We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Natural retreats”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castlemartyr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Natural Retreats Castlemartyr
Ranked #1 of 4 Castlemartyr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Natural retreats”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had booked a beautiful mews for four of us for a weekend. We were attending a family wedding and were looking forward to spending time with family that we hadn't seen in years while staying in the grounds of the beautiful Castlemyrtr hotel. Natural retreats phoned us at 09;30 in the morning to ask us to move accomodation as there seemed to be a problem with one of the lodges on site. They assured us the alternative accomodation was close by and just as nice. On arrival to the alternative accomodation we were appauled and refused to stay there. We couldn't contact the representatives without huge problems. Eventually at 7 pm just before we sat for dinner I received a text to say another alternative accomodation had been booked for us 20km's away. At this point I contacted hotel staff which managed to get us rooms in Castlemayrtr hotel. I was horrified by the unprofessional treatment we received from Natural retreats. Please do not book through them. We eneded up having a wonderful weekend in Castlemayrtr hotel thanks to the wonderful staff there and couldn't fault them or the hotel. Definately a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Book only through the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    64
    25
    15
    5
See reviews for
181
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed in a very trendy, open plan house with open-riser stairs and floor-to-ceiling windows. If I was single it would have been perfect, but with two young kids there were just too many sharp corners and hazards for the youngsters.

I can't really fault the accommodation - it was very nice, albeit a little cold when it got chilly outside because of all the glass. However, if I am looking for comfort and cosiness, the lodges at Fota Island Resort not far away are much better value. And the hotel isn't geared up for kids either - a little too stuffy for my liking.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed in the houses recently and we appalled at how run down they were.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conkers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stayed in natural retreats self catering in Castlemartyr last november with my mother and sister for a family break. We always book into self catering for a few days or a week at that time of year, different parts of Ireland (mostly along the West Coast). We were so happy with our stay at natural retreats. We stayed in the Lodges (3 bedroom) and it really was luxury. We got a lovely welcome pack inc eggs, cheese, milk, and a bottle of wine! The lodges are SO clean, the bathrooms were spotless, ,and the duvets, towels etc were spotless aswell. The heating was set to come on before we arrived, and we were able to adjust it ourselves anytime we needs an extra boost. We definetly were not cold!! There are lovely walks around the grounds of the hotel. We had dinner on one night in the main hotel and it was fabulous. I meant to go into the hotel to use the swimming pool, but we were so happy in the Lodges and so comfortable that i never felt it to go swimming. All 3 of us were delighted with our stay.
To top it all off, I forgot the charger for my mobile phone and left it behind. All I had to do was ring and they very kindly posted it onto me straight away - I was most impressed !!

Room Tip: I don;t think pets are allowed - but they should be. An ideal location for a dog for walks etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avondale9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had an absolutely exquisite room with very modern amenities in our room. We were well received at reception and had wonderful service throughout our stay. There were many families at the resort for their vacations. We enjoyed the gym, excellent classes and spa services and the beautiful pool. We don't play golf, but the course was beautiful, well manicured and well cared for. There were bicycles available for guests. The food in the dining room was artistically presented and a pleasure to eat, the service was also excellent. A beautiful property with a private garden off of our bedroom, a fully automated room(touch screen controls at the bedside for controlling, lighting, the TV, privacy notification, etc.

Room Tip: We had a king size room with a private garden. Ask for this one. A beautiful breakfast was includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marschmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

booked into the mews for 5 nights but found it very basic, kitchen\living area very small and was really very disappointed with it. hotel and hotel grounds are faboulous and it is family friendly but the Mews definitely are not 5 star quality.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irm436852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Stayed at 2 bed mews for 2 nights with 3 friends celebrating 50th birthday of one of the party. From booking to checkout service was second to none! Home from home facilities. Welcome hamper a lovely touch. Comfortable spacious rooms. Lovely quiet location. Service at hotel, spa 100%.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heart274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlemartyr
0.1 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
4.4 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
5.0 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
8.2 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Retreats Castlemartyr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats Castlemartyr

Property: Natural Retreats Castlemartyr
Address: Castlemartyr Resort, Castlemartyr, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castlemartyr
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castlemartyr
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amid Cork's most picturesque woodlands, Castlemartyr (Baile na Martra) is a breathtaking destination richly steeped in Emerald Isle history and tradition. A historical village with a range of sites of archaeological and socio-cultural interest Castlemartyr reflects virtually every era in the country's history and pre-history. Holidays in Cork are extremely popular and it´s not hard to see why. Natural Retreats, Castlemartyr is the ideal location for that much needed break. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing