We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A little treasure"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"A little treasure"”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Booked Harleys guest house for our chosen date but got moved to Bella vista hotel. Was a bit worried as its rated a 2 star hotel but was I ever wrong for being worried. We checked into room no.2. Its a beautiful room with fantastic views. My mam and daughter had a huge room upstairs with an equally good view. Very clean. Linen was snow white. Had a cuppa and homemade buns and biscuits by a lovely open fire after checking in. Ate out on the night but rushed back to the open fire in the bar and had a copious amount of wine. We chatted to the owner as if we knew him forever. Fantastic host. The breakfast was well presented, good choice of cereal etc. Nice choice of cooked brekkie too. Why not 3 stars???? If we are in cobh during the summer we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Hello
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is very important to us that our guest enjoy their time spent in the Bellavista. We are glad that you were happily surprised by the rooms and service. We are very lucky to have such lovely views and we are glad that you got to enjoy them. I will pass on your lovely comments to Kevin the owner. We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Aisling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    173
    33
    13
    17
See reviews for
267
266
32
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Family run value hotel. Kevin and his wife go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Will never win any prizes for decor but a good location, good food, nice bar with open fire and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sootnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Owner at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and kind comments, Bellavista Hotel and Self Catering Suites currently have 8 rooms under a full make over at present and I am sure you will be well impressed with the results, when these are completed we will start on phase 2. Please do let us know if you plan a return visit and we will ensure we give you one of our newly appointed rooms, or one of our suites overlooking the Harbour. Once again thank you for your review we are constantly trying to improve our standards for our guests. Thank you.
Kevin Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I'll keep this brief. Stayed a few months ago and going back on the 14th and 15th of this month. Lovely, lovely place, staff were great, the little bar was so cute and warm and the Chinese next door was handy for a quick bite before heading up to The Roaring Donkey for a bit of trad. That's about it, really!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanfetton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Hello Joan,
We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on our hotel. It’s lovely to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. It is very important to us that we make each guests’ stay a great one. We are very pleased to hear that you will be returning again soon and we look forward to seeing you.

Kind Regards,
Aisling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

What a lovely little hotel filled with amazingly helpful staff. My Wife and I spent a weekend here in Jan 2014 and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were warm, friendly and genuine at every opportunity. Good breakfast, good Chinese restaurant in the hotel, nice room and lovely views over the harbour. If we are ever in this area of Ireland again we would visit the Bella Vista again. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasterCornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Hello Ashleigh,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent at Bellavista. I will pass on your lovely comments to the other members of staff. It’s great to know that you enjoyed the breakfast and Chinese food. We hope that you had a nice meal in the restaurant we suggested. We would be delighted to have you and your wife stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Aisling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Recently stayed at the Bella Vista Hotel in Cobh with my husband and I'm pretty sure I won't be returning. The only good thing about this hotel was the beautiful sea views. On arrival we were standing around waiting for a member of staff to check us in. Eventually, they came along and greeted us but no apology for keeping us waiting. Our room was dated and very basic and definitely not what I expected from the description of my booking which was a deluxe room. Heating was turned on in our room by staff member who brought us to the room, maybe this is something that should be done before we arrived. Just felt that the hotel could do with a good cleaning and a paint job. Breakfast area was dated, the same as the rooms. The full Irish breakfast was poor and the toast was awful. However, there was a good selection for breakfast:- brown bread, scones, fruit, juices, then the hot options also. Won't be staying here again, maybe the owners should rename the rooms taking out the word deluxe!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pegle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Owner at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, I do indeed clearly remember you at check in, IT WAS 14.25PM I was at reception with our IT Engineer, SORTING OUT A WI/FI PROBLEM. Our receptionist was in the bathroom, I DID INDEED CONVERSE WITH YOU BUT JUST ASSUMED AFTER YOUR JOURNEY YOU WERE TIRED. I do apologise if you were kept waiting but we checked you in and my receptionist politely asked you to take a seat in the Bar, as our other STAFF MEMBER HAD THE ROOM KEYS, UPDATING GUEST INFORMATION PACKS AND INDEED YES CHECKING IF HOUSEKEEPING HAD TURNED ON YOUR HEATING FOR YOUR ARRIVAL. WHEN YOU WENT TO THE ROOM, ROOM NUMBER 10, WHICH HAS JUST HAD A COMPLETE NEW BATHROOM FIT OUT, WITH A LARGE WALK IN SHOWER, YOU RANG RECEPTION AND SAID YOU WANTED A ROOM WITH A BATH, THIS WAS NOT SPECIFIED AT TIME OF BOOKING.MY RECEPTIONIST IMMEDIATELY UPGRADED YOU TO A 1 BEDROOM SUITE ALSO OVERLOOKING CORK HARBOUR, A MODERN BRIGHT SPACIOUS ROOM WITH A FULL GLASS FRONT AT NO EXTRA CHARGE TO YOU AND YOUR Husband. We have just had our annual review and have been complimented on the upgrade work we have done and are doing. We are a two star property and , family owned and managed and we try our best to ensure our guests are happy. Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast selection.
Bellavista Hotel Cobh and Self Catering Suites are committed to providing a positive experience for all our guests, we take all comments and feedback on board and where possible we will implement change. I thank you for your comments and time.
Warm regards
Kevin Murphy
Should you wish to speak with me I would be delighted .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Couldn't have found a better located and friendly hotel, the rooms were great, brilliant friendly staff, food good, guinness fabulous. Easy to find, and sad to leave. Great value for money. Room had all you needed - four poster bed, good sized tv, clean ensuite with nice size shower, separate room with cooking facilities and sofa plus balcony with table and chairs.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on ground floor as both wife and I have trouble with stairs, and you can be luck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Owner at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your really nice comments, I have passed all your feedback on to our Housekeeping staff and kitchen staff. We do try to offer good value for money and thank you for recognizing that. We are currently refurbishing a number of rooms and would love to welcome you back again in the near future, all our repeat guests get a discount on rebooking. Many Thanks, I hope you have a wonderful 2014, from the Team at Bellavista Hotel Cobh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Just left this pleasant hotel, 6 of us stayed in Suite 4 which was huge, well laid out and equipped. Staff were lovely, very pleasant and laid back. We ate twice in the Chinese which was one of the best Chinese meals I've had for a long time, the bar area was really nice especially with the open fire, the bar staff were great too. I'm very picky when it comes to staying away from home but based on what this little gem cost us you really can't go wrong!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Swifty777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Hello,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Here at The Bellavista Hotel it is very important to us that our guests enjoy their stay. It is great to hear that you did. I will pass on your lovely comments to the rest of the staff. We are lucky to have such a nice Chinese restaurant and cosy bar we’re glad you got to experience them. We hope that we will see you again.

Kind Regards,
Aisling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
663 reviews
Commodore Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cobh
478 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,462 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites

Property: Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Address: Bishop's Road | Spy Hill, Cobh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as its name indicates, the Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites offers a choice of accommodations: Whether you choose one of the traditional guest rooms or a more spacious apartment, you will be treated to excellent service and quality amenities.On the property are such world-class facilities as a gourmet restaurant with a lovely bar. complimentary WiFi Internet access and private parking also come standard at this holiday destination.These and other excellent perks are located in the heart of picture-perfect Cobh, County Cork. The peaceful harbor town is full of unique landmarks and acres of untouched majesty. The sights and sounds of the bustling town centre are a 3-minute walk away, and the residential street on which the hotel stands is tranquil. Here, guests are invited to let the cares of daily life slip away while they unwind in beauty and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel And Self Catering Suites
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Cobh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing