We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out”

Doneraile Wildlife Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Doneraile
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

A great day out for families all year round. It has wild red deer, Birds (herons, swans, ducks, etc) and as you walk along the river bank and cross over the several foot bridges you can actually see Trout swimming. The park has several walks all accessible for people with walking difficulties and even wheelchairs.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank foodcritic20110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    19
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“New tea Rooms open now”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Run by the state. It's a mini national park with a big old house situated at the top. Nice walks, plenty deer and a pleasant place to be on a sunny day. Free admission.

Helpful?
6 Thank BillfromCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful but spoiled by dogs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a lovely park with red deer, swans, ducks and other wildlife - it has a great kids playground which is enclosed by a fence and clean and I enjoy taking my child there. However, irresponsible dog owners use this beauty spot as a dogs lavatory. On my last visit we parked and stepped onto the grass to open the boot and just avoided a big pile of dog faeces, as we walked further along the path there was another huge pile right in the middle of the road, further along there was a little girl waiting for her dad to catch up and she was jumping around unknowingly in another pile which was also on the path. Having walked on the lawns its the same situation, you see kids running around on the grass and there is dog faeces around. Many dogs are running around off the leads. I am a dog lover but its such a shame that irresponisble people like this let their dogs do their business all over and dont pick it up. Apart from the play area I would not let my child run on the grass or let go of their hand in doneraile park. Millstreet park is better for children as dogs are not allowed in the central area and you can just let them off and know they are safe and its clean. The tearooms at doneraile are a nice bonus.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Frances4249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

very family friendly, lots of walks for all fitness levels, has red deer and other animals, historical house attached to the gardens, great place for a visit

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank tattoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun for families and couples.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Doneraile has a brilliant playground for kids to pre-teens. There's picnic areas, several walking routes with different levels of difficulty, and a new café where you can sit indoors or outside on a dry day. We love watching the deer that live there.

Helpful?
2 Thank LornaWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doneraile Wildlife Park also viewed

Doneraile, County Cork
Kinsale, County Cork
 
Glengarriff, County Cork
 

Been to Doneraile Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing