We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming Cottage With Amazing Views Close to Town”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Quarry Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen and Dining area Kitchen and Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Kitchen and Dining area
Kitchen and Dining area
Master bedroom
Twin Room
Quarry Cottage
Sun Room
View from Quarry Cottage
Schull village
Sailing in Schull
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Schull, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Cottage With Amazing Views Close to Town”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had the most lovely time at Quarry Cottage last month. It is cozy, beautiful and equipped with everything you need. Overlooking Schull Harbor, you're just a short walk away from town. Nancy and Tom are available if you need absolutely anything at all (in our case, it was advice on how to find a unicorn wand that my cousin saw at the market) and Phoebe the neighborhood dog is always up for a good outside happy hour. We look forward to returning many, many times in the near future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and charm of the cottage
Liked least: There is literally nothing I didn't like.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My family has stayed at Quarry Cottage three times over the past five years. It is an excellent home to make your base for exploring West Cork. Nancy Brosnan keeps the house in pristine shape, there is nothing better than falling asleep her freshly washed bed sheets after a transatlantic flight.
The cottage is about a kilometer outside of the town of Schull which allows for an easy walk to stores, pubs and the waterfront. Heading out for a walk in any direction will lead to wonderful views of Roaring Water Bay or Mt Gabriel. I highly suggest the quick walk up the hill to Sailors Point at sunset for a truly perfect end to the day.
I am always looking forward to the next time that I can return to Quarry Cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardor...
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and cosy cottage”
Reviewed December 5, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We really enjoyed our staying at Nancy Brosnan's wonderful cottage. Most of all we loved to sit and relax in the comfortable bright winter garden with its view of the surrounding garden. The kitchen provides all the facilities you need, i.e. dish washer, micro wave, oven and washing machine. The open fire place gives the living room a warm atmosphere. There is TV and WiFi. The cottage is ideally located in a beautiful coastal scenery, it's quiet and within walking distance of the Schull city center, where you can find all kind of shops and pubs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Winter Garden
Liked least: Really nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Quarry Cottage and also for the five star rating. It is very much appreciated and important to my business. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we will see you on a return visit sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M
2 reviews
“Ideal location with spectacular views of bay and islands”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

As 1st time visitors to Ireland, we visited this lovely cottage in September and were treated to an Indian summer. The cottage was well equipped with a large kitchen/diner and a comfortable sun lounge with TV (the Sky box gets UK channels). We like a short walk, so the 15 minute walk down by the old church and along seafront path into Schull was just about right.

Schull itself has just enough dining establishments and the 2 small supermarkets were very good to buy the food and drink that we needed, since the cottage is self-catering. It was a handy base for travelling east to Blarney/Cork and west to Mizen Head and Bantry.

We took the ferry to Cape Clear Island for a very scenic (views out to the FastNet lighthouse) and pleasurable trip. There is a small shop/cafe and a couple of pubs there. It's worth noting that the ferry only runs on Sundays in September and the return timetable is 'flexible' - we were told as we disembarked that the return was 1 hour early than advertised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and views.
Liked least: Laminate flooring in hall and bedroom was noisy when other people were in bed.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Quarry Cottage and also for the five star rating. It is very much appreciated and important to my business. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we will see you on a return visit sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom827
Crossville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After waiting 48 years for a return to Ireland for a reunion with my (Tom’s) 5 cousins in County Cork we decided that the perfect way for us to complete our visit, and see the beauty of West Cork, was to rent a cottage for 2 weeks. Our friends wanted to travel with us so the search was on. One the internet we found 4 cottages located close to the sea and each with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. We asked our cousins which one they would choose if they were on holiday and each said Quarry Cottage in Schull. They said it would be the perfect location for us to use as a base for our 2 week stay and daily travel. So the choice was made and what a perfect choice they made for us. The cottage is located a short distance outside the village of Schull on a hillside overlooking the bay with beautiful views. The location was perfect for us to make our daily trips as far north as Killarney and along the south coast east to Cork City.

The owners, Nancy & Tom are special people and made our “perfect” stay at Quarry Cottage one that we will never forget. Upon our arrival we received “cead mile failte” (100,000 Welcomes) from them and we now have a lasting relationship,

We plan to visit Ireland again in a few years and when we start our plans, a reservation to rent Quarry Cottage will certainly be made by us.

Tom & Diane
Crossville Tennessee USA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Quarry Cottage and also for the five star rating. It is very much appreciated and important to my business. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we will see you on a return visit sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing