We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure about reviewing a grave but anyway...”
Review of Yeats's Grave

Yeats's Grave
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not sure about reviewing a grave but anyway...”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love Yeats so had to visit his resting place. Dusk was falling and the church was quiet and beautiful. His grave is discreet and unassuming. Great tribute to him in Church Courtyard...'but I, being poor, have only my dreams; I have spread my dreams under your feet ; Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.” ― W.B. Yeats

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    79
    46
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CORK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pretty”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Not far from the hotel and it also has a lovely coffee shop/craft shop at this location. Its situated in a beautiful scenic place at the bottom of the mountains. Coffee shop definitely worth a stop :-)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CORKY80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely gravesite and church.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Easy to find, full of history, lovely scenery. Nice trip out if you are visiting western Ireland. Nice and tranquil too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElaineF793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“For those who love literature”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

For those who love Yeats and Irish literature in general, this is an easy stop if you are in the Sligo area. The cemetery is very small and would not of particular note if it weren't for Yeats' grave, as it looks like many churchyard cemeteries. But it's in a beautiful spot looking over at Ben Bulben, and after reading Yeats' poetry a bit it's easy to get a feel for the spirit and sense of place of this corner of Ireland. I also really liked the church itself, and we took as much time reading the information and inscriptions relating to the other members of the congregation as poking around the cemetery. There is a small tea room and gift shop but we didn't spend time there so can't comment on level of service and food. Definitely worth the stop.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DBuggieDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
listowel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“horseman pass by”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is worth a visit.The grave of one of Irelands foremost poets with part of his epitaph 'Cast a cold eye on life on death horseman pass by' is very easy to find.Yeats died in France at the start of the last world war and it was after the war that what are supposed to be his remains were brought back to Sligo on an Irish naval ship,there is still debate if it is the actual remains of Yeats are buried here.A beautiful artistic piece of work on the ground features a beautiful poem by Yeats ,The cloths of heaven' and full credit to whoever carried out this work.There are two swans on the door as you enter the little church which of course brings up the memory of his famous poem, The wild swans at Coole'.To complete the visit you can walk about one hundred metres to an original round tower even though much if it is missing.What a lovely way to spend a half hour

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fealetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yeats's Grave also viewed

Sligo, County Sligo
Drumcliff, County Sligo
 

Been to Yeats's Grave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing