We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Rooms, Great Food”
Review of Ard Ri House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ard Ri House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tuam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed in the Ard Ri House Hotel for a total of 2 nights. On arrival i was greeted by the receptionist and check-in was completed without any hiccups.
My room was on the ground floor, spotlessly clean and had a nice fresh smell to it on arrival. I had food in the bar 2 nights and the food was amazing, you will not leave that bar hungry (i would recommend the chicken goujons!)
When i can back to my room on the second day the cleaners had been in, and my room was immaculate to say the least, all my belongings were placed tidily and it seemed alot of effort went into the cleaning of the room, a great bonus to come back to after a days work.
The hotel is very family orientated, i saw a number of families in and out during my stay. I would definately come back to the Ard RI House Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_K_1988_CK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 260 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed in the Ard Rí House Hotel in early December after visiting the Christmas Markets in Galway. We were warmly welcomed by the receptionist and check in was very smooth. Our room was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed our dinner in the Bar and the service was very good as was the food.

We found this hotel to be excellent value for money and would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

What a beautiful hotel. staff really friendly. Breakfast available up until 10am in dining room but you can get the fry up in the bar until 11.30 if your late getting up. Can't understand why all hotels dont do this after all when you go away you want a lie in the morning not rushing down for breakfast. Had lemon meringue before i left and it was to die for.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank node45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Its modern , clean , very friendly , excellent for business or pleasure . The front desk staff are excellent . Or even just for a pint or a carvery lunch its ideal. By far the best of all the hotels in Tuam , and actually cheaper most of the time. The rooms are high standard and you cannot fault this hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms are ok , no bad ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrSmyth1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights whilst visting family and friends. Rooms are spacious, clean & comfortable the only improvement I would suggest is for a larger screen TV. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. We only had breakfast in the hotel and this was very good, cooked items are prepared to order. The service in the bar was very good and a lot of local people were enjoying the bar food. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again in the future. Just a pity it does not have a pool.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 126tonyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were visiting friends and needed a place to stay for a few days. As others have commented, the staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was really clean, as was the bathroom, and the beds were extremely comfortable. Wifi is free throughout, with immediate connection. Plenty of choice on the breakfast menu and the portions were generous. We ate in the Bar several times and the food was well cooked and tasty. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestgambianprice35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in the Ard Ri a few times and found the reception staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms very spacious and clean. The breakfast was okay, it was adequate. We had lunch and dinner there one day and didnt enjoy either. The food wasnt great and the menu didnt have enough variety. We would definitely go back for bed and breakfast again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuam
0.8 mi away
Corralea Court Hotel
13.3 mi away
Claregalway Hotel
Claregalway Hotel
#1 of 2 in Claregalway
593 reviews
14.9 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,810 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 46 in Galway
952 reviews
11.2 mi away
Anglers Rest Hotel
Anglers Rest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Headford
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard Ri House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Ri House Hotel

Address: Miltown Road, Tuam H54 V267, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Tuam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tuam
Price Range: $126 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ard Ri House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ard Rí House Hotel on the Milltown Road in Tuam, Co. Galway invites you to enjoy a welcome with hospitality and service, last savoured in the time of ancient Irish kings. The Ard Rí House Hotel in the East Galway hinterland of low green fields and old stone walls offers the Cead Mile Faílte of a bygone time. Strategically located on the northern outskirts of Tuam we are the perfect launch pad to explore the West of Ireland with Galway City and the Gateway to Connemara National Park only a 30 minute drive away. Tuam is easily accessed with Ireland West Airport Knock on the doorstep and Shannon Airport as well as Dublin Airport within easy driving distance. Wether you are considering a short family break or that important business meeting, Tuam's Ard Rí House Hotel will meet all your expectations, having received the Service Excellence Award from Tripadvisor from 2012, up to and including 2016. Our 51 bedrooms of comfort and style are impeccably presented with the modern guest in mind. The hotel also offers five different Conference Room options with a range of state-of-the-art facilities. The dining experience at the Ard Rí House Hotel is presented by the Kiltevna Room Restaurant and our Dick Dowling's Bar. Experience for yourself the hospitality and service usually the preserves of royalty. FAILTE ISTEACH ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ard Ri House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard Ri Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing