We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsurpassed Hospitality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have to say that the staff at this establishment are extremely helpful. I found my room to be spotless. The craic in the bar was great and the Breakfast was outstanding. It was lovely to enjoy the view of Cobh harbour over a pint of Murphy's Stout, served at it's best.

Kevin Murphy is an excellent host and if you fancy a bit of Angling, you are in the right place. The Bella Vista has boat rod and boats for hire and a party of four will find great value and entertainment.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but a sea view is very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Receptionist at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Hi Patrick,

Thanks for visiting tripadvisor and taking the time to leave us a review. Glad to hear you had a great stay and that you found our staff so accommodating! your comments have been passed onto our team.

Hope to see you again for another stay in the wonderful Cobh. The murphys will be waiting, poured to perfection as always!

Warm Regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 834 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

I can not compare the Bellavista to any other hotel in Cobh as its the only place I stay and its probably 10 years now. In that time the hotel has structurally changed for the better the welcome, comfort and staff remain as ever warm & friendly.
There is ample car parking for those who arrive by car, a well stocked comfortable Bar with plenty of seating inside and out & a Good Chinese Restaurant (and I go the Manchesters China Town a lot) on sight with the bonus if like us you are tired and hungry you can get a 'takeaway' and have it in your room with a Murphys from the bar, they will also cook your catch for the fishermen who stay and there is nothing better than fresh caught Cod, Bass and even Mackerel cooked to perfection by the restaurant, from hook to plate inside 3 hours.
To date I have stayed in a total of 6 differant rooms and suites, they are all to the same high standard comfort wise but the cooks amongst you may want to pack your own kitchen knives, in common with lots of self catering suites anywhere the kitchen knives take some abuse.
Lastly if you are a sea fisherman then this is a holiday of a lifetime but you can do it every year! Everything is here. Superb self drive boats & ackle but best of all the fish, Cod, Bass, Conger, Ling, Rays, Pollock, Haddock. Most can be caught within the harbour which is only second the Sydney harbour in size ( the Titanic docked here on its way to meet the iceberg) where no matter what the wind does its usually fishable. Outside the harbour using the navigation you can fish the wrecks and reefs and land the big stuff and only a couple of hours from the dock.
Kevin Murphy the owner is a manic fisherman who just happens to own a hotel he will do everything he can to ensure you get what you want out of your holiday whether it be a nice quite comfortable relaxing holiday or a 12lb hard fighting Atlantic Sea Bass. Give it a try you will not regret it.

Room Tip: If you are with friends consider a suite, the kitchen and dining room are a good addition
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ericeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Bella Vista for 3 nights and could not fault it in any way from the moment we walked through the door till the minute we left we felt right at home all the staff are magnificent they will do anything they can to make your stay PERFECT. All the Guests were brilliant too Everyone was so Friendly and helpfull, and a very Special thanks to all the Bar Staff (they certainly had there work cut out and worked some very long hours, due to all the partying until early morning)The food was all 1st Class We wish we could get a delivery to Sunderland :-)
WE WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK again in a few months
All the best Rob & Jean

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Receptionist at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Robert

Thanks for taking the time to come on and leave us a review, it is very much appreciated! I have passed on your thanks and regards to our bar staff, and I'm sure they enjoyed serving you and helping you to have an enjoyable stay (even if it was in the early hours of the morning! :) )
Although our restaurant do have a takeaway delivery system in place I'm not sure if it stretches to Sunderland(yet anyway ! haha).

We are delighted you had such a pleasant stay with us. Hope to welcome you back to the Bellavista again soon!
Warmest Regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Travelled to Cobh for my brother in law 60th birthday party,which was held in the Bella Vista.We had booked the room on line for my wife and I but we turned up with our 14 year old grand daughter. Was that a problem for the Bella Vista ? not at all, theycould not have been more helpfull. If you are going to Cobh stay here. Rooms very good , food perfect, staff fantastic,location ideal.Thanks to all at the Bella Vista.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Receptionist at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear David,

Thanks for taking the time to visit Tripadvisor and leave us a review. Glad your wife, granddaughter and yourself enjoyed both your stay and your brother-in-law's party.
We hope you got some time to enjoy the lovely harbour views our little sea-town offers and its many different sites and attractions.
Hope to see you again in the near future
Kind Regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Highly recommend, rooms where clean and had all basic facilities. The staff are very helpful and it's a well run family business. The fishing was fabulous and it was just a great get away for a girls weekend. Highly recommend to women that enjoy the outdoors. Look forward to my next visit .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fishing25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Receptionist at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time for leaving such a positive review, we really appreciate it!. Delighted to hear your positive comments regarding our rooms. Bellavista is a family room business, which does its best to make the hotel feel like a home for all of our guests whether they're staying for a day, week or even a month!
Glad to hear you had a great time fishing I hope the fish were biting!.
You are looking forward to your next visit, and we're looking forward to having you!!

Kind Regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

What a place to stay. We had a surprise 60th birthday here with lots of family staying too. Food was outstanding, staff couldn't do enough and room amazing. Thank you to Kevin and all his staff.I would rate this place 5++ Lynsey

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1lynsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Receptionist at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Hello Lynsey,

Thanks for leaving such a great review!. We are so happy your dad enjoyed his surprise and we hope that we did everything we could to make organising such a special night a painless experience. Your comments about the food have been passed on to our kitchen staff and chefs.
It was our pleasure to be a part of your dads special occasion and hopefully we will see you again in the future!

Warm Regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was the third time we went to Cobh and the third time we stayed at the Bella Vista Hotel.
The hotel was great, staff was very nice and the fishing was perfect. Went out shark-fishing with the new Bella Vista charter boat and guide Trevor. Caught 8 sharks in one day. Biggest was 2m10 and 180 pounds.
Bar is cosy and the beer is good. What else do you need?
Definitely coming back again!

Room Tip: During the summer suite 5 can be quite warm. That's not a problem. Just ask the hotel to give yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Receptionist at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Rob,

Delighted you had yet another great stay with us here at The Bellavista. We always try to make sure our guests get that special "home from home" treatment and its great to hear this time was no exception!.
Eight sharks! wow, bet thats a fishing trip for the memory books!. I will certainly pass on your regards to Trevor who will be delighted to hear from you.
Hope to see you for a fantastic fourth experience!
Kind Regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
684 reviews
Commodore Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cobh
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,215 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites

Address: Bishop's Road | Spy Hill, Cobh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range: $89 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as its name indicates, the Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites offers a choice of accommodations: Whether you choose one of the traditional guest rooms or a more spacious apartment, you will be treated to excellent service and quality amenities.On the property are such world-class facilities as a gourmet restaurant with a lovely bar. complimentary WiFi Internet access and private parking also come standard at this holiday destination.These and other excellent perks are located in the heart of picture-perfect Cobh, County Cork. The peaceful harbor town is full of unique landmarks and acres of untouched majesty. The sights and sounds of the bustling town centre are a 3-minute walk away, and the residential street on which the hotel stands is tranquil. Here, guests are invited to let the cares of daily life slip away while they unwind in beauty and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Cobh
Bella Vista Hotel And Self Catering Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing