We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grove House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Schull
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grove House
Ranked #6 of 10 Schull B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Dined here in a party of 16.... Mums night out! Very warm welcome. Menu was vast and there was something to suit every pallet.
Food was cooked to perfection and the choice of wine was great.
All in all a great experience, would dine here again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mheg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    9
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oberursel, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

A friendly welcome, an interesting setting and spare, but elegant rooms. The house is full of art, books and 19th century architectural details brought up to a modern standard. There's a turf fire in the lounge and an excellent in-house restaurant. Grove House is a short walk from Main Street Schull, which boasts tempting shops and a couple of good pubs. I recommend the walk up to Ships Hill, from which there's a panoramic view of the peninsula - about 30 minutes' walk from the B&B. A swell time will be had by all.

Room Tip: We liked Ross, a spacious and airy corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMSOberursel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just back from three nights at Grove House. We had tried to book in previously, but it was booked out, and we now know why. It is a wonderful place - Katarina's welcome and ongoing assistance on anything and everyting was for openers, breakfast excellent and dinner simply delicious. The bedrooms are simple, but that was no surprise, but after three splendid night's sleep, we certainly have no complaints. Quite simply, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Views over Schull Harbour are splendid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCR12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was our second time to stay with the very lovely Katarina. We arrived in the lashing rain on Easter Saturday and received a very warm welcome from Katarina. Once we had put our bags in the lovely spacious room - we were sitting in front of the cosy fire, sipping some delicious corbierre wine and reading our books. We ate in town on the first night and were very glad that Katarina very thoughtfully reserved us a romantic corner table on the second night. The food is gorgeous...a tasty Swedish fish starter, home grown greens with our delicious mains....romantic candle light and fab selection of home made desserts. Top marks for all the food.

The house is spotless and in a great location. Two mins walk and you're in town. We enjoyed cosy chats with locals and other holiday makers in Hackets (a great snug fire at the back and very tasty Murphys) and then across the road in Newmans. I must say - we will go back. It is a very friendly village and a great base for exploring. Pity about the Easter weather but we know how glorious it can be in the Summer having visited last July. We will be back. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had sea view rooms on both occasions. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Number1Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my partner over the St Patricks weekend. We were greeted by Katerina who had a fire going in the sitting room and made us some tea served with biscuits. There is a restaurant within the B&B also and I was gutted that we didnt eat there, we had decided before going we would eat out in schull on the Friday night night and then eat in the B&B Saturday night but it was booked up! If the breakfast is anything to go by then I am guessing it was lovely.

We had our breakfast served in the lovely conservatory off the house and it is all made to order. You can have anything you like from a full irish to fruit and yoghurt. The host Katerina made us feel very welcome and was a very nice lady.

The room we had was bright and spacious with an ensuite.

I will definitly be coming back to stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for one overlooking the harbour.It was lovely with the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraH1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had booked 2 nights at this hotel on the basis of reviews read and it absolutely lived up to it's expectations. Katerina, Nico and Max made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. They had a music night on the Friday which was full and it was brilliant. Now trying to find an excuse to go back soon! Food also very good. Almost didn't write a review as we wanted to keep it secret!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good but harbour views are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was so impressed by our meal in Grove House. We ordered the cod and the plaice and it was absolutely delicious. The atmosphere was intimate and friendly, and the beautiful grand piano in the corner and attention to detail makes it the perfect setting for a good chat. Katarina was a great host. We plan to make it our regular restaurant in Schull. Many thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schull
8.3 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rock Hill House
Rock Hill House
#3 of 10 in Schull
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schull Harbour Hotel
Schull Harbour Hotel
#2 of 10 in Schull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Carbery Cottage Guest Lodge
Show Prices

Been to Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House

Property: Grove House
Address: Colla Road, Schull, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Schull
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Schull
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing