We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a stunning home away from home without the interruptions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grove House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Schull
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grove House
Ranked #6 of 10 Schull B&B and Inns
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a stunning home away from home without the interruptions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

I visited Schull to work on my novel and I couldn’t have chosen a better place to stay.

Firstly, the house is gorgeous. The bedrooms are huge and beautifully furnished, complete with comfortable beds and writing desks. Each room is named after a writer – and each one has its own quirks and benefits. The Carberry offers wonderful light for writing and has the added benefit of a bath, while the Ross gives you pretty views over the harbour.

Breakfast is between 8am and 10am, but if you’re working on a project, Katarina will make a late breakfast for you; anything from scrambled eggs and bacon to a full Irish. It seems nothing is too much bother – Katarina’s whole philosophy is to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The house is a short stroll from the local bars and restaurants – though Katarina will set you up with a healthy and filling evening meal for just €10 a night. You can opt to eat in the dining room or in the living room in front of a blazing fire. Check out the wine list too – there are some pretty tasty choices available.

If you want to explore the local area, there are plenty of walks nearby – I’d recommend visiting Sailor’s Hill. See if you can meet Cornelius Griffin and get the story of the metal cross and the watch tower. If you’ve got a car, there are plenty of villages or beaches to explore.

The true beauty of Grove House is that it really is a home away from home, without the interruptions! It’s the perfect base for a week or weekend away. I managed to redraft half of my novel while staying here, thanks to the lovely surroundings, relaxing atmosphere and thoughtful service.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
370 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

Stayed in Grove House for a night in June. This b&b is only a few minutes walk from the town centre which makes it's location perfect. We had a huge room with a really comfortable bed. No tv or tea/coffee in the room however we were told we could watch tv downstairs. Our room was very clean and there is wireless internet throughout. Both of us had a cooked breakfast which was lovely however there wasn't any selection of fruit, cereals and yogurts.

There is a lovely front garden overlooking the bay where you can sit and have a glass of wine. Rugs are over the chairs in case it gets a bit cold. The Bunratty Inn was lovely for lunch. If ever coming to Schull we will stay in Grove House.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

Stayed here last summer with my mom,aunt and teenage cousins and we all had a wonderful time.The house itself is beautiful,bursting with original features,a real gem!each unique room had sumptously comfy beds and gorgeous antique furniture.Breakfast was fab each morning,whether it was a full irish or french toast made with eggs straight from the hens in the garden!Katarina and her boys couldn"t do enough for us,nothing was too much trouble.Their laid back personalities give this place a really relaxing vibe!the perfect place to go to get away from it all for a couple of days.This place gets it spot on in all the right places with the odd cobweb only adding to its distinctive charm!!Will definately be returning.Rach- Dublin x

  • Liked — Katarina and the lads!!
  • Disliked — LEAVING IT !
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rachDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

Grove House is a beautiful Georgian house overlooking the harbour in Schull. Katarina was a wonderful hostess. The food was excellent. The rooms are large and tastefully decorated. I will certainly be back, and I would recommend Grove House to all of my friends,

  • Liked — The warm family atmosphere
  • Disliked — Unpredictable Irish weather
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BWGDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2008

Saw this place is Alaistar Sawday Special Places to Stay. Was sooo excited about going with my husband and 2 small children. I am from the country in Ireland but this place was just a run down old country house with lots of messy books everywhere, rooms very very basic, uncomfortable beds and overall not in any way shape of form "special" or luxurious. Katarina was away, again. and her son who is still is school trying to manage breakfast. Not good experience, had reservations for 3 nights, checked out the first morning. Very very disappointed.
Even if I was travelling with my husband on our own, still would have been the same experience. Put me off going to Schull ! Which I also thought was only ok. Go to Baltimore, Kinsale, Kerry anywhere but here. Great local pub with great food !

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank afrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
202 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2007

Grove House, only a short stroll from the centre of Schull, is one of the oldest pupose-built hotels in the region. It therefore has bags of atmosphere, and, thanks to Katarina's presence, considerable charm. Even in her absence, her son, still at school, cooked us an excellent full Irish breakfast. He also apologised profusely for failing to service our room. Certainly, arriving at 5 o'clock to an unmade bed was a depressing experience. Even more depressing, and less excusable, was the ice-cold room that greeted our arrival between 10 and 11 o'clock on both evenings. Less excusable because this was not mere forgetfulness, but presumably a deliberate policy to reduce heating bills (and save the planet?).

Having stayed for two nights both here and Stanley House, a hard-nosed comparison is possible. Frankly, Grove House charges more and offers less. Our bedroom, though large, was sparsely furnished - a lack of TV, cofee/tea-making facilities, adequate drawer-space and even a bedside table. Our advice is: if you are visiting Schull in high season choose Stanley House. If it is full, or closed (between November and April), you will find Grove House an acceptable alternative.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Poor facilities in rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrishandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2007

The place looks nice on the outside, but on the inside…not that clean. Not necessarily dirty, we did not see the dust, but we shared the room with maybe 12 if not more spiders and their webs.
I understand the humidity, the fact that a house covered in ivy harbors a lot of insects in that ivy, but I don’t want to share my room with them.
The breakfast was not great, either. Only eggs (however we wanted them), weak coffee and we had to ask for water or juice – it was never offered.

The B&B seems to be run by the owner’s son, who’s around 15-16 probably. We only saw the owner when we arrived, when she was hosting a vocal recital, and she sent her son to take care of us and check us in. He was the one serving breakfast and he was the one who checked us out.

We had it booked for 2 nights, and ran away after the first. Do yourself a favor, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xyz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schull
8.3 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rock Hill House
Rock Hill House
#3 of 10 in Schull
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schull Harbour Hotel
Schull Harbour Hotel
#2 of 10 in Schull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Carbery Cottage Guest Lodge
Show Prices

Been to Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House

Property: Grove House
Address: Colla Road, Schull, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Schull
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Schull
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing