We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food homely & tasty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maggie Mays

Maggie Mays
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Loughrea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food homely & tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

staff friendly, child friendly and quick service. Upstairs is newly decorated so it is nicer there. Food fresh and menu good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zarrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    31
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hearty meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Ah the food in Maggie Mays its hard to beat, very generous helpings and very tasty. value is extremely good and i would recommend it to a hungry traveller, also music and bar are excellent and staff are friendly and helpful

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Avonlea2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly, Welcoming Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Pub has a friendly welcoming atmosphere with good food, friendly staff and good layout.
Good option for a bite to eat in Loughrea.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
“The best wedding dinner ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Myself and my husband got married in July, and as we only wanted a small family wedding with a "party" atmosphere we booked Maggie Mays for our reception. It was FANTASTIC. The canapes and bubbly were waiting for us to arrive and were delicious. The restaurant upstairs looked wonderful with one big long table ready for everyone to sit around. My friends and family are still raving about the fillet steak and how they have never tasted a meal as good. The food was cooked perfectly and served with the care and attention we had come to expect of Maggies. If I were to say how much all the food, wine and finger food cost you wouldnt believe me. It was the best value and most enjoyed wedding I have ever been to.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sinead C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven, connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have a friend who lives outside Loughrea. When we visit my wife's mother in Clare each year, we head over to Loughrea and dinner at Maggie Mays. Do not think Dublin Pub Crawl type of place, this is truly a pub of the West that feeds the locals. The service has always been friendly, efficient, swift and honest. Our party sometime consists of up to 10 people, so we have tried almost everything on the menu. The "Roast of the Day" never disappoints. The spuds and veggies are served family-st yle, and are always fresh and plentiful. The meat, fish, lamb, chicken, etc., has always been served perfectly cooked; and the desserts are surpisingly decadent You will also get an "honest pull" for your pint. Prices are reasonable for Ireland now. This is a friendly and satisfying place to dine whether it is sunny out, or a 'soft rain'. I would recommend Maggie Mays to anyone looking for good food, not just pub food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggie Mays also viewed

Loughrea, County Galway
Loughrea, County Galway
 
Loughrea, County Galway
Loughrea, County Galway
 

Been to Maggie Mays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing