We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cobh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2006

We stayed at the Bella Vista for 2 nights during a short break to SW Ireland w/ my husband, son, and my parents. Upon ringing the Bella Vista to enquire about room availability, the very helpful woman on reception suggested we book the family room. This had a separate entrance (just across from the main hotel entrance) and consisted of 2 large bedrooms, bathroom, kitchenette, and conservatory/sitting/dining area. It was perfect for our needs - very comfortable and nice to have the sitting area w/ view of the harbour for us all to gather. One evening we ordered from the Chinese restaurant adjacent to the hotel - the staff served us in our room, and came back later to clear away - very nice service, and great food too! Breakfasts adequate - continental options and 'full Irish' available. I would highly recommend the Bella Vista. If you are traveling with a family or a group comfortable w/ sharing - request the family room.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stephl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 868 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2006

Only slightly above average mainly because of Cobh itself - a run down town in need of drastic investment. Was ideal for our group of golfers as the hotel was used as a base for the 5 days we were there. The rooms were surprisingly large and very clean, some with excellent views out over the water. The staff were very accommodating and the service at breakfast good. Breakfasts were tasty but portions small. The bar was a definite plus and a great place to unwnd and relax of an evening. Those of our party who dined in the Chinese restaurant which is part of the hotel were really impressed and as a result would recommend this option for dining. As you come to expect in Ireland everyone was exceptionally friendly and helpful especially in the pubs.
Now the downside - eating out is an absolute disaster. The fish and chip shop on the front was awful and they have a cheek providing customers with a plastic fork when something more akin to a hammer is needed to break through twice fried batter - 2 out of 10 only I'm afraid. Even worse is the Indian restaurant which is without doubt the worst we have been to anywhere. Some food had to be returned and some was just not edible. 0 out of 10. The Trade Winds, again on the sea front, got mixed reviews from our group - average quality food but small portion was the consensus here.
A suggestion for guaranteed good quality food is any Golf Club in Ireland where anyone including non members are usually welcome.
Overall a very pleasant stay and accommodation we would probably return to.

5  Thank carliol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2006

We had a lovely visit to this hotel for one night just after New Year 2005. We were on a 'Road Trip' of Ireland and just walked in on the off chance.

The room we had was incredible. It was huge with a large window and window seat overlooking the harbour. We had a gorgeous bathroom with a scroll top bath and an enourmous antique wooden canopy bed that you just drowned in.We even had our own telescope and fireplace (not in use).

The service was pleasant and we paid about £80 B & B. On the subject of breakfast, this was a little dissapointing. Instead of sitting in the lovely conservatory we were all squashed up in the dark and boiling hot bar area. Hopefully they don't always do this.

I would deffinitley stay again if I went back to Cobh.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hotelnutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2005

This is our second time we have stayed at this hotel and just love it. The hotel sits on top of the hill a few blocks from the Cathedral.

The staff is frendly and very helpful. The rooms vary is size and not all have a view of the harbor but both times we have stayed we were given a room on the main floor that was large, clean and had a wonderful view.

Breakfast is included in the rate (45 Euro per person sharing) and there is free parking on site.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WAStateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Armando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer Nr. 15 sollte vermieden werden, keine Aussicht, sehr laut, Gerüche von der Küche.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellaVista Hote... C, receptionjst at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cobh
696 reviews
Commodore Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cobh
537 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites

Address: Bishop's Road | Spy Hill, Cobh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range: $100 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as its name indicates, the Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites offers a choice of accommodations: Whether you choose one of the traditional guest rooms or a more spacious apartment, you will be treated to excellent service and quality amenities.On the property are such world-class facilities as a gourmet restaurant with a lovely bar. complimentary WiFi Internet access and private parking also come standard at this holiday destination.These and other excellent perks are located in the heart of picture-perfect Cobh, County Cork. The peaceful harbor town is full of unique landmarks and acres of untouched majesty. The sights and sounds of the bustling town centre are a 3-minute walk away, and the residential street on which the hotel stands is tranquil. Here, guests are invited to let the cares of daily life slip away while they unwind in beauty and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel And Self Catering Suites
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Cobh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing