We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable, best B&B yet!!”
Review of Knockeven House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockeven House
Ranked #1 of 13 Cobh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Unbelievable, best B&B yet!!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We have been in a lot of beautiful hotels around the world over the years, but this place is up with the very best of them.

Pamela and John were just the best hosts, tea and scones to start our stay and even a large glass of wine and lovely chat to end the night...

It's an old 1800's house restored to perfection..old but so warm and inviting.

The five guest rooms were just unreal, old style, warm and luxurious to the last.

Breakfast was equally as perfect, full Irish and everything else besides!

Set on lovely secluded grounds about a mile from Cobh.

I could not recommend this beautiful guest house enough, and that comes from fussy travellers!

Thanks to Pam and John for a wonderful stay..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    25
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
131
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Thanks to Pam & John for a lovely stay & Pam, you're a great cook! Rooms are large & luxurious and the welcoming scones are beaut! A nice 20 min walk into town isn't difficult ang provides various dining choices.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at Knockeven House for just a single night. It was a lovely home and I would have loved to stay longer. The house and the rooms themselves were huge. We had a front upper room and I can just imagine the view when it was built, before the trees grew in. You would have been able to see all the way to the river. The home was done in period furnishings with new marble bathrooms. Even thought the house was huge still had a cozy feel.
Pam and her husband were lovely, she even drove us to town because of the parking situation. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaMa_C52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and I spent one night at the Knockeven House during our weeklong tour of Ireland in July. It was a perfect B&B experience, and our nicest accommodations in Ireland! Upon our arrival, we were greeted warmly by Pam, who showed us to our lovely, spacious room and then invited us downstairs for excellent coffee and scones, and joined us for some friendly conversation. She then volunteered to drive us into town, where she showed us the magnificent cathedral, where to park for free for the museum, and dropped us off for dinner (Gilbert's, highly recommended). The next morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast and received some helpful recommendations from Pam about our next destination, County Kerry before leaving with regret. Knockeven is a fantastic place I hope to return to someday, A+!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IntotheWoods22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Level 6 Contributor
682 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Knockeven House for just a single (unfortunately) night while traveling Ireland by car in June. I say unfortunately because I wish it could have been longer. The accommodations were spot on, the location was terrific and Pam was the perfect host. Nothing but good memories here. We highly recommend the Knockeven House. Thanks, Pam!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tupelo010835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had eleven people ages 9-70 in our family's party and Miss Pam took great care of us all! Our reservations were all promptly taken care of via several emails. Pam is a delightful woman and easy to work with. Her beautiful home in Cobh is just a few minutes from town and is absolutely lovely. It is clean, well-kept, nicely appointed and Pam is a fantastic cook. The en-suites are very large and personalized. Pam welcomed us into the formal living room upon our arrival and offered us tea, coffee, scones. She also took the time to find out what types of attractions we wanted to visit and offered suggestions for sight seeing and dinner. We had delicious made-to-order hot breakfasts the following morning before departing. Great experience for our entire family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purdue93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had 6 people travelling together, representing three generations of my family. When we arrived, we were offered tea after we had settled in, and it was lovely. This was something I missed at the various B&Bs during this trip to Ireland, but it may have been partly because we were arriving late so often. Pam could not have been more hospitable, and friendly! She gave us recommendations for dinner and St. Coleman's for Mass, but we didn't make it to Mass on time. It is a beautiful cathedral, though!

My husband and I shared our room with our son, and Pam said she could just move another bed in for him while we were at dinner, When we returned, there was a beautiful bed all made up, nicer than his bed at home, and I couldn't imagine how she just "moved" that in!

Pam was very friendly and made us all feel like old friends staying over. As others have mentioned, the breakfast was delicious, and her scones were brilliant as well. We really enjoyed Knockeven House!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
663 reviews
Commodore Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cobh
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockeven House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockeven House

Property: Knockeven House
Address: | Rushbrooke, Cobh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cobh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Knockeven House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing