We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special location & a great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inish Beg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baltimore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inish Beg
South West England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very special location & a great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Inish Beg and the drive into the estate once again took my breath away, it's a very beautiful and special location. We stayed in the courtyard cottages which are quite well equipped and stayed very cosy with the underfloor heating and the large log burner despite the freezing weather. We loved seeing the progress made to the estate gardens and it's a lovely walk around the grounds. We once again found the owners very friendly and helpful and providing a travel cot and high chair was ideal. Our little boy particularly enjoyed the friendly bulldog sunning herself on our doorstep one morning.

If you are looking for privacy the courtyard cottages are probably not your best bet when they are all full. Next time we would love to try the higher spec'ed boat house or lodge which looked lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloxyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    11
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
39
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just stayed with a group of friends in the Boathouse at Inis Beg. The house was very comfortable and well equipped, and despite the weather we had an excellent and relaxing weekend.

The estate itself is a pleasure to explore and a testament to the vision and energy of the owners and staff given that it was overgrown in the late 90s. The walks are well laid out and maintained and the location is excellent. Definitely a great spot for family or friends spending time together.

Room Tip: Spend time chosing your house, we had the boathouse and that was extremely private and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I had booked the Gypsy Retreat for a few nights. When we arrived the weather was so cold (around freezing) so we were a bit worried about staying in the gypsy caravans. The owners Paul & Georgiana kindly offered us to stay in one of the cottages instead. We were quite relieved and had the most wonderful stay.
The grounds are beautiful for walks and the coastal area of County Cork is stunningly beautiful. The swimming pool was really nice, you can book it and have it to yourselves which means it was never crowded. We plan to return in warmer weather and stay in the Gypsy Retreat which looked romantic & fun.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveday P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I went to Inishbeg with 23 of my friends for the weekend. We had 4 houses booked and a mixture of couples and singles. Generally its difficult to please everybody but this time everyone was agreed that Inishbeg is one of the best places if not the best we have ever stayed. There really is something for everyone, relaxing in the lodges, strolls around the island, swimming, gym, eating in, eating out, drinking in, go to the pub, midnight kayaking, watersports, wild life the list goes on.

We stayed in the boat house and were delighted to have a very friendly fox arrive out of the woods and almost eat out of our hands not something you get every day. Apart from the amazing views

I thought Paul was an absolute pleasure to deal with and Georgina was great craic.

This will be our wedding venue!

Thanks for a great weekend

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff02l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I don't normally write reviews but I had to after Inis Beg. Had an amazing weekend with my family here in Novemer 2012.
Great place if you all want to catch up. The woodland is amazing, having the river at your doorstep in the boat house was exceptional.

My main reason for the review was so that you don't get put off by one of the reviews on here about the staff being unfriendly about the parking etc. I was a little hesitant about the booking before hand entirely based on that review on trip advisor but you should just totally disregard it. Staff were friendlu and very curtious. I can't imagine you could find fault with this place, even at the height of winter.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baabaa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had the Lodge and a cottage for two nights and we had such a great time with my friends. Everything is huge, the kitchen, the living room, the rooms, and it's so nicely warm everywhere that we spent a lot of time inside ! You need to reserve a one hour slot to enjoy the swimming pool but that felt good.
We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

When my wife and I were planning a trip to the UK and Europe and looking on the internet for 'somewhere nice' to visit in the south of Ireland, we literally chanced on Inish Beg. I'm so glad we did. It's a beautiful place to be. We stayed in the Garden Retreat and were there for only three days before heading on to London. Next time we'll stay longer. We visited a lot of places on our five week trip and Inish Beg was one of the highlights.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bobcollier001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baltimore
3.1 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
3.5 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
11.7 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Stone House B&B
The Stone House B&B
#1 of 14 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.0 mi away
Channel View B&B
Channel View B&B
#3 of 14 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inish Beg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inish Beg

Property: Inish Beg
Address: Inish Beg, Baltimore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Baltimore
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inish Beg is a private island estate in beautiful West Cork Ireland -- just a few miles from the thriving market town of Skibbereen and the idyllic port of Baltimore with its sailing, fishing and diving centers.You will find five cottages , three houses and two apartments as well as an indoor swimming pool complex on the estate. There are 97 acres of stunning woodlands, parkland, farmland, gardens and foreshore in which to enjoy your self catering holidays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing