We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining in Kilkenny”
Review of Sol Bistro - CLOSED

Sol Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Sol Bistro in Thomastown, like its sister restaurant in Kilkenny City, offers fabulously fresh local food served with a Mediterranean twist. Recommended by The McKennas Guide and Georgina Campbell's Ireland Guide. Sol Bistro is located in the centre of Thomastown on Low Street, just up from the Post office and between O'Hara's and Eddie Murphy's.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Kilkenny”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Sol Bistro was highly recommended by our B&B owner and it did not disappoint. We ate dinner there two of the three nights while in the Kilkenny area. The fish dinners were prepared and garnished beautifully. The wine list was good and service excellent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    57
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delightful and great”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The salad and dressing were fabulous. The service was great. Child menu had interesting selection. The sausage plate was the winner of our group.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDlocal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very tasty!!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We dined in Sol Bistro on the June bank holiday weekend. What a lovely restaurant in the quaint village of Thomastown. My husband had the pasta dish which is one the chefs signature dishes yummm. I had the fish of the day which was hake as did our two friends. It was so delicious. All I can say is fine food, fine wine and fine prices, would recommend Sol most definitely!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very cute and romantic”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Good service, very cute restaurant. Good quality food and very affordable, especially considering the size do the town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great eating experience”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Sol Bistro offers great food in a pleasant atmosphere with good service. Our group of eight enjoyed a wonderful meal in Sol Bistro. The staff coped excellently with a full restaurant of diners and proVided excellent service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ellenmoneill657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol Bistro also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing