We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lough Rea Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
2 reviews
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

Very nice hotel, travelling to Galway on business so suited me location of hotel, just off the new M6. When I got to reception I asked for a single rate for one night and was quoted €59B&B or €49 room only, was nice to see they had an option. As I filled in my company details the girl asked me had I paased through the toll on my way and prceeded to tell me that they were doing an offer where they would cover your fees, thought it was quite niffty and much appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Busylady1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    229
    99
    40
    21
See reviews for
174
288
30
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

Stayed at this hotel recently en route to Galway. We were very impressed on arrival at the hotel. Beautiful foyer and check in was simple. Room was beautiful with a rich warm colour scheme. Dinner in the bar was beautiful. Very generous portions and really delicious. The waitress serving us was also very pleasant and helpful as were the bar staff.

The few minor issues I had arose the next day. Firstly at breakfast there was a toaster where you have to put in the bread and wait for it. It wasn't working so people kept having to go back up to check if their toast was ready which was clogging up the buffet area. I found this annoying as firstly I got no toast and secondly, I don't think it is too much to expect tea and toast to be served in a four star hotel. There was also a very poor selection if you decided not to have the hot food ie no croissants etc.

When myself and my friend came down to check out, we were loaded down with bags and coats etc and we were dressed to go to a wedding. There were three members of staff (2 men and a woman) chatting behind the reception desk and no one offered to help with our luggage. It was pouring rain so I can understand their reluctance but this would have made it all the more appreciated. While almost everything else was enjoyable, this lack of customer service left me with a sour taste in my mouth (and a wet hairdo for the wedding!)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1lolly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

We just spent 5 nights on the 4th floor of the hotel. Apart from the comfy bed and good food there really is nothing else going for this hotel. We had the noise from the Nightclub thumping away until 2:30am Friday and Saturday nights, no hot water for 2½ out of the 5 days (this was met with run the taps for at least 20 minutes and it should get warm - it didn't), the shower was barely a trickle, very poor lighting in the rooms, including the bathroom, and no shelf or drawer space. This year as well you have to pay an extra 15 euro each/day to use the spa facilities, this on top of the 100 euro a night we were being charged (last year it was complimentary). This hotel is probably fine if you are a travelling salesperson but for a vacation visiting with family and friends ---- NOT.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller10Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

As I spend alot of time travelling around the country due to work commitments the one and only thing that is a must for me is to be able to find somewhere relaxing after a long day in the car. I had not passed through loughrea for quite some time so I was pleasantly surprised to find a new place to call my home for the few nights.
The first thing that springs to mind when I think back about my stay was the service,the comfort, the friendly atmosphere, which were all there in abundance.
The staff seemed always to be busy, which makes a change from alot of hotels I have frequented.It says alot about the management team and the owners when all the staff are smiling even when they are busy. The first night I arrived I was about 30 minutes late for food, but the staff behind the bar went out of their way to rustle something up for me, and fair play to them ( thank you Pat and Sarah!).
The rooms were beautifully laid out and the decor was very warm, perfect after a long day
All in all Loughre hotel & spa was a wonderful experience and I hope to be passing by there soon!
I just wish to express my gratitude to all the staff during my stay who made it a very pleasing experience. I would unhesitantly recommend this as a necessary stop in loughrea, even just for a coffee!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnathonDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

stayed here in oct to meet up with friends, while most of the stay was very comfortable, I feel I must point out a few things that caught my attention, we ate in the bar on the first night and I found it to be filthy, the carpet was stained and all debre from lunch I presume, the tables were stained with drink, and the carvery had greese streaks all down the front for everyone to see. Had to eat our Bfast in the bar next morning, not nice smell of beer, toaster at other end of bar, cold no athmosphere v dissapointing. Get a manager to oversee these problems, if you have one SHAME on them. wont be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polly1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for the 10th time this year on business. It is a nice modern hotel and very well laid out. I stay in hotels around europe every other week for my work and so i have lots to compare to...

Some of the previous reviews written are extremely unfair and it looks like some people just can't be pleased! The food in the bar is 1st class, as is the bar itself. They also happen to serve 1 of the best pints of lager i can remember having!

The staff are really nice and friendly and always make my stay very enjoyable and always willing to help in any way they can. The rooms are cracking and the beds/decor etc make for a very comfortable stay.

I will continue to use this hotel whenever i'm back in Ireland without hesitation and would advise anyone else travelling to the area to do the same!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rydo555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

The Loughrea spa hotel is a very nice hotel worth the 4 stars, the bedrooms are gorgeous, beds are very comfortable. Disappointment lay with the air conditioning pipes and vents directly outside our bedroom, noisy and not very nice to look at!
However, the restaurant is an absolute disaster for service. The waitress on the first night was very competent and friendly and food was lovely. But the second night, we had to wait for 20 mins for the starter, then the mains came about 20 mins after we finished that, they then completely forgot about us, did not clear the tables, did not offer coffee or deserts. We gave up and asked for the bill which did not appear. When we went to pay at the till the waitress gave us the amount verbally, we asked for a receipt which was thrown at us. While this was going on a child came and asked for a serviette and the waitress snapped at her... not acceptable.
Breakfast was nice only that we had to wait 20 mins for sausages the first morning and the second morning, toast didn't appear until I finished my breakfast.
Staff I found were abrupt and unfriendly all to 1 very nice waitress on the first night who did her job very well.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelmel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughrea
2.2 mi away
Meadow Court Hotel
Meadow Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Loughrea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
21.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
19.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
15.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Rea Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Rea Hotel and Spa

Property: Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Address: Galway Road, Loughrea, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Loughrea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Rea Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa is located in the historical town of Loughrea in Co.Galway. This modern and stylish Hotel is within walking distance from all the shops, amenities and attractions of Loughrea.The Hotel boasts 91 bedrooms with panoramic views of the town's beautiful lake, the Sliabh Aughty Mountains and the Burren. The Lough Rea Hotel and Spa Wedding team are specialists in ensuring that the Bride and Groom have a wonderful day to remember. The hotel can cater for up to 300 wedding guests in the De Dannan suite: a state of the art grand ballroom. There is a range of air-conditioned meeting rooms that provide clients with the very best conference facilities available, conferences for up to 500 delegates can be accommodated. This hotel offers fine dining in their Abbey Restuarant, Relaxation breaks in the tranquility of Shore Island Spa. Enjoy light bites and delicious cocktails in the Rooftop Garden and Sky Lounge where it boasts sensational views of Lough Rea and the mountains beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your Lough Rea Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Rea Hotel Loughrea
Hotel Lough Rea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing