We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely views, everything you could need, super...”
other travelers have booked this property
Ben Bulben in winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ben Bulben in winter
Benbulben Classiebawn Castle with Benbulben mountain in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Ben Bulben in winter
Benbulben
Classiebawn Castle with Benbulben mountain in the distance
Waves crashing at Streedagh beach
Majestic Benbulben
View from the Benbulben Loop Walk
Kitchen/Living Room
View of the garden from the kitchen/living room, with fresh flowers from the garden
Homemade brown bread, jam and fresh eggs from our chickens
Ktichen/Living Room
Kitchen/Living Room
Kitchen/Living Room
Bedroom 1 with view of ensuite shower and toilet
View from bedroom 2 - chickens and Benbulben!
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Ensuite shower and toilet - bedroom 2
Ensuite - bedroom 2
Drumcliffe Churchyard and Yeats' Grave - 1 mile away
Streedagh Beach
Benbulben viewed from Streedagh
Benbulben Loop Walk view - Christmas 2014
Benbulben Loop Walk view - Christmas 2014
Benbulben Loop Walk view - Christmas 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Drumcliff, County Sligo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Amy M
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely views, everything you could need, super clean, will stay again!”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed with our two young children for the weekend and were 100% happy with our stay! the apartment is very well kitted out, it had everything we needed for our stay. Una and frank were very helpful and we loved Unas freshly baked brown bread. The back garden is lovely with amazing views of benbulben, our little one enjoyed the slide as well! We will definitely stay again when we visit sligo. Many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2015
Noel and Amy, thank you for your lovely review. We loved having you all to stay. You were extremely respectful of the property. We would love to have you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmut E
Sauerlach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best cheap locations in Sligo area.”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Coming to the northwest of Ireland since 20 years, for us it is one of the
cosiest holiday homes in this area. Located in a beautiful landscape with
view to well known Benbulben mountain we experienced a very warm
welcome by the owners Una and Frank with fresh bread, eggs, jam, and
flowers.
The holiday house is separated from the main house of the owners, and
consists of two bedrooms, two bathrooms with toilets, an a combined
living room / kitchen. All is in excellent condition, and everything you
need is there.
We are already looking forward to next year when we will come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, house, owners
Liked least: Missing TV
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2014
Helmut, we really enjoyed having you to stay in the apartment. It was great getting to know you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in summer 2015 as friends! Una
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg B
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A superb retreat in Drumcliffe”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed in North Sligo County Retreat for one week and absolutely enjoyed it.
The accommodation was very clean, spacious and extremely well placed for short or long day trips. It has two bedrooms, both with ensuites and all necessary cooking facilities. The surroundings are to dream of, being in direct sight of Ben Bulben, a mountain made famous in Yeat's poetry. From the house you can see it in all of its moods.

Finally, Una and Frank are excellent hosts. We arrived to find a lovely loaf of bread Una had baked for us and two eggs from their own chickens. At all times they were very helpful to us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
We were delighted to have you to stay and to spent some time in your company. It's always lovely when there's a bond with the guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinbarrMc
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I was there for 4 days (3 nights), I went with my partner and another couple. It was our first time in Sligo and everything was perfect! The house was perfect, and super clean. We enjoyed a LOT as well as the homemade bread, jam and eggs that Una and Frank left for us!
Very nice location and sights!
Una and Frank were very helpful, friendly and informative about things to do and see in the local area.
I would love to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanlyness
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
Finbarr, thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the apartment and your visit to Sligo. We would be delighted to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albi, France
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2014
Thank you very much for you review. It was lovely to have you to stay with us and we're very glad you enjoyed both our property and the wonderful Yeats Country. Una
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thomashee...
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent location in Drumcliffe”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Nestled at the foothills of Ben Bulben is this ideal 2 bedroom apartment which makes a perfect base for exploring all Sligo has to offer. I stayed here in April and could not recommend it highly enough. I am already planning a return trip.

The apartment is located just off the N15 on a quiet road in the middle of Yeats Country. The majestic Ben Bulben mountain almost forms part of the back garden and provides a stunning vista at all times of the day. Drumcliffe church, Lissadell house, Rosses Point, Strandhill, Sligo town and Bundoran are all within easy reach.

The owners Frank and Una live next door and offer wonderful hospitality and have great recommendations for and insight into the local area. The apartment is clean, comfortable, spacious and is well equipped and provides everything you need for a perfect stay. It has two fantastic power showers. On the night I arrived, I was presented with a welcome hamper which included fresh eggs from Una's hens, milk, butter, tea bags but the highlight was Una's homemade brown bread which was delicious. It also included jam made from the fruit drees i could see from my bedroom window. There is a large back garden which has a barbecue for those rare sunny days so you can dine al fresco while the majestic Ben Bulben mountain watches over you.

There are endless activities to do in the neighbourhood. My scrawny friend and I brought our bikes with us and cycled through some spectacular scenery such as Gleniff horseshoe, Glencar waterfall, Knocknarae. I also hired a surfboard in Streedagh and Strandhill and caught some awesome waves. My scrawny companion was afraid of the water though.

The only downfall was that our stay was too short.

It's easy understand why Yeats fell in love with and wrote extensively about the area

I would strongly recommend a stay here. You won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2014
Thank you Tom. We were delighted that you chose to rent our apartment during your short visit to Sligo. We are glad that we were able to play a part in making your stay enjoyable. Una
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John De V
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing