We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat for the missus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castlemartyr Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Certificate of Excellence
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A treat for the missus”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

High standards are an understatement this hotel was fab from location, rooms and facilities .
The food was scrumptious and well worth the wait would visit again and recommend to many.
Can't say enough made a lovely break from the norm especially as all the staff are so courteous and helpful .

Room Tip: All rooms even the junior suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review, I am glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    337
    158
    88
    43
See reviews for
442
787
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 616 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our brief stay at this location because the hotel is so beautiful, the grounds picturesque, and the staff friendly and nice.

Our junior suite was one of the most attractive looking suites we have ever stayed in. It was modern but elegant at the same time with a very cohesive look. There were three rooms lined up in a row, each a little jewel box. A small entry had a powder room off of it. The living room had a couch and a work desk facing out the window to the grounds. The bedroom was spacious and classy looking. There was a nice wardrobe room before entering the bathroom. This allowed us to keep most of our personal items out of sight. The large white marble bathroom was very regal looking and had a full window overlooking the grounds. There was extensive use of moldings and fine fabrics. The whole suite looked very plush with a soft color palette, and very nice art work with pops of color.

Unfortunately we had some issues with our room. The lamps on the end tables in the living room would not work. Management came to investigate and it was determined that only an electrician could fix the problem. The living room also had a table with nothing on top of it. We later realized the room had no TV which is a common feature found in suite living rooms. This made us wonder if we were given a room with a missing TV that belonged on top of the empty table. We were only staying for one night so it was not a big deal, but if we were going to stay longer, we would have requested a room change. By design, the suite lacked a door to close off the bedroom area from the living room and there seemed to be limited heat in the bathroom which caused the marble floor to be cold to bare feet. Still, the suite was so nice, we still loved the space.

We had dinner in the elegant bar room. After a brief period, we had the room to ourselves to enjoy a nice meal. We had breakfast in the simple elegance of the main dining room. There was a nice selection of cold items on buffet, and we could order hot items. Also in the main manor house is a lovely and comfortable library room. This entire area of the manor house feels more like an exclusive country club than a hotel.

There is a spacious spa at the hotel housed in the modern wing. The large pool has a two story high wall of glass overlooking the beautiful grounds. A very small hot tub is set within the pool. On the upper level is a big gym area. While these areas were nice, they fall somewhat short of the high quality look of the rest of the hotel. This area is also a membership club for nearby residents. Because of this the pool and hot tub were a little busy, even though the hotel in general seemed very quiet the night of our stay.

To address some comments of other guests, we did not mind the mix of old and new styles, they blended well and no matter where you were in the hotel nice art work and good interior design abound. The hotel layout does require some walking, but it is no big deal. The lit art work in the hallways of local sites will keep you entertained during your journey. Parking is limited near the front of the hotel, but there is a large parking lot on the back side of the hotel with easy access to the rooms.

We did stay at hotel on a quiet mid-week night which may have enhanced our stay and opinions.

Although this review is a little mixed, we loved the look of the hotel so much and the staff was so friendly, we can easily recommend this hotel. And make sure you take Earl and Countess, the hotel dogs, for a walk.

Room Tip: Suites are wonderful if you are able to go for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of our resort. I am pleased to read of the many positive experiences enjoyed throughout your stay, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our team. Rest assured the issue with the lamps has been investigated further. It is always great to hear that you are happy to recommend us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The days of spending oodles of cash on mediocre service should have died with the Celtic tiger. Alas it would seem this is not the case here.

How can a resort possibly justify charging over €16 for a pint and a glass of wine not to mind over eight euro (if memory serves me correctly)for a few morsels of goats cheese and a few salad leaves. Why is it if something is served on a piece of slate its price balloons !

The rooms are a considerable distance from reception and for a five star resort why is a registered fault only examined after check in. It is a little disappointing to have a staff member checking what that fault may be after you have just "landed".

There are far cheaper options not far from here and I know this would not be anywhere the top of my list again.

In summary...FAR too overpriced !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Big_Irish_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We drove in through the gates and up the drive to the front of the Castlemartyr Resort. We were greeted warmly in the reception and spotted the two dogs, the pride of the manor, who were available for walks and runs around the grounds.
But we were pointed to the direction of the our lodge and off we went. It was lovely and warm and the place was fully equipped. The beds were comfy and the water always hot.

Whilst there we had coffee in the bar watching the wedding guests, the families in for communions and the tourists who were in for the all encompassing Irish hospitality. So a real mix of guests to cater for which the staff were pulling off to a tee.

We took bicycles out around the grounds; we used the gym, a fabulous facial and massage, there was croquet on the lawn, a veggie patch to admire, horses to admire and probably more than we didn't investigate.

Highly recommend a visit, even if you are in the area you can take a stroll around the grounds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vonnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am pleased to read of all the positives noted and will be sure to pass on your kind words to our team, including of course Earl and Countess who certainly are the pride of our manor. I am glad to hear you would happily recommend our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Attended a conference at the Castlemartyr Resort recently and was blown away! Timeless elegance, space and calm was the order of the day! Nothing was too much trouble for the very efficient staff. Our seminar went very well in the tranquil environment and when the day was done the chill out in the pool and spa was just what the doctor ordered! Not cheap but so worth it. Dinner in the Bell Tower restaurant was top class!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiecro52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a kind review of your recent visit to our resort. Our team work tirelessly to provide the very best levels of service, I am thrilled to pass on your acknowledgement of their efforts. I am pleased to read that you found the resort to be a tranquil environment for the conference and that you were able to make use of the extensive leisure facilities in the Castlemartyr Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had our wedding in castlemartyr earlier this month, we were very impressed by the professionalism shown and the service provided. The attention to detail was second to none, for example valet parking on arrival and late morning breakfast for the wedding party. This was greatly appreciated by all our guests. As our wedding was a two night affair castlemartyr was able to provide many amenities (swimming, spa, golf & walks) on the day after the wedding- again greatly appreciated by all our guests. We would definitely recommend castlemartyr as an excellent wedding venue ( for large or small parties) - nothing is a problem for the staff in castlemartyr!

Thank you again,
Mary & John.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollywalsh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCastlemartyr, General Manager at Castlemartyr Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Mary & John,
I am thrilled that you both enjoyed your wedding so thoroughly. I am glad to hear that your guests enjoyed all of the facilities on offer and appreciate your praise of our team. Here at the Castlemartyr Resort we pride ourselves on attention to detail and strive to extend exceptional service at each and every opportunity. It is always good to hear that you would be happy to recommend our resort for a wedding, thank you for this and your kind words, I will be sure to pass them onto our team. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future.

Best Regards,

Una O'Dowd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend on a 2 night 1 dinner package. We had our two kids with us 7 & 9.
We were given an upgrade to a suite which was lovely but the power in the suite went twice and we were left in darkness. No big deal but the lights were all controlled by computer and you couldn't open the curtains. They say they welcome kids but in reality they don't. They made us leave the pool between 12-3 during the day. This is madness as the kids only want to go after breakfast and let's face it if its raining you would go to the pool but not in this hotel. The bar is very small and doesn't cater of the hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Culjordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlemartyr
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,072 reviews
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
721 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,415 reviews
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlemartyr Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemartyr Resort

Property: Castlemartyr Resort
Address: Ladysbridge Rd, Castlemartyr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castlemartyr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Castlemartyr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlemartyr Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castlemartyr Resort is a grand seventeenth century countrymanor house that sits adjacent to the ruins of an 800-year-old castle. Constructed by the first Earl of Cork and lovingly restored to its original grandeur, the Manor House opened in 2007 to serve as the centrepiece of Castlemartyr Resort. Nestled amid the picturesque woodlands of East Cork this breathtaking destination resort is steeped in history and tradition, while also offering luxurious first-class service tailored to each guest’s unique tastes and the finest in accommodations, dining and recreational activities. Its 103 guestrooms and suites offer contemporary design seamlessly blended with old world elegance. Attractions include The Spa at Castlemartyr, a renowned inland links-style golf course, a state of the art gym including a yoga and pilates studio, a private lake with swans and miles of unspoiled walking tracks, all graced by the mystery and power of the ancient ruins nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Castlemartyr Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlemartyr Hotel Castlemartyr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing