We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, excellent views”
Review of Jacobs Bar

Jacobs Bar
Ranked #7 of 12 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent views”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a couple of Guinness in Jacobs bar and asked to see the menus as we had decided to stay for dinner with an American couple we had got talking to.
The downstairs seating was all full so we ventured upstairs to the Lookout restaurant which is part of the same establishment. Some of the food can be found on both menus and in some cases it's two or three euros cheaper downstairs in the bar but , as we found, the extra to eat upstairs was worth it for the fantastic views out to sea as the sun set. It was a sight to behold and certainly enhanced our dining experience.

We only opted for main courses but they were very good. I had the chicken noodles which were lovely, quite spicy but not overly so. I thoroughly enjoyed them. The wine list offered some good choices.

The waiter who served us managed to get us a table at the front by the window which we were pleased about and the service generally was very good.

We would certainly go back.

Just one point, the stairway going up to the restaurant smelled strongly of cigarettes which wasn't very nice but thankfully it didn't permeate the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    40
    18
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alfriston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Helpfulness”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

As a visiting yachtsman, food and wi if access are essential. Jacobs bar more than adequately met my needs, the fish and chips were lovely delivered with great service in a happy atmosphere. Additionally, help with my booking of a flight home, using the hotels computer, assisted by Kate, the manager was greatly appreciated. I offered to pay for the use, but that was rejected, so this review is my way of saying thank you. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Only Plaice for a 1&1”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had an occasion to eat in Jacobs Bar on Saturday night during the World Cup Final and the Fish and Chips (1&1) we something to behold. Fresh Hake caught locally in Union Harbour with crispy chips served up with a fine pint of Ale. Beforehand we sat outside to enjoy the harbour view, the afternoon sun and listen to the live band. Great atmosphere. Will definitely be back.

    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBCLAN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
“Aamazing food”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My self and my partner are staying in the locality for the summer and had heard amazing reviews from la jolie/jacobs bar we were greeted and seated as soon as we walked in, a very lovely young girl informed us of the dailys that they had on. Although they were busy the waitress said there would be wait which we did not mind, the food was delicious, although the waitress that was looking after us was very young still a teenager no doubt she was very able and friendly would highly recommend that everyone should experience such delight. as we did

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnmacnulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Seafood and Excellent service”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic seafood dinner outside in the sunshine overlooking Sherkin island. The fish was fresh and delicious and the service was excellent. Would definitely return!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ianuk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacobs Bar also viewed

Baltimore, County Cork
Baltimore, County Cork
 

Been to Jacobs Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing