We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a very enjoyable one night stay in this hotel to attend a family party locally .Other members of our family stayed and all were very pleased .
Very spacious rooms with armchair area. Beds very comfortable . Safe, ironing board and iron supplied .
Food very good in restaurant and breakfast selection excellent and fresh cooked breakfast included .
All staff very friendly and helpfull . . Did'nt have time to try Spa .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemmaCo_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 873 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights in February.
The room was nice and we had a lake view however the hotel and the lake are separated by housing estates which diminished the views.
The staff is really nice and friendly.
The food in the restaurant was great and extremely good value for money.
The Spa is also very nice but definitely lacking a pool.

Overall very nice stay and good value for money

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel was lovely the nice staff/reception & breakfast.
I have enjoyed our stay with yourself, the only part I found a bit strange that the place was
a bit deserted for a big hotel like that.
Otherwise everything was nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lvprincess123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ok but biggest problem was public toilets lighting- so dark can't hardly see in there. Told Receptionist who said permanent setting so could not brighten it. Also the draught beers weren't great. Pity because otherwise it was lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Lovely rooms, excellent service. Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the spa but it looked lovely.
Comfy beds and rooms well appointed. Great breakfast selection - cooked to order including omelettes. Would stay here again!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel is a gem. Friendly helpful staff, very nice spa, great bar and bar food and heavely beds. The spa is great quality with very professional yet friendly staff. It was a lovely way to spend an afternoon after a long walk in the hills around Loughrea.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back which , even though it did not have a view of the lake, was very quiet, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cailinruadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in April and was generally impressed.

The rooms were pretty cheap (about £60 a night inc breakfast) and the quality of the room was definitely well above average.

I ate in the bar one night and was disappointed with the food but the atmosphere and decor were pretty nice.

If you are in the area this is probably the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrubberyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughrea
2.1 mi away
Meadow Court Hotel
Meadow Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Loughrea
212 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lady Gregory Hotel
19.2 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Raheen Woods Hotel
Raheen Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Athenry
405 reviews
15.1 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
839 reviews
22.1 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Rea Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Rea Hotel and Spa

Address: Galway Road, Loughrea, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Loughrea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Price Range: $69 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Rea Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa is located in the historical town of Loughrea in Co.Galway. This modern and stylish Hotel is within walking distance from all the shops, amenities and attractions of Loughrea.The Hotel boasts 91 bedrooms with panoramic views of the town's beautiful lake, the Sliabh Aughty Mountains and the Burren. The Lough Rea Hotel and Spa Wedding team are specialists in ensuring that the Bride and Groom have a wonderful day to remember. The hotel can cater for up to 300 wedding guests in the De Dannan suite: a state of the art grand ballroom. There is a range of air-conditioned meeting rooms that provide clients with the very best conference facilities available, conferences for up to 500 delegates can be accommodated. This hotel offers fine dining in their Abbey Restuarant, Relaxation breaks in the tranquility of Shore Island Spa. Enjoy light bites and delicious cocktails in the Rooftop Garden and Sky Lounge where it boasts sensational views of Lough Rea and the mountains beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lough Rea Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Rea Hotel Loughrea
Hotel Lough Rea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing