We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous”

The Blackberry Cafe
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Thomastown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“gorgeous”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

food was great, comfortable place to sit down and relax, would definitely recommend it as one of the top choices to go with the family, with a friend on your own or on a date.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mattob333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    35
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An ordinary cafee”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had a coffee on a lazy Saturday afternoon, was not too impressed would much prefer the Sol in the town. Service was good and coffee and lemon cake was good but nothing special.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth visiting Thomastown for!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a great find.....this lovely cafe has excellent food and friendly service, and a lovely relaxed atmosphere. I liked how the cafe supports local artists and craftspeople in a low-key way.
Even on a dark winter's afternoon at the end of December the place was packed - obviously it has a good reputation - which is well deserved. The Blackberry Cafe is one I'll go back to and I'd give it a high recommendation to anyone visiting Kilkenny / Thomastown.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great cafe - every town should have one!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is the kind of cafe every town in Ireland should have - but sadly, so many don't. The room is airy and attractive, the décor is individual rather than a copy of twenty other places, I found the service to be great, and best of all, the food I had on a recent visit to Thomastown was delicious. I'd a salad of beetroot, spinach, orange and artichoke, plus one of the tastiest goats cheeses I've eaten in ages. A lunch full of interesting and contrasting flavours, accompanied by really good bread and a glass of local apple juice. I was tempted to stay on for tea and cake, but the sun was shining and I'd planned to cycle to Inistioge, so I resisted, so next time I visit the area, I can drool over the sweet treats I saw on display.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annaheussaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanamassa, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best Irish Breakfast”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The only down side to this quaint cafe was they opened at 10am. However, it was worth the wait. Great coffe, eggs, sausage, and irish bacon.... I especially liked the jam and cream served with scones..... delicious and quaint through and through

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackberry Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Blackberry Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing