We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill Out”
Review of Inish Beg Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baltimore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inish Beg Estate
Alcala la Real, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chill Out”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We have just returned from a 40th birthday celebration. We stayed in the Boathouse and the courtyard cottages. The island is so peaceful and a great place to chill out...shame we were there for only the weekend as we didn't get chance to explore as much as we wanted. Make sure you take a torch as it gets very dark at night! The Boathouse is lovely - there is one twin room upstairs but the stairs are tiny so make sure the people staying up there can manage them and there is only one bathroom to be shared amongst 6 unless you let them use the ensuite! We placed an order for food via Fields of Skibbereen and they provided everything we asked for BUT they choose all the expensive options and gave us 2 of everything if they were on 2 for 2€ when we only needed one therefore charging us alot more than we expected and we had to leave alot behind! I would recommend swinging by Lidl or costcutter on your way through Skibbereen. Also make sure you bring swimming hats (they do provide them but they are used ones!).All in all a great weekend!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanish_mummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    11
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Just back from a wonderful Easter break at Inish Beg. Stayed at the amazing Boathouse. It really was just as lovely as it looks in the pictures. The kitchen was fantastic to cook in and lazing around, looking at the river go by, was just heavenly. We had a day trip to Mizen Head (recommended by the owner, Paul Keane). It was fantastic. Some of our group headed off to Cape Clear, the rest of us stayed and took in walks around the estate, which is just beautiful.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Came back very relaxed afterwards. It really is a special place and a wonderful holiday. Being able to book the pool just for us is a real bonus - and it's a wonderful facility. I've noticed that I keep using the word wonderful in this review - really, it's the word that just springs to mind all of the time.

I would recommend another of Paul's suggestions - using Fields of Skibbereen (SuperValu) to order food in advance and have it delivered before you arrive. Very convenient and the order was spot on. Saved us carrying a lot in the car.

Had such a great time, can't wait to go back. Paul is a charming host, couldn't have been more amiable. We were delighted to go to Inish Beg and am sure we will be going again and for many years to come.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louholohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed in the boathouse for a weekend along with my family to celebrate my fathers 70th birthday recently. We all found the place to be wonderful. The boathouse is superbly finished and the bedrooms are gorgeous. The kitchen could use a few bigger pans but other than that is is well equipped. The surrounding gardens are also wonderful and clearly loving looked after. The young kids had a great time exploring the gardens and had a wonderful time in the heated pool.
We felt well looked after by the owners, and look forward to booking in for a stay again sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Stay in the boathouse, you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11sunny11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Just returned from a short break staying in the Garden Retreat in Inis Beg and I can’t speak highly enough of the place and the people. It’s so unusual to be able to book a self catering house for just four nights and not be charged for a full week and to have firewood and electricity included in the price. It’s an ideal base to explore West Cork from and I would recommend it to anyone looking to get away from it all to recharge the batteries.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

stayed in courtyard cottages for 3 days and we were pleasantly surprised at how well spec'd and cosy the cottages were. we had slight issue with the heat but this was rectified. the grounds are amazing with farmland, estuary views, forest walks and gardens. Ten minutes to Skibbereen or Baltimore and a great base to see that part of west cork. highly recommend

Room Tip: cottage 5 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Thank you to Georgie and Paul for taking care of this beautiful part of Cork and for making it available to us. We walked and biked the estate during our four days and enjoyed the mysteries around every turn. We dined on food from the garden and we are returning to Dublin refreshed! It is indeed a bit of heaven we both look forward to coming back to again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Limerick
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Inisbeg is a beautiful estate. The cottage we stayed in was fantastic. We were so relaxed and the stars at night and peace was just unreal. The pool was lovely and my son and I didn't find it at all cold. The staff and owners of the estate were very helpful. We were blessed with the weather in April when we visited. The dogs are so friendly and ruby provided entertainment in the morning when she would be sitting outside our door step.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AquaMar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baltimore
2.9 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
3.6 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
474 reviews
11.8 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Channel View B&B
Channel View B&B
#3 of 12 in Baltimore
113 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Stone House B&B
The Stone House B&B
#2 of 12 in Baltimore
109 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 12 in Baltimore
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inish Beg Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inish Beg Estate

Property: Inish Beg Estate
Address: Baltimore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Baltimore
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inish Beg is a private island estate in beautiful West Cork Ireland -- just a few miles from the thriving market town of Skibbereen and the idyllic port of Baltimore with its sailing, fishing and diving centers.You will find five cottages, three houses and two apartments as well as an indoor swimming pool complex on the estate. There are 97 acres of stunning woodlands, parkland, farmland, gardens and foreshore in which to enjoy your self catering holidays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing