We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star stay at Castlemartyr Resort..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castlemartyr Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Fabulous 5 star Hotel with the most comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms. Bathroom is enormous with separate deep bath, shower and toilet. Bedroom is absolutely huge with all facilities , including separate writing desk and armchairs. I liked that the Hotel corridors outside the bedrooms are so wide that you are not disturbed by other guests closing doors..
Ate in the Italian restaurant for dinner, which was lovely with very helpful staff.
Breakfast the next morning was gorgeous with lovely selection of pastries, cold items on a buffet and hot food cooked to order. The Eggs Benedict were fab. Didn't need to eat until evening. The Hotel is situated in beautiful grounds and the building is lovely, especially the old part. Lovely walks in the grounds.
All staff that I dealt were very pleasant, even the cleaning staff in the corridor greet everyone and most seemed to be local which is nice to see...
Didn't have time to avail of the pool or spa, good excuse for a future visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marzi_1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,257 - 1,263 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

I went to Castlemartyr Resort with my Mum and sister for afternoon tea and treatment at the Spa.
We had such a lovely day and I couldn't fault anything . Afternoon tea was scrumptious and we had more than enough food.
The staff were all so friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed the Spa and our treatments.
Honestly there is nothing I can fault for the whole day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LunanGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Satyed here for a 3 day break. Was lucky enough to get an upgrade to a suite overlooking golf course, room on third floor and great views. Were also lucky with the weather and the area has a lot to offer, that is if you could tear yourself away from the hotel facilities. Not too often you can tick everything as excellent but here you can. Staff very friendly and helpful, found the staff in restaurant couldnt do enough for you. Played golf on a very nice course. No complaints.

Room Tip: Manor house looks lovely but we stayed in new part and all rooms look nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plusfore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was married here in August this year and could not say enough about how great the venue and staff were. We were both so pleased with how our weekend went. Everything was perfect and we had a fantastic relaxing day. The attentive staff looked after every detail from setting up the function room exactly as we had envisaged, to leaving notes on all our guests pillows to invite them for breakfast the morning after the wedding in our own private room. The food during the wedding was faultless and the breakfast was just what required the day after a big session. All of our guests were really pleased with their rooms and the bridal suite was stunning.

As a final note, I would like to mention that my wedding coordinator Jackie was a star and helped organise every detail of the day. I felt confident that she had everything under control so I was able to relax and enjoy myself. Exactly what I was hoping for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
479167
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

As always staff extremely helpful and friendly, lovely hotel but this time some aspects were not as good, basic toiletries in room, not much in the way of tea and Coffey,
And they never replenished either until asked.
Sounds a bit weak but for such an upmarket hotel I did expect similar to last time,
They now have an Italian restaurant on site called Frankie's, very good but a a bit expensive, the two waitresses were very chatty and friendly, I had the risotto, it was unusual to what I would normally expect but very nice,
Breakfast good with a good choice but service is a bit slow but freshly cooked and again staff great.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very spacious rooms. Very relaxing and peaceful. Very slippy tiles in swimming pool. Knights Bar is in a beautiful room but lacks atmosphere. Lighting a little odd. food in the Italian was good but didn't particularly like Chicken Milanese but platter starter was amazing - two weddings each night we were there but you wouldn't really have noticed. Beautiful grounds. It just lacked something that convinced me its a 5 star!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orlaith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here 2 weeks ago with the family on a 2 night deal. from start to finish I have to say these guys know what theyre at. Professional to the core. Great with the kids. Cool Italian for casual dining. Fine dining in the restaurant was simply sublime. Far beyond my wildest expectations. Definitely the best place to stay, eat , relax, unwind in Cork if not Munster. Can't wait for my next visit. It'll be for longer next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rozelle1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlemartyr
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,263 reviews
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
740 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,656 reviews
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlemartyr Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemartyr Resort

Address: Ladysbridge Rd, Castlemartyr P25 X300, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castlemartyr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Price Range: $174 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlemartyr Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castlemartyr Resort is a grand eighteenth century country manor house that sits adjacent to the ruins of an 800-year-old castle. Constructed by the first Earl of Cork and lovingly restored to its original grandeur, the Manor House opened in 2007 to serve as the centrepiece of Castlemartyr Resort. Nestled amid the picturesque woodlands of East Cork this breathtaking destination resort is steeped in history and tradition, while also offering luxurious first-class service tailored to each guest’s unique tastes and the finest in accommodations, dining and recreational activities. Its 103 guestrooms and suites offer contemporary design seamlessly blended with old world elegance. Attractions include The Spa at Castlemartyr, a renowned inland links-style golf course, a state of the art gym including a fitness studio, a private lake with swans and miles of unspoiled walking tracks, all graced by the mystery and power of the ancient ruins nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Castlemartyr Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlemartyr Hotel Castlemartyr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing