We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holidayhome”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Teach Carraig

The house & patio on a beautiful summers day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house & patio on a beautiful summers day
Cosy sitting room with wood burning stove & views of the countryside The downstairs bedroom can be configured as a twin or double room as required.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The house & patio on a beautiful summers day
Cosy sitting room with wood burning stove & views of the countryside
The downstairs bedroom can be configured as a twin or double room as required.
The upstairs bathroom has a sumptuous roll top bath.
The upstairs bedroom has a king size sleigh bed.
The kitchen diner is spacious and well equipped.
Woodstock Gardens Inistioge (5 miles away)
Kilfane Glen & Gardens (5 miles away)
Hurling - fast & passionate game Kilkenny is renowned for
Water activities for all the family
Dunbrody Famine Ship, New Ross
Hook Lighthouse, Wexford
Jerpoint Park, Thomastown (5 miles away)
The view from the patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Thomastown, Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Micheline...
Bruges, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely holidayhome”
Reviewed June 17, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Very beautiful and cosy holidayhome to stay at Thomastown, ideal to visit the south and south-east of Ireland, as well for Dublin. A lot of space in and outside. Clean and tidy. Kind and helpful hosts. We had a fantastic time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
premiermo...
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A perfect place ...a perfect host !”
Reviewed May 22, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A wonderful place that we found restful and soothing to the soul. A feet first intro to Irish roads but worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda L
1 review
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Cozy yet spacious...is that possible? Each room is cozy and inviting, yet there are plenty of spaces to retreat to if you're needing some alone time. The cottage is very well appointed. There's not a thing I could think of that we were missing.

As a bonus the owners' very friendly dogs would come visit every once in a while.

Carol and Neil were both very friendly and helpful.

I would highly recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter s
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“What a find! Lovely place and great people!”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Wow! We booked to stay here with our 18 month old and what a place! Carol and Neal were really great, nothing was too much trouble, we were made to feel very welcome. The cottage is brilliant, very clean and well equipped, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat, didn't want to leave this slice of country paradise! Thanks for a great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolin K
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“And the Oscar goes to...”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Teach Carraig!
The house is fantastic. It's surrounded by nature and really quiet and idyllic. The equipment leaves nothing to be desired. Wi-console, Television, Wifi, family-games and books are something for everyone. The interior is very nicely designed and very clean. We cooked every evening in the super equipped kitchen. Shops can be reached in 15 minutes by car.

The friendly owners Carol and Neil are living next door and are always helpful. Your dog Mojo greeted us warmly every day and watched the house.

The cities Thomastown, Kilkenny and Waterford are in the immediate vicinity and are easily reached by car. Trips to the Castle of Kilkenny and an evening pub-tour are indispensable. Day trips to the 'Ring of Kerry' and a visit to the island Inismore with breathtaking cliffs are recommended and can be reached by car in 3 hours. The Jameson Distellery leadership in Cork is one of the worthwhile excursions.

We felt very comfortable and give 10 stars for the great accommodation. Thank you and we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnbre
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing hosts”
Reviewed May 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I'd give more than 5 stars if I could! Arriving from Australia to live in Ireland, we stayed here for our first month, and could not have picked a better place. The cottage was flawless and great value. But more importantly, the hosts, Carol and Neil, were amazing! They treated us like family, doing what they could to help us through the transition, ie deal with authorities, run errands, look after the kids. Thank you:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts/owners
Liked least: The location is stunning, but you will need a car
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing