We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ard Ri House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ard Ri House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tuam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I recently attended my Grandparents 60th wedding anniversary here and all the guests, both young and old, really enjoyed themselves! The staff were so warm and friendly throughout, from the barmen to the waitresses straight through to the night porters! The hotel is clean and comfortable with a warm atmosphere. We had a 3 course meal and the overall feedback was that it was delicious! I did not spend the night so I cannot comment on the rooms but if the rest of the hotel is anything to go by then I am sure they are of a high standard also! Our grandparents and their guests had a wonderful night from start to finish, I would most definitely recommend the Ard Ri for any functions or events!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EatLaughLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Our sincere thanks for your kind comments, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    67
    24
    13
    6
See reviews for
67
60
8
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

In July I got a room without air condition (>25°C outside) and a huge window, which was not to be opened. The very small window above it was possible to open for about 30%. Not too good. I guess usually it's not so warm in Ireland, but unfortunately in my case it was.
The Ard Ri House Hotel comes with a restaurant/pub with basic food - nothing special but OK.
Continental breakfast was included in room fee - "Full Irish/English" comes for an addional ca. 10 € - not the cheapest I guess.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, it is true to say that we had an unprecendented heatwave in July and we agree that this is "unusual".
Please note in July our Kiltevna Room Restaurant for fine dining was also open, offering attractive alternative fare.
May we confirm that our room rate is always inclusive of Full Irish Breakfast and there is no additional charge for this service.
We look forward to welcoming you again to the Ard Ri House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Creek Qld
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 2200 du to an unfortunate experience with a pre booked B&B. Front desk reception was friendly and efficient. Food was off but staff offered to make sandwiches. Also supplied numbers of Chineeses and Indian takeaways who would deliver to hotel. Room was large and comfortable and clean also quiet. Bar was open till late so we were able to wind down. Breakfast a full Irish included. Wifi good in room bit iffy in foyer/bar but not an issue. All in all a comfortable stay definitely recommended

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank poppy_gsandycreekqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
279 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way from cork to donegal. The room is spacious and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The cleanliness of the bedroom and bathroom was superb. The breakfast however was a let down. The staff were trying to organise the room for another event even though it was only 9am so we weren't really greeted with the best of welcomes. The food variety was poor and the cooked breakfast only fair. Shame because the hotel was otherwise good

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BNM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Extremely clean and nice hotel. It is fantastic value for money including a lovely cooked breakfast.
I will definitely be back.
If you're looking for a really good standard basic hotel this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Porla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan Valley, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have just returned from an organized tour of Southern Ireland. the last hotel before returning to Dublin was the Ard Ri House Hotel. The reception staff were very competent and friendly. The room was very clean as was the bath/shower. Although the food in the restaurant wasn't wow - it was adequate - maybe after staying in three hotels on this holiday which weren't up to standard we were very happy with both staff and accommodation at the Ard Ri.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have no idea how this hotel can such a high rating.
It is a half finished hotel. The back of this hotel is a abandon building site! Its location is at the top of a housing estate on the main N17 about a mile from Tuam. Not the most attractive place in the world.
The food is so basic, its fine if you’re not looking for a nice meal.
The rooms are ok., just ok.
If you’re working in the area and are looking for a B&B for the night this place is fine. If you’re looking for a little more go elsewhere.

Room Tip: travel another 15 miles in either direction to get a lot better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuam
0.9 mi away
Corralea Court Hotel
14.8 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
13.3 mi away
Claregalway Hotel
Claregalway Hotel
#1 of 2 in Claregalway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
19.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard Ri House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Ri House Hotel

Property: Ard Ri House Hotel
Address: Miltown Road (N17), Tuam H54 V267, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Tuam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tuam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ard Ri House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ard Rí House Hotel on the Milltown Road in Tuam, Co. Galway invites you to enjoy a welcome with hospitality and service, last savoured in the time of ancient Irish kings. The Ard Rí House Hotel in the East Galway hinterland of low green fields and old stone walls offers the Cead Mile Faílte of a bygone time. Strategically located on the northern outskirts of Tuam we are the perfect launch pad to explore the West of Ireland with Galway City and the Gateway to Connemara National Park only a 30 minute drive away. Tuam is easily accessed with Ireland West Airport Knock on the doorstep and Shannon Airport as well as Dublin Airport within easy driving distance. Wether you are considering a short family break or that important business meeting, Tuam's Ard Rí House Hotel will meet all your expectations, having received the Service Excellence Award from Tripadvisor from 2012, up to and including 2016. Our 51 bedrooms of comfort and style are impeccably presented with the modern guest in mind. The hotel also offers five different Conference Room options with a range of state-of-the-art facilities. The dining experience at the Ard Rí House Hotel is presented by the Kiltevna Room Restaurant and our Dick Dowling's Bar. Experience for yourself the hospitality and service usually the preserves of royalty. FAILTE ISTEACH ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ard Ri House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard Ri Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing