We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stop off point for lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Certificate of Excellence
Mullingar
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good stop off point for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

A very pleasant relaxing spot at which to stop off for lunch when heading to the south west. There is ample safe parking. We had a simple lunch of sea food chowder, brown bread and a BLT with tea There were many more choices on the menu. The prices are very reasonable. The bar and foyer are modern bright and pleasant. The staff are excellent providing great service and winning smiles. Give this emporium a try if it's on your route going south west and if your a local it's worth supporting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaL495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear VeronicaL495,

Thank you for stopping off at the hotel for your lunch, and that you enjoyed our hospitality.
We have recently introduced a new bar menu, which is proving very popular.
We have a lot of local business which we are delighted to welcome to the hotel and look after.
I hope you get the chance to visit our hotel when passing this way again.

Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    236
    104
    41
    22
See reviews for
180
305
31
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Arriving from NYC the morning of our stay, we were immediately overwhelmed by the bright and warm presentation upon arriving at the hotel. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant and accommodating. The room was truly outstanding with a bed so comfy it made dreaming easy! Our stay spanned 2 days on a trip to, unfortunately, bury a dear relative in Loughrea. The reception and warmth of the staff made us feel immediately at home and relaxed. The weather was the only negative experience, with lashing rain and forceful winds for the burial - but even the weather didn't dampen the staff's warmth, friendliness and considerable graciousness. All told, the food, the drink, the ambiance and the staff make this place a must when in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Anne G,

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel and the team. I will pass your positive comments on.
It was a pity it was a sad occasion for your visit but I am delighted you were well looked after.

Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed here on a Valentine's one night special package with my boyfriend. This package included bed and breakfast and an evening meal. The hotel is located just outside Lough Rea. The rooms were clean, spacious and cosy and our room was overlooking the Lough! We had dinner that evening with the special valentine's menu followed by drinks in the bar afterwards. All in all, a lovely hotel with friendly staff and a nice atmosphere. We really enjoyed our stay and felt very relaxed.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the Lough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drift_Queen_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Drift_Queen_x

Thank you for your review of the hotel, and your kind comments. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your valentines weekend at the hotel and its facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Had a lovely stay in this hotel! Our room was fab and the biggest I have ever stayed in! The bed was so comfy and it overall was a luxorious room. The food in both the bar and the restaurant was very nice and tasty and the staff were very friendly aswell. The drink was slightly pricey however we got a great deal for our room so it balanced it out! The one disappointment is that the access to the spa can only be got by either walking outside or walking through the bar (not ideal after a massage/jacuzzi). Other than this everything thing else was almost perfect! The location is in Loughrea however there isint much ion Loughrea itself (not the hotels fault) however it is ideal for a weekend of relaxation and a little hide away. Also the free wifi is ideal!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Ciara456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear123Ciara456,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your weekend visit, It is reassuring that you enjoyed our facilities at the hotel, I note your comment on the access to the Spa, and we are currently trying to find a solution.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Me and my boyfriend spent the valentines night in this hotel. The service was amazing. The room was clean and big. We availed of the spa package and loved every minute of it. In the evening we had a delicious dinner in the restaurant and received a free glass of sparkling wine. Overall it is a great hotel with really kind staff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasiasleczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Kasialeczka,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. Valentines weekend was a great success for the hotel, and I believe I met you on the night. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your dinner.
I hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Reasonably priced for two night stay using living social voucher. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Food was great and spa was relaxing. There was a delay in our room being ready as although we booked twin room - a double was ready for us. Then when we did our room the view was a blank wall which made the room quite dark and would not entice you to stay in it too long. All that said our weekend stay was very enjoyable and I could not fault the staff. The bar staff were great fun and happy to help.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nryan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear nryan,

Thank you for your review of the hotel and choosing to stay with us. Unfortunately certain rooms do not have a view, however we have lake view rooms available.
It is reassuring to read that you enjoyed your stay, and I hope you get the chance to visit us in the near future.

Kind Regards


Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just back from weekend at this hotel,I found everyting about this hotel excellent from quick check in to friendliness of the staff ,we had ate in abbey resturant on sat nite service was very quick and food was delicious,breakfast also very good with a wide selection of everting,ate in bar Sunday and food also very good and very resonable ,so all and all this is an outstanding hotel and would definately recommend it ,and I can't wait to return thanks lough rea hotel for a brillant weekend

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank suziollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall D, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Suzyollie,

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards

Niall Dalton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughrea
2.1 mi away
Meadow Court Hotel
Meadow Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Loughrea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
21.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
22.2 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
15.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
19.2 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Rea Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Rea Hotel and Spa

Property: Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Address: Galway Road, Loughrea, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Loughrea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Rea Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa is located in the historical town of Loughrea in Co.Galway. This modern and stylish Hotel is within walking distance from all the shops, amenities and attractions of Loughrea.The Hotel boasts 91 bedrooms with panoramic views of the town's beautiful lake, the Sliabh Aughty Mountains and the Burren. The Lough Rea Hotel and Spa Wedding team are specialists in ensuring that the Bride and Groom have a wonderful day to remember. The hotel can cater for up to 300 wedding guests in the De Dannan suite: a state of the art grand ballroom. There is a range of air-conditioned meeting rooms that provide clients with the very best conference facilities available, conferences for up to 500 delegates can be accommodated. This hotel offers fine dining in their Abbey Restuarant, Relaxation breaks in the tranquility of Shore Island Spa. Enjoy light bites and delicious cocktails in the Rooftop Garden and Sky Lounge where it boasts sensational views of Lough Rea and the mountains beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotwire, HRS, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lough Rea Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Rea Hotel Loughrea
Hotel Lough Rea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing