We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real fresh fruit for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carrickmourne House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent two very pleasurable nights at Carrickmourne House with the helpful and welcoming hostess, Julie.
Breakfast was in a sunny room with a view over the valley, and included real fresh strawberries, blueberries, and fruit salad - nothing canned here. Thoroughly recommend the scrambled eggs and salmon.
The beautiful house had large and well appointed rooms. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 44 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in Julie's home. We can't say enough about how warm and welcoming Julie was. The home is beautiful and in a lovely country setting with an absolutely stunning breakfast room overlooking the village. Julie is a very gracious lady and went out of her way for us. She made dinner reservations for our first evening at Sol Bistro that was wonderful! The room and bath were immaculate and to add to the gorgeous breakfast area she has tranquil instrumental music playing with a view into a gorgeous garden area. What makes her place so special is it is located in a small village about 8 km from Kilkenny so you are out of the busy, hectic town of Kilkenny. Your loss if you pass up an opportunity to stay at Julie Doyle's lovely B&B!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed just one night at Carrickmourne but would love to have stayed longer. The welcome was warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for the owner, Julie. It is a beautiful house in lovely countryside. Our bedroom was spacious and welll equipped and the comfortable lounge was heated by a log fire. Breakfast was very good and more than adequate. There is lots to do in the area - walking, riding, fishing, crafts or just visiting the lovely villages. The only drawback of arrickmourne is that it is 3km out of Thomastown but we got a taxi there for 5 euros after an evening out (Juliehad offered us a lift!) and walked in the next day to collect our car - a lovely walk down a quiet road. I would strongly recommend Carrickmourne.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed with Julie for three nights while I toured around the Thomastown area. What a charming lady Julie is. She attended to my every need and then some. My stay could not have been more pleasant. My room was very comfortable, outstandingly clean and well-appointed. The house is situated on a hillside with a sweeping view of the Nore River valley which is as lovely by night as it is by day. I was concerned I might not be able to find the house but there are several signs posted on the New Ross Road guiding the way. I've traveled around Ireland quite a bit and this has to be one of my favorite B&B experiences. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Northshore9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed with julie for two night last weekend for a wedding there were six of us in total.
All rooms were very nice, clean, warm and the beds were really comfy, also cleaned daily.
Breakfast was really nice, everyone catered for.
House is really nice with lovely gardens and a huge view,Julie is very accomadating and very friendly.
Only downfall we felt was it is a little out of thomasown but it's not really a disadvantage to must
Overall would highly recommend this b and b

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Franky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in Carrickmourne House for two days and Julie was so welcoming, our rooms were perfect, my children were delighted with their own room with their own tv, and the view from mine & my husband’s room was amazing. Breakfast was 5 star and Julie was so accommodating with times that suited us, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyclone2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Julie is a delightfui hostess with a lovely house; she is warm and very hospitable and helpful. Our room was spacious and very clean. Julie's suggestion and directions to a sweet town nearby for a quick dinner was welcome and just what we wanted. She also knew where the old family farm of my great great grandfather was and gave us perfect directions there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldermomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomastown
3.6 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,083 reviews
11.3 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,858 reviews
10.2 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
11.4 mi away
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
Kilkenny Hibernian Hotel
#4 of 19 in Kilkenny
884 reviews
12.2 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrickmourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrickmourne House

Address: New Ross Road, Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrickmourne House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Carrickmourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickmourne House Ireland/Thomastown, County Kilkenny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing