We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discourteous staff; tired and poorly cleaned”
Review of Inish Beg Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baltimore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inish Beg Estate
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Discourteous staff; tired and poorly cleaned”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

A two week family get together in the Boathouse on Inish Beg, supposedly your premier offering in that area of West Cork.

I arrived at 2.30pm and was told in no uncertain terms to go away as check in was at 4pm. My wife subsequently arrived at 3.55pm to be told that she was was too early to check in! She was also on the receiving end of a very ill-mannered interaction with a staff member. Needless to mention a pretty poor start to our vacation.

The Boathouse is really a fantastic potential location for a family vacation. But it is tired, poorly cleaned, damp (nothing that some heating would not fix) and the bed linen and towels are very poor standard for what is being sold as a premier location. The owners also asked us to bring our own towels if we wished to use the swimming pool! Faulty Towers, I'm afraid, with premium prices. I couldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GTunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    11
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

An incredible place- the grounds are stunning and a beautiful place to spend time. The pool is great and the whole experience is worth it. My only complaint was the size if the beds in the Gypsy Retreat - they're tiny - but it was still a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMacA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

August 4 2012

I rang yesterday to make an enquiry and was told there was nobody there to take my call and they would be back in 5 minutes

i gave it an hour and called back and was told didnt i tell you there was nobody here to take your call ?

apparently it was check in day and the person would only be available after 7 which was fine IF I WAS TOLD THIS !!!!!

SEEMS LIKE I INTERUPTED THEIR OLYMPICS VIEWING.

he had a last minute cancellation whichwas posted on twitter and his web site i could have filled it and he wanted top dollar rates???


need to work on talking to customers dude and get rid of who ever andwers the phone they are doing your business no service.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank johnbond_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enaek, Owner at Inish Beg Estate, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Although the TrpAdvisor rules prohibit personal insults and hearsay, they must not regard calling someone a dude as being insulting even though no owner, manager or employee would ever address a guest in such a manner.
We have 10 letting properties on the estate and during the summer our guests depart on a Saturday morning and it is all hands on deck to prepare for our new arrivals who check in from 4pm onwards. On Sunday to Friday we respond to calls as they are received but for Saturday it is the evening before we are able to call back.
To suggest that we might have been watching the Olympics rather than looking after our guests and potential customers is quite incorrect and pure hearsay.
Neither the reviewer or his family stayed in any of our properties in August as he claims.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Paul & Georgina ticked every box with inishbeg estate for a short self catering break for us and our two children aged 7 and 11. From arrival to (reluctant!) departure we had the most wonderful time. Simple pleasures sums it up for us .... Underfloor heating ....comfortable lodgings ....we stayed in the 2 bed courtyard cottage and enjoyed the open fire late into the evenings. Our girls loved their room which although not ensuite, did provide hand basin. Our room was bright and spacious with floor to ceiling windows looking out on the courtyard. The girls loved the indoor pool which can be prebooked for private use for approximately one hour each day. We have told so many how wonderful it is and look forward to booking our return visit soon. Melissa Hurley, Co Kerry, Ireland.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehlu1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcala la Real, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We have just returned from a 40th birthday celebration. We stayed in the Boathouse and the courtyard cottages. The island is so peaceful and a great place to chill out...shame we were there for only the weekend as we didn't get chance to explore as much as we wanted. Make sure you take a torch as it gets very dark at night! The Boathouse is lovely - there is one twin room upstairs but the stairs are tiny so make sure the people staying up there can manage them and there is only one bathroom to be shared amongst 6 unless you let them use the ensuite! We placed an order for food via Fields of Skibbereen and they provided everything we asked for BUT they choose all the expensive options and gave us 2 of everything if they were on 2 for 2€ when we only needed one therefore charging us alot more than we expected and we had to leave alot behind! I would recommend swinging by Lidl or costcutter on your way through Skibbereen. Also make sure you bring swimming hats (they do provide them but they are used ones!).All in all a great weekend!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanish_mummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Just back from a wonderful Easter break at Inish Beg. Stayed at the amazing Boathouse. It really was just as lovely as it looks in the pictures. The kitchen was fantastic to cook in and lazing around, looking at the river go by, was just heavenly. We had a day trip to Mizen Head (recommended by the owner, Paul Keane). It was fantastic. Some of our group headed off to Cape Clear, the rest of us stayed and took in walks around the estate, which is just beautiful.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Came back very relaxed afterwards. It really is a special place and a wonderful holiday. Being able to book the pool just for us is a real bonus - and it's a wonderful facility. I've noticed that I keep using the word wonderful in this review - really, it's the word that just springs to mind all of the time.

I would recommend another of Paul's suggestions - using Fields of Skibbereen (SuperValu) to order food in advance and have it delivered before you arrive. Very convenient and the order was spot on. Saved us carrying a lot in the car.

Had such a great time, can't wait to go back. Paul is a charming host, couldn't have been more amiable. We were delighted to go to Inish Beg and am sure we will be going again and for many years to come.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louholohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed in the boathouse for a weekend along with my family to celebrate my fathers 70th birthday recently. We all found the place to be wonderful. The boathouse is superbly finished and the bedrooms are gorgeous. The kitchen could use a few bigger pans but other than that is is well equipped. The surrounding gardens are also wonderful and clearly loving looked after. The young kids had a great time exploring the gardens and had a wonderful time in the heated pool.
We felt well looked after by the owners, and look forward to booking in for a stay again sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Stay in the boathouse, you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11sunny11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baltimore
2.9 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
3.6 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
461 reviews
3.0 mi away
Channel View B&B
Channel View B&B
#3 of 12 in Baltimore
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Stone House B&B
The Stone House B&B
#1 of 12 in Baltimore
106 reviews
3.9 mi away
Liss Ard Estate
Liss Ard Estate
#3 of 12 in Skibbereen
237 reviews
4.0 mi away
Atlantic House B&B
Atlantic House B&B
#3 of 3 in Castletownshend
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inish Beg Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inish Beg Estate

Property: Inish Beg Estate
Address: Baltimore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Baltimore
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inish Beg is a private island estate in beautiful West Cork Ireland -- just a few miles from the thriving market town of Skibbereen and the idyllic port of Baltimore with its sailing, fishing and diving centers.You will find five cottages, three houses and two apartments as well as an indoor swimming pool complex on the estate. There are 97 acres of stunning woodlands, parkland, farmland, gardens and foreshore in which to enjoy your self catering holidays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing