We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great beds!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

I recently stayed three nights at the Lough Rea Hotel and Spa. I got a good night's rest each night and the bed felt like home. The rooms and bathrooms are due for an upgrade and freshening up. The chips in the bathtub made it look dirty. The wireless internet connection was very weak and should be boosted for those staying in the far corners of the hotel.

The breakfast was average could use an enhancement. Fresh ingredients and made-to-order breakfasts should be introduced rather than the forgettable buffet. There was the slightest feeling that the hotel's peak was during the boom times a few years ago and it has since fallen on harder times. It just needs some minor freshening up and a much more energetic, friendly staff. Customer service should be enhanced. I didn't get the feeling that the staff loved to work there or that they even liked tourists. For instance when the phone at the front desk was occupied, I went next door to the deserted bar and asked to use the phone. Instead of trying to help me, the bartender simply told me to use the front desk and walked away. If one doesn't like people, he shouldn't work in the hospitality industry.

There were no "wow" moments, but neither were there any "terrible" moments. It was an average experience. With some hard work by the staff, this could be a terrific hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitt1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    236
    104
    41
    22
See reviews for
180
305
31
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The beds were huge and really comfortable. We ate in the bar a couple of times and enjoyed the food. Our only criticism would be the availability of hot water was a bit erratic and unpredictable. We enjoyed our stay and the thought the hotel was very good overall. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah_burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

A most friendly and accommodating staff within a very pleasant environment. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed for a long weekend to attend a 50th wedding anniversary party in the hotel and the catering was superb and again, whilst preparing for the festivities the staff could not have been more helpful. The accommodation was very comfortable (especially as we had two small children with us) and the food was absolutely fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollyyorkshire66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We had booked to stay at this hotel for two nights as a birthday surprise, it was a disaster. On the friday night there was a drunken crowd around and the hotel staff were doing nothing to control them. The food was below average, the tables were dirty and the poor waiter(very polite) was on his own and was run off he's feet it made us feel very uncomfortable. The toilets on the night were disgusting. The breakfast was appauling. The cereal area was very messy. When it came to the fry they kept running out of everything neither of us had a full breakfast. The only thing going for the hotel is that the rooms are surprisingly very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollysor65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We booked this on the lidl breaks website and obviously at a very attractive price. On arrival the hotel is a considerable distance from Galway which even though I knew it was a short drive away, I didn't realize it was so far out. The room was not very clean on appearance, the bed looked like it had been made by a child. There was hair in the bath and a shower cap over the smoke alarm (previous guests must have been smokers). The television channels is very poor, bbc1, itv and a fuzzy rte 1 and 2. I have stayed in cheaper hotels where there are more channels! We went to dinner which is included in our plan and the select menu was very poor. Quality was not great at all.

Overall it was fine, a night away. Would choose not to come back though....

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gort, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

The staff were ok but not the best. We had food in the bar on Sunday evening. Four meals were served and every meal was different. Each one of us complained on the standard of the food. Cheese was gone off on Lasagne. The burger was completely burnt to a cinder on the outside and raw in the centre. I ordered chicken kiev. The breadcrumb was inedible and was so hard it could have almost broken my teeth. There was no garlic sauce anywhere on the plate.The panini was also burnt and stuck to the plate. The french fries were undercooked. We complained but were still charged full price. would never recommend this hotel to anyone, based on the food alone. A complete disaster. Also it took 50 minutes to get our order served.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fizzit12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

i was there for a wedding last week and as i worked in a 4*hotel i was comparing maybe i shouldnt have..it was a very good friends wedding so we were really looking forward to it..when we arrived there waw no one at the door to welcome the wedding guests to direct everyone to where the tea/coffee was been served so we went to the bar and joined other guests..when we were called for our meal we all went to sit at a table and waited for the bride and groom to be annouced into the room but that didnt happen they were seated b4 we even knew it..we waited an hour between the started and then main course and no manager to disuss this with..other than that the staff were friendly the hotel is lovely rooms are perfect but for a wedding im still not sure about

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughrea
2.1 mi away
Meadow Court Hotel
Meadow Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Loughrea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
21.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
22.2 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
15.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
19.2 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Rea Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Rea Hotel and Spa

Property: Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Address: Galway Road, Loughrea, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Loughrea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Rea Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa is located in the historical town of Loughrea in Co.Galway. This modern and stylish Hotel is within walking distance from all the shops, amenities and attractions of Loughrea.The Hotel boasts 91 bedrooms with panoramic views of the town's beautiful lake, the Sliabh Aughty Mountains and the Burren. The Lough Rea Hotel and Spa Wedding team are specialists in ensuring that the Bride and Groom have a wonderful day to remember. The hotel can cater for up to 300 wedding guests in the De Dannan suite: a state of the art grand ballroom. There is a range of air-conditioned meeting rooms that provide clients with the very best conference facilities available, conferences for up to 500 delegates can be accommodated. This hotel offers fine dining in their Abbey Restuarant, Relaxation breaks in the tranquility of Shore Island Spa. Enjoy light bites and delicious cocktails in the Rooftop Garden and Sky Lounge where it boasts sensational views of Lough Rea and the mountains beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lough Rea Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Rea Hotel Loughrea
Hotel Lough Rea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing