We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - fun, informative and spectacular!”

Whale Watch West Cork
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Responsible tourism award winner - Whale Watch West Cork runs responsible whale and dolphin watching tours led by zoologist and conservationist Dr Nic Slocum. All tours depart from Baltimore, Harbour, West Cork on board Voyager- daily between April and November (sea conditions permitting). Each tour takes you around the beautiful islands and headlands of West Cork,stopping at Cape Clear Island affording visitors an insight into the unique lifestyle of the islanders of Roaring Water Bay. Our overseas arm, Whales Worldwide, runs exclusive wildlife holidays to unique destinations including Baja, Maui, Patagonia and Sri Lanka to watch whales responsibly in their natural habitats. Each tour is personally guided by Nic Slocum with a maximum of ten like-minded guests per holiday. We are dedicated to providing each of our customers with a safe, comfortable and educational whale and dolphin watching experience. We seek to impart accurate knowledge on the marine mammals and other wildlife we encounter and on the wider issues of marine conservation through informed commentary with special emphasis on the current threats facing these unique animals and their fragile environment. We directly support conservation measures through education and research.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent - fun, informative and spectacular!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Really good afternoon spend at this, well worth the money and time. Go for it, it's worth every penny!

Helpful?
3 Thank CMacA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    16
    6
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Thank you Nic for making our experience so fantastic. We will be back again later this year hopefully. We were lucky with the weather last year and that just added to the greatness :)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Used in 2009 - going back this year for definite!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was shocked at some of the comments made. My family of four went out on the trip with Nic in 2009. We saw two MInke whales, also seals and sea birds. Nic made it clear that he cannot guarantee you will see whales, especially with odd weather and environmental changes we have had in recent years. At that time he posted the latest news of what had or hadn't been seen on recent trips on his website.
Nic was good company throughout the trip, pointed out many local points of interest and apart from the whales, it was well worth the trip anyway. All the participants not just my family really seemed to enjoy it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kensingtonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhaleWatchWestCork, Owner at Whale Watch West Cork, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Hi Kensingtonia.

Thank you very much for your review. All reviews are very important to us as this helps us manage policy and improve on any aspect of our business where we can.

We believe that at least one of the two adverse comments we received in July 2011 was prompted by someone who had a vested interest in debunking us. We will never know for sure but our motto is "move on" and continue to prove to our many old and new customers that our sightings success rate continues to be well above 80%. This July it went well above that due to some superb minke whale sightings...some of the best we have had these past three years...but regrettably not on every single trip!

The other review was by someone who seemed to have a problem with their spelling and syntax. We are not actually sure this person had come out with us because of the way things were said but we welcome all reviews!

Thanks again for your helpful and balanced review and we hope you will be able to make it out to West Cork again soon.

Nic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nic is great. Beautiful scenery, but more porpoises than whales.”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

If you MUST see whales, then this is not a trip for you. Only one of our passengers saw one, and that was with binoculars. Having said that, this is well worth your time and money. Boat is adequate and the coastal scenery is very nice. Nic knows the area and where the best viewing spots are going to be, but he can't control the whales. We saw seals a couple places, and we saw harbour porpoises. My girls (5 and 7) liked the trip, and Nic even let them drive the boat!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi_loves_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Trip”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

On Thursday we booked the morning trip with Nic. The trip was worth every euro, we had a fantastic trip. We had a great experience when we found a pod of dolphins, they were tracking our boat and there was 4 or 5 who were very close and kept at the front of the boat, i managed to take some great photos. We were unlucky not to see a whale but on the way back to Baltimore in the distance we were lucky enough to see three porpoise, which are very shy and we could not get too close, if we tried they just disappeared!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank molliemo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Watch West Cork also viewed

Skibbereen, County Cork
Baltimore, County Cork
 
Baltimore, County Cork
Baltimore, County Cork
 

Been to Whale Watch West Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing