We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the spa and views of the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely surprise stay and spa visit to this hotel service was excellent food was lovely excellent carvery The girls in the spa were lovely brilliant massage and reflexology treatment and a lovely thermal suite all in all no complaints and can highly recommend it

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pegasusgalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 890 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here on a Wednesday and Thursday night in late February. While checking in we requested a room away from the function room (having read Trip Advisor reviews!) and the receptionist told us that we were in a lovely room with a balcony at the front of the hotel. Sounded great. The balcony door didn't shut properly, the frame seemed to be warped and so for the duration there was a gale whistling through the room! Whilst the bed was clean and very comfortable, the rest of the furniture was quite scruffy. The bathroom floor didn't look like it had been washed for a long time.

It was disappointing to find that the restaurant only opened at weekends and so that left the Lir Bistro. Limited menu, food seemed to prepared in anticipation of business. Fortunately we'd eaten a late lunch on the way and so didn't bother eating here. We had a couple of drinks in the bar, no lemons for drinks.

Breakfast on both mornings was served in the Lir Bistro. For a 4 star hotel it was underwhelming.

On the second night we dined in the nearby Meadow Court hotel, it was excellent.

The most enjoyable part of our stay was the Country and Western concert on the first night. We didn't know about it until we saw the poster at reception. It was great fun and brilliant atmospere generated by Valerie Hughes and the performers.

Room Tip: Don't take room 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mmcd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We as a family decided to eat in the Loughrea Hotel and spa. Today being the 10th of March (Mothers day).

We eat in the bar/carvery.

First, they have an all day carvery, all day until 8.30pm. So, food cooked earlier in the day is there all day and it looked it. How can a hotel/restaurant in this day and age run a carvery all day??? And the carvery was not great, looked run down, unappetising, and stuck in a hole in the wall.

Second, none of the staff/chefs handling the food wore hats of any sort! So, don' be surprised if there is hair in your dinner.

Third, I had the beef, my partner had the salmon, both were very cold when served, we asked for both to be reheated. Upon observation we saw that others were sending theirs to be reheated too. Yet there was no effort made to increase the heat on the food that had yet to be served.

The portions were of a good size which is why I have not rated the experience as terrible! Just poor.

Fourth, deserts, "selection of deserts", well, there were four only, rum and raisin cake, apple pie, sticky toffee puddin and a selection of ice cream (ice cream out of a tub). That is a very poor "selection" in any restaurant and considering it was Mother's Day it was a complete joke. We did not have desert and would have loved something. Not a lot of imagination really in this kitchen.


To finish I had a latte, this was served just above half way, when I complained I was told that that was the measure the machine put out and that's what they served. It was also cold, I was told that was the temperture that the machine served. No exchange was offered. 5 mins latter I saw a latte served to the table beside me and it was filled to the top. It was a latte as I asked!

Mens toilets were not very clean.

Overall a very poor experience and would suggest looking at other restaurants in loughrea before this one.

Honestly, between the cold food and coffee, no hats on the kitchen staff and poor selection in general I doubt this place has a full time chef/manager.

I have been in the rooms in the past and they are of a very good standard. Ask to stay in the front of the hotel! Great views.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThomasMcNamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I are expecting a baby , and decided to have a nice relaxing weekend away before baby arrives. Booked this hotel, and decided to book some spa treatments also, 5 dats inadvance however we could only get one 30 min appointment each for the whole weekend, it was fully booked. I would advise to book your treatments a week or more in advance!

Our first night in the hotel was a disaster, we were put into a room over the function room, so all we would hear was 'thump thump thump' for the night. My husband called reception at 10.30 and they said it would be finished in 10 mins, at 1.15 music was still going, and called reception again. Having stated to the manager the next day about our poor night sleep, we were not offered an apology by him, my husband asked if there was another function the coming night, we were told there was so we requested our room to be changed.I was very disappointed with the lack of care from the manager.

We had dinner in the restaurant, the food was lovely and the staff were nice.

We had a treatment each in the spa, again the staff were lovely, you have an option to spend 60/90 mins in thermal suite for 10 eur, if was quite basic, the 2 relaxation rooms were not very relaxing, they were quite noisy.

We had breakfast both mornings, buffet style, it was very nice, although the 2nd morning the staff were telling customers it was buffet style, when we went up to get food the chef was saying it was table service, very confusing.

Upon checking out, we were not asked how our stay was, any other hotel we stayed in would have asked!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoCo20112012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I and the other half went on a leisure break to this hotel as we have never been to Lough Rea before. We rang the hotel before we left on our journey to make sure our room would be ready for when we arrive. We were told the room would be ready at 3pm. So if anyone plans on getting the travelling done in the morning like we had planned call first!

Our room was lovely, however the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner. The bed was comfy and easy for us to sleep in although you knew it was two single beds pushed together as you could see the gap in the bed.

We then went down to the bar to get a soup and a sandwich which was lovely. That night when we went down for drinks I asked the barman to make herself a cocktail as there is a menu advertising cocktails on the hotel website as well as behind the bar along beside the shaker. The barman told me they don't do cocktails? This was late into the night and I was not too pushed on complaining about this so I left it.

The next morning we went down for breakfast and it was nice with a help yourself buffet, that afternoon we were booked into the spa for a facial and hot stone massage in which we both enjoyed and the staff were very nice.

That night we had two dinner vouchers which entitled us to one starter and one main each and tea and coffee. When we presented these vouchers we were told its just €50 off the bill then just minutes later we were told it was actually only €32 off. We were not impressed by this as the offer we took said it was for one evening meal and we presumed there was no other catch to it. When our food was served we were not impressed as it wasn’t great and was missing the 4 star qualities that the food should have.

After dinner I chanced asking a different barman to make me a cocktail as we seen a couple drinking them earlier that day. There were no issues and we were handed a cocktail menu. When I explained to him about the issue the previous night he basically said some barman choose to make them or not, other than that the bar staff in general where lovely, The entertainment on Saturday night was good music and enjoyable.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and the food was our only problem. Would we go back again? Yes most defiantly just the food has to be changed everything else was great about this weekend away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dmilton88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Spent the weekend at the hotel. First impressions were very good, a nice bright & open reception area plus a smile to welcome us to the hotel. The Room,on the first floor was comfortable & the bed was enormous and oh so comfy. When booking the room I had asked for a lake view and got it but suspect that better views could be had from a higher floor. But the weather for the weekend was horrendous and there was not too much to see in the rain.
Had dinner in the Bistro and the food was super. Very well presented, served in a timely fashion and reasonably priced. Could not fault it. No entertainment in the hotel on Friday night, so the place was lacking in atmosphere and there was a chill in the air. But we were there to relax and enjoyed some nice Guinness.
The hotel itself is a relatively new hotel & has a very modern decor throughout. Some nice decorative pieces on display & on the walls but for us, though it did not spoil the stay, the place just had a cold feeling it to it. On Saturday night a little locally supplied music plus a number of locals warmed the place a little & we enjoyed the evening. We did not avail of the Spa on this occasion but by all accounts it is well attended by locals & guests alike. I could find no fault in this hotel and would gladly recommend it for a couples chill out & relaxing weekend. It is nicely situated, not too far from Galway City & not too far from The Burrin. Well done to the staff who were attentive and obliging at all times and made us feel at home.

Room Tip: FOr a better view of the lake, take a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Got a 2 night b&b + 1 dinner deal two days before heading down for a quiet nice weekend and that's exactly what we got, even got a fantastic upgrade when we asked for a slightly better room.. service from staff was as good as anywhere!!
Restaurant food was superb above what we could have hoped world way there again.

Lough rea Is a small town so perfectly suited for a quiet get away. And so easy to get to 2 mins from the motorway

Room very impressive bed incredibly comfortable and nice decor and marble bathrooms help make it feel like not just another hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dblennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughrea
2.1 mi away
Meadow Court Hotel
Meadow Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Loughrea
218 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lady Gregory Hotel
19.2 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Shearwater Hotel
Shearwater Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ballinasloe
827 reviews
19.7 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,912 reviews
15.1 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Rea Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Rea Hotel and Spa

Address: Galway Road, Loughrea, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Loughrea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Price Range: $76 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Rea Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa is located in the historical town of Loughrea in Co.Galway. This modern and stylish Hotel is within walking distance from all the shops, amenities and attractions of Loughrea.The Hotel boasts 91 bedrooms with panoramic views of the town's beautiful lake, the Sliabh Aughty Mountains and the Burren. The Lough Rea Hotel and Spa Wedding team are specialists in ensuring that the Bride and Groom have a wonderful day to remember. The hotel can cater for up to 300 wedding guests in the De Dannan suite: a state of the art grand ballroom. There is a range of air-conditioned meeting rooms that provide clients with the very best conference facilities available, conferences for up to 500 delegates can be accommodated. This hotel offers fine dining in their Abbey Restuarant, Relaxation breaks in the tranquility of Shore Island Spa. Enjoy light bites and delicious cocktails in the Rooftop Garden and Sky Lounge where it boasts sensational views of Lough Rea and the mountains beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lough Rea Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Rea Hotel Loughrea
Hotel Lough Rea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing