We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Juliet Estate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice weekend break”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

stayed in clubhouse, fabulous room, cosy bed, right next to leisure centre, spa, bar, and kendals restaurant, unbelievably convenient for everything we wanted. were offered upgrade to main hotel but declined as its a bit of a walk from restaurant and leisure centre. food and service at kendals was top notch. goats cheese starter was not nice at all, but choc fondant dessert was the best ive ever had. sat by the open fire in the bar for a drink afterwards. really nice evening.
pool area is nice, sauna, steam room, but no jacuzzi...?? not a big deal. breakfast was really nice buffet and plenty of choice. the only thing that annoyed me was that they ask on the check in form what newspaper you would like for the morning, and then at check out we were charged for it. i only read the paper at breakfast and they had the paper there for free anyway. not exactly a big cost, but i just don't like that sneaky charge. would i return? definitely. ill bring the clubs next time.

Room Tip: if using the leisure/spa facilities or eating in kendals restaurant, stay in the clubhouse room, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidc1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your overall visit, however, disappointed that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. I would like to thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    184
    81
    34
    37
See reviews for
239
517
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked in as a Christmas present for my wife. We have a young baby and it was our first time away. The website promotes it as a family friendly venue. I booked well in advance and requested a cot. we were disappointed to be put on the 1st floor with no lift. We requested a ground floor room and were told the only one they had was a disabled room with no bath. We obviously need a bath for the baby so we took the upstairs room. We had to ask 3 times for the cot and it finally arrived at 10.30pm! The dining room is also not suited to young family's and we had to leave before our meal was finished. The next day we decided to go for a swim around 1pm but were told that no kids were aloud in the pool between 12-3pm as it was reserved for members. The pool was totally empty!!!At no point was I told that I was paying 5 star prices for limited access to the facilities. This is no way to treat paying guests. This is a couples place and should not be marketed towards family's.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion and I apologise to you for this. In our efforts to accommodate all our guests, children’s hours are between 9-12pm and 3-6pm each day and children are more than welcome during these times. However, I regret these times did not suit you during your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mount Juliet in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Mount Juliet house is old world elegance, cosy and comforting with rooms that won’t disappoint you.

Room 19 called ‘The Earl of Carrick’, is a river view room overlooking the river Nore which from the window looks like a silvery gash in a lush green landscape.

The room is large with a walk in wardrobe and large bathroom with separate shower. Natural light is good and clever use of fabric and a calming colour scheme adds character to the room.

A deep pile carpet muffles the sound of creaking floorboards beneath. Window shutters and sash windows add authenticity to the country house feel.

There are in room tea and coffee making facilities but no mini bar or in room dining except for room service breakfast. This does not detract from the experience.

In the evening with curtains drawn, well placed mirrors reflect lights of different shapes and sizes which add interest to the room.

The drawing room and other public rooms are magnificent and we loved the wood burning fire in the hall.

There are seemingly endless activities such as equestrian, fishing, golf, walking, but we were happy enough to enjoy the immediate surroundings of the country house and sinmply do nothing.

If you are travelling down from Dublin, then Kilkenny City and castle is well worth a visit or stop off a few miles before Mpoount Juliet in a little place called Bennetsbridge where you can get a decent coffee and home cooking in Nicholas Mosse.

If you like picturesque villages then close to Mount Juliet is the hidden away village called St. Mullins.

The Bircher muesli let breakfast down just a little but for dinner my goodness a delicious dining experience awaits you.

We ordered the ‘Lady Helen signature tasting menu’ for dinner and we were bowled over by the presentation and taste of each of the eight course tasting menu.

We love food and enjoy visiting some of the most respected restaurants in Ireland and abroad. The food served at ‘The Lady Helen’ on this evening 14th March was so incredible it was simply the best we have ever tried anywhere. The chef was in such a good mood.

If the opportunity arises and if Head Chef Ken Harker and brigade Rowe are on duty you are in for a real treat. The food they produced has to be the stuff Michelin stars are made of and we can’t wait to return.

Room Tip: Room 19 called 'The Earl of Carrick' decent size, recently renovated, natural light and nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your fantastic feedback following your recent stay at Mount Juliet. It is a pleasure to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and that in particular, you enjoyed your dining experience in the Lady Helen Restaurant. Thank you again for review and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Mount Juliet is a lovely estate, set in one of Ireland's most bucolic regions. Surrounded by stud farms and with an idyllic river flowing past, you could not ask for a more beautiful landscape. The main house is gorgeous, with ivy climbing the walls, and the greeting is first-rate. We stayed in a second-floor corner suite, with great views. The bedroom was huge and attractively furnished, though it was dated and bland. The age of the house made for uneven floors, so the armoire doors wouldn't stay shut, and just over all the feeling was not quite five-stars. Also, the sitting room was nothing short of dreary. The window looked at a rooftop and the driveway, and it was dark and depressing. Some cheerful furniture and good lighting would have made this a room to use for something other than storing our bags.

The bathroom was large and nice, though the fixtures, if memory serve, were kind of Continental cheesy euro stuff, not the high-end English and marble you'd expect.

The grounds and activities were all quite good. The golf course is solid, not an Irish gem, but playable. The service in the pro shop and the attitude of some of the grounds staff was pretty lacking, to be honest. Some guy scolded me for hitting some short chips to their practice green, when there was no sign, and I was not taking divots (I'm a low single digit, and GWAA member, and generally know what I'm about on a golf course.) The riding facility was very good, and the hack was pleasant, even if we did a bit too much walking and the galloping and jumping were pretty limited compared to what we've had at places like Skibo, Ballyfin, Lucknam Park, etc. but better than Gleneagles and a few others. There was a nice opportunity for my wife to hop over fences at the end of the ride, though, and the overall setting is just stunning.

The food was better than expected, and service excellent. The setting is fabulous if you get a window table. Room service could be slow. Overall, considering we had exceedingly dreary weather, we had a very nice stay at Mount Juliet, and it is definitely a property I woud recommend if you are going to be anywhere nearby. Because of the size of the place, it does have a tinge of the corporate feel, and I wouldn't be surprised in conferences were a big part of their business.

Mount Juliet is a first-rate property and with a little investment in furnishings and fixtures could be a true five star establishment.

Room Tip: You must have a river view, or why stay here?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeONYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding your visit to Mount Juliet. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, however, I am disappointed that certain aspects of your visit did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed for 1 night with our 15 month old at Mount Juliet. The Estate is in a very rural location but is well signed from a few miles out and easily located. On entering the Estate gates and driving past luxury homes and the fine Golf course the place just cries out Class. We checked in at the old Mansion House Hotel, where the friendly staff made you feel welcome and promptly arranged for a butler called John? ( foreign lad), to lead the way back up to the club house rooms where we were staying. He was very friendly, genuinely helpful and even called back with a toy pony for our little one. He explained every thing we need to know. The club room was part of the old Stables conversion which surrounds an original courtyard. The room was spotlessly clean, simply decorated with a large comfortable bed, dresser, two chairs, table and ample wardrobe space. The pillows and duvet are the most comfortable either of us have ever experienced. All the usual facilities were present including tea, coffee, bottled water and a 42 inch wall mounted TV. There were double doors which opened up to a small balcony overlooking the golf course. The bathroom was small but modern and practical with no bath tub but a superb walk in multi head power shower.
Our room was next door to the leisure centre which had the most delightful pool with its waterfall and little cave area not to mention a very secure and shallow baby pool. This Hotel certainly caters for families with children with the pool permitting children for several hours each morning and evening. A superb playground is behind the club house and cycling, trekking, fishing etc are all available for the kids and grown ups alike. The gym is well equiped with a sauna and steam room also in the leisure centre. We did not visit the Spa during our short stay.
We decided to have dinner in the Presidents Bar/Conservatory which had a selection of simple wholesome food that was really tasty with service being second to none. It is pricey but not as expensive as the two main restaurants which are very fancy with an emphasis on Gourmet Dining.
Breakfast was in Kendals and was a real treat. great selection of fruit, cereals, juices and the hot buffet. Additional items from potatoe cakes to smoked salmon could be ordered from the menu. The fruit, musili and yogurt cocktail is recommended as is the pans chocolate. In fact it is all good and your eggs are cooked to order. If it's not on the counter the staff will go and make it. The Staff at Mount Juliet are superb and a credit to the management.
I was late for my Golf Tee off time and the man in the pro shop (forgotten his name) was great even discounting the round just in case I didnt get it finished. I did finish it and what a pleasure tp play. One of the best courses I have played and I was joined for the finishing holes by a local member called Alan who was as friendly as the Staff. They really are nice people at Mount Juliet.
Another thing which did get my attention was the amount of CCTV cameras and even a security patrol van driving around the estate. The entrance has notices warning that the area is monitored and patrolled. This for us was reassuring especially with children playing and walking throughout the estate. This is a great crime deterrent ( even tho the area is probably safe anyway)
On check out we walked around the Main House Hotel. It is old and charming with antique furnishings and elegant surroundings. Certainly very charming and would appeal to many especially couples, however as a family with young kids I do believe the clubhouse is perfect. Well Done Mount Juliet. We hope to return only for longer next time.

Room Tip: We had club room 92 which is furthest from the bar so quiet yet next door to the pool. lovely upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your superb feedback following your stay at Mount Juliet. It is a pleasure to read such wonderful comments and I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments and in particular, in relation to our staff. It will give me great pleasure to pass on your comments to all concerned. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again when hopefully you can enjoy a longer stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Every single member of staff we encountered during our stay was genuinely friendly and helpful and it really added to our experience. Dinner at The Lady Helen was top class from start to finish and shouldn't be missed. We enjoyed lovely walks around the grand estate and had delicious lunches at The President's Bar and a very enjoyable dinner at Kendal's Restaurant both located at the Lodge. The warm log fires and cosy lounges were great places to unwind after a long walk. We stayed in a superior room in the main house which was spacious and comfortable. If you want to get away for a few days of R&R and want to enjoy excellent food and service then Mount Juliet is the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of Mount Juliet. It gives me great pleasure to read your kind comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed your break with us. Thank you again and we hope to see you back at Mount Juliet very soon.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from a weekend at Mount Juliet. The food it has to be said is out of this world. They take such care even preparing a salad. A Michelin star in the making. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed a terrific tour given by estate manager, Des. Staff are very helpful but service can be slow sometimes. Rooms are fine, very clean and lovely and big with a big bathroom. Could do with a better tv and movie options for a rainy afternoon. The only thing I did not like was the fact that the pool and spa are a walk from the main hotel. Other than that I would recommend it and we intend to come back with our kids.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountJulietG M, General Manager at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to complete a review of Mount Juliet. It is a pleasure to read your kind comments and we hope to see you back at Mount Juliet very soon again.

Yours sincerely,

William Kirby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomastown
8.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
9.7 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,920 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,954 reviews
8.7 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,758 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Juliet Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Juliet Estate

Property: Mount Juliet Estate
Address: Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Juliet Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Mount Juliet Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Juliet Estate Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Hotel Thomastown
Conrad Thomastown
Thomastown Conrad
Mount Juliet Estate Ireland/Thomastown, County Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing