We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rianne and gerry are amazing hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stone House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stone House B&B
Ranked #1 of 14 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“rianne and gerry are amazing hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

I stayed there last weekend, I had arranged for a group of divers to go down. We were geeted on fri evening after a much shorter drive from dublin thanks to the new motorway it took about three and half hours with fab welcome and recommendation for dinner. After dinner we ended up in th B and B with Rianne and Gerry discussing our dive plans while enjoying a glass of wine, we were made feel as we were in our on home.
After a good nights sleep we woke up to the smell of fresh bread baking, there was juice fruit, selction of cereal and of course the cooked breakfast we had ordered. The Diving was superb On sat rianne and pru cooked us a lovely BBQ which we enjoed in the marquee in the garden.
The Stone house is a reall authentic B&B you are made feel very wlcome, the rooms were clean and have hand made quilts which I loved.
I wil definitely be back again. Baltimore is a great spot with loads of things to do.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
49
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

Just back from an absolutely fantastic long weekend in Baltimore that was made even more special by the outstanding treatment that we received from Rianne & Jerry. I can honestly say that we were treated like family rather than paying guests. The selection of options for breakfast, I have never seen anywhere else and the fresh bread is to die for. Some of the group weren't diving and they were given plenty of advice on what to see and do while we were busy underwater. If you are into a diving adventure weekend or a relaxed getaway then I would recommend this as your only stop in Baltimore.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShamMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

We traveled all over Ireland, and Rianne's warmth was among the top. She was generous, informative, and very friendly.

This helped to make up for some real problems with the room (our worst room in Ireland for the same price as others--35 euros each). The walls were paper thin, so we could hear everything going on below and beside our room. The plumbing had problems, so our sink made very loud belching and gurgling noises whenever anyone in the house used water, including when we were trying to sleep. We reported this when we first arrived, but nothing seemed to come of that. The dust on the bedside table was so thick that we could draw in it, and the building smelled a bit musty.

Baltimore is a nice little town, and Rianne directed us to a lighthouse walk that we enjoyed a lot. Alas, the Stone House has lost its view from all the buildings that have built up around it.

If I were rating on room alone, relative to the others we stayed in, I would have given it a one. However, Rianne's lovely way brings my rating up to a three. As for recommending it to a friend, I would tell them the pros and cons and let them decide.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wide-world-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHMS, Owner at The Stone House B&B, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments following a recent stay with us in The Stone House, Baltimore.

We are of course delighted that your review high-lighted some good points, and take into account your positive criticism (so that we may take appropriate action). Our rooms and halls are carpeted, which may not be to everyone's liking and we are considering installing wooden flooring. During your visit you kindly alerted us to a problem with sounds from the sink which has now been rectified.

From previous reviews you may have seen that the fresh home-baked breads, large choice for breakfast and personal involvement and time spent with our visitors is what brings people to our home (which is not a hotel, hence noice from other rooms does travel somewhat) but any comments are always welcome and we thank you for yours.

With kind regards
Rianne & Jerry Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

Hi, me and my boyfriend stayed in the Stone House this Easter. It was easy to find in Baltimore, with enough space for parking. Rianne gave us very warm welcome and was very helpful with directions, recommendations, restaurants, etc. Breakfast: there was everything you can imagine, from fresh fruit to full Irish breakfast. There was always a freshly baked bread on the table. We really liked "home" atmosphere of the B&B and morning smell of freshly baked bread. We had a very good time there and would come back anytime we are in Baltimore.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BratisalvaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

It is the third time I come to spend a night in the Stone House. I am fond of hillwalking. The owner of the Bed and Breakfast took time to give me some advice and information about the good walks all around Baltimore.
In the end, I was given a copy of a two maps to guide me!

Honestly, if you want to feel the real atmosphere of a Bed and Breakfast in Ireland, this is a must see!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldenburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

From 08.10. - 14.10.09 We have a beautiful holiday in the B & B Stonehouse spent in Baltimore. We had experienced a very warm reception by Jerry and Rianne Smith. Besides a fantastic breakfast with homemade bread and all sorts of other delicacies we had time and again top tips for excursions in the surroundings. It was also granted us a small insight into the art diving (scuba lessons with theory and practice) in the pool. Rooms and facilities are of good standard, beds are super! Environment, B & B, Weather: Everything fit! We will be happy to come back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benzin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed for 1 night over the weekend in august. This is a really great B&B. The breakfast is excellent, and the location is fantastic. It's across the road from the harbour hotel, and maybe a 4 or 5 minute walk from the actual dock in baltimore. They really couldn't do enough for us, recomending places to eat, giving us maps to great snorking locations, loads of information on the local area. It's very clean, and the showers are nice and hot. The breakfast has homemade bread, massive choice, all perfect.

Small niggle, the bed we stayed in (room 1) was an odd length, and my partners legs were dangling over the end of it. he is around 6ft tall. It made for a disturbed nights sleep as he struggled to get comfortable long enough to fall asleep. All the other bedrooms have normal sized beds I think though, as my friends were fine in their room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baltimore
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Channel View B&B
#3 of 14 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stone House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone House B&B

Property: The Stone House B&B
Address: Lifeboat Road | Cork, Baltimore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stone House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stone House B&B is located adjacent to Aquaventures Dive Centre in the small coastal village of Baltimore, West Cork. Four rooms with private bathrooms and power-showers, free WiFi and with plenty of parking. Renowned for home-baked breads, home-made jams, marmalade and yoghurts. Special diets such as wheat or dairy free produce and choice of fish, full fry, vegan or vegetarian options. Special rates for groups and those booking diving, snorkelling or whale-watching trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Stone House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing