We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best five star hotel in Kilkenny (that's not a 5 star)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Juliet Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I can see why it's not a 5 star, the accommodation is spread out over the estate. There is a shuttle that will drive you to/from the main residence, but it's inconvenient at times. Service was top notch. Better than other 5*s I've stayed in. The restaurant was, needless to say, outstanding. Proved why it earned a Michelin star. Wines were way overpriced but that's par for the course in almost all hotels and restaurants, so can't fault them for doing that. We stayed in the Rose Garden Lodges. They're normal 3-bed houses fully furnished, fireplace, kitchenware (even plates/cups/cutlery for kids) and even spare beds. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed at Mount Juliet last Saturday night as part of attending a wedding. The grounds and main house are beautiful. We received a warm welcome and all the staff throughout our stay were friendly and professional. The room was large and bed extremely comfortable. I loved that the toiletries were Irish made. The only area of improvement is for all items served as part of the Irish breakfast to be hot when serving. I definitely recommend staying at Mount Juliet and would love to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

It's 25 years since we've stayed in this delightful hotel, and the grouting around the edge of the bath looked about the same age. I fail to understand why so many top class hotels allow this small and easily remedied detail to go unfixed. Your first reaction is: this hotel must be dirty, if they allow this to happen.
Mount Juliet is in no way dirty (outside of the bath), and relaxation descends on you like a mist. The food is superb, from breakfast through to a dinner interrupted by so many amuse-bouches that you could nearly skip a couple of courses and still feel replete.
The grounds are delightful, the rooms large and grand with massive beds, and the staff attentive almost to the point of concern.
We could not figure out why it had taken us so long to go back. Oh yes, of course. To allow them time to fix the grouting.

Room Tip: Just ask for the biggest you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazurka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I visited Mount Juliet with my husband we stayed for 2 nights from the staff,rooms, spa and restaurants it was truly a wonderful experience. We stayed in the house the views are amazing from the rooms, its above 5* a hidden treasure we cant wait to visit again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend at Mount Juliet recently (2 nights) and it did not disappoint.
The setting is amazing and staff were exceptional. A special mention to Shane (Clay pigeon shooting instructor), Des (Host) and Ed & Maurice in the bar. If you are lucky enough to spend a night here at Mount Juliet - if the only thing you do is take the tour with Des - you will not be disappointed. The estate has so much history and stories that need to be told :)

We had dinner in the Lady Helen (8 course tasting menu) on Friday night and dinner in Kendals on the Saturday night - both outstanding. The carrot & bacon soup in Kendals - amazing :)

The only one negative I have is the size of the room. From reading previous reviews - we made the decision to stay in the Manor house to get the full experience. Our booking was for a "Manor House Classic" which essentially is a double room. The size of the room was very small - barely room to get in or out of bed on one side and the bed itself - small double bed. So that was disappointing. Just be careful when booking.

Room Tip: Manor house classic is a double room. Bed was small double bed - if you are tall - you'll be too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorro66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Fantastic relaxing experience. From the moment myself and my wife walked in through the front door we got our 5 star experience. Every member of staff were a delight to talj to and could not have been more helpful. We were shown to our table by the window which was set perfectly and told our afternoon tea would be with us shortly. We first got our fresh coffee in a pot and not 10 minutes from sitting down our treats arrived. Sandwiches, scones, biscuits and mini cakes wonderfully arranged and presented. Ed looked after us extremely well, plenty of coffee and warm irish hospitality. We even had a chat with Des the estate host who invited us back to do a tour of the house and grounds. We shall certainky take him up on his invite and hope to return again soon. A truly great place to visit.

Room Tip: Take the main entrance in to the estate as the views coming up to the house are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 680MichaelL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your fantastic review and thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you and your wife had a fabulous afternoon and we look forward to welcoming you to Mount Juliet again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were very fortunate to spend one night recently at Mount Juliet, and 'seriously' enjoyed our stay. We had one of the master suites, complete with 'four poster', overlooking the river and stud farm paddocks. The 'tasting menu' dinner was superb, and the staff could not have been more helpful, both in the dining room and administration areas. It is a 'must' for a return visit within 12 months.
Well done on achieving your 'Michelin Star' !

Room Tip: If you can afford a 'master-suite' - go for it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeremy d c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your wonderful review of your recent visit and thank you for your fantastic comments. They are very much appreciated. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you soon again at Mount Juliet.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomastown
8.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,552 reviews
9.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,044 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
8.4 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,058 reviews
19.9 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Juliet Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Juliet Estate

Address: Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Price Range: $152 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Juliet Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mount Juliet Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Juliet Estate Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Thomastown
Thomastown Conrad
Mount Juliet Estate Ireland/Thomastown, County Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing