prawns, mmmm I can still tast the freshness of the 'food of the sea' , within a few minutes the whole place began to fill up with Sunday Lunch revellers, and it appeared most of them were regurlar Sunday patrons.
A Lone Ranger sat next to us, introduced himself then orderd his regurlar Lamb lunch, which looked appetizing and appealing. Our short and sweet visit was a pleasure. Due to the effecient staff, reasonable priced varied menu, delicious food and relaxing decor and PERFECT PARKING.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travefile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jirka82, Owner at Taste Matters, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write your lovely review... and big thanks to the rural route which brought you to us! The chowder is indeed very popular and it has been on our menu ever since we opened. We are glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and hopefully we will see you again sometimes... the chowder will still be there! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Unrivalled”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Best ever. No negatives. Very well done all, continued success. Cant wait to go again. Thanks guys! Best food and wine anywhere....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stratshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jirka82, Owner at Taste Matters, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you kindly! We are doing our best not only to keep the standard up, but to exceed it. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughrea, Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

just enjoyed a fantastic celebration meal tonight. the food was excellent as were the staff. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jirka82, Owner at Taste Matters, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you very much! We are happy you enjoyed your meal and the service, especially on a special occasion. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“I recommend Taste Matters”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

A friend and I enjoyed a fantastic lunch. Main meals were priced around 10 euro.
The service was excellent and the food delivered a wow! Dishes here have a beautiful presentation. The water decanter having a sprig of mint and slice of lemon was also a nice touch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DenisMulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jirka82, Owner at Taste Matters, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We are delighted you liked our lunch dishes and our service. While we believe one eats with his eyes as well, the taste is still of utmost importance to us. We are happy you enjoyed both. See you again next time you are around! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Matters also viewed

Loughrea, County Galway
Loughrea, County Galway
 
Loughrea, County Galway
Loughrea, County Galway
 

Been to Taste Matters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing