We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bella Vista” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Bella Vista”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

'well after a long trek from the Airport trying to do it ourselves we were pleasantly surprised at the size of Bella Vista, the history of the building made this trip more interesting. The welcome was excellent some refreshments made available immediately on arrival although we were two hours early. The position overlooking the sea and the catherdral was spectacular. The noise from the big bell from the cathedral clock reminded us what time it was and gave us something to complain to each other about, we wouldnt be English if we didnt. eventually we forgot it was there. The rooms were very well positioned the beds very comfortable, shower was excellent size.only critiscim was the kettle lead was too short and could be dangerous, the bathroom door had a terrible squeak and some folk get up several times in the night. The only meal available in the evening was Chinese in the hotel and Im afraid it was rather pricey, if one wanted to eat other than that there was a long trek to the local restaurants, a car is needed if you are of a frail nature. Fishing trips and golf can be obtained from the hotel, there is a free wifi computer to use. Overall excellent holiday.

Room Tip: I suggest the top floor, so no noise from the neighbours, or ground if you are disabled. Facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pollh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent holiday here with us. Thank you for your feedback on the kettle lead and bathroom door we will certainly rectify this for future guests. We are happy that you enjoyed the facilities in the Hotel; we would love to welcome you back again.
Kind Regards,
Aisling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    166
    32
    13
    17
See reviews for
235
250
27
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel has a very good and quiet location in the hillside, facing to the Atlantic ocean. The rooms are comfortably big, we had two terraces, three bathrooms in our appartment. We cooked every day for ourselves, and we were satisfied with the kitchen and the dining room.
We got fresh towels every day, the bathrooms were nice and clean, and comfortable. There were enough parking places in front of the houses. Cobh is a beautiful and lovely town, and the hotel is just five minutes walk from the center. There are smaller shops right in the next street to buy food, and there are large supermarkets at the end of the town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello Antal,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very lucky here to have such great location. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience. I will pass on your nice comments to the management. We hope that you will keep us in mind if you visit Cobh in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Aisling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

A group of us have been staying at the Bellavista for a weeks holiday for about 6 years now, the big draw for us is that we can get a package that includes a suite for our group for 6 and two self drive boats for fishing and all at a reasonable price, so if you like your Bass Fishing then you will not do better than visit the Bellavista. The owner Kevin Murphy is a fanatical Bass Fisherman and will do everything within his powers to ensure you enjoy your fishing. The boats and engines are first class with all the equipment needed and required and if you dont have tackle then he will loan it for a small charge.
Its not just about the fishing though, the hotel itself is very comfortable, with a variety of rooms from singles to suites sleeping up to 8 with very nicely furnished lounges and kitchens. For those arriving by car there is a large car park.
The restaurant on site serves Chinese food of a good standard and for a cover charge will on request cook your catch. The adjacent bar is well stocked with the old bar warmed by a roaring fire in the winter while the extension is very modern with great views over the town and harbour.
I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel and Cobh as a fishing paradise but also for anyone esle who wishes to visit Cobh.
The staff are faultless and nothing is a problem and we can not wait until we return and we will return for a trip every year until we are no more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Kevin will be delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and the fishing once again. I agree that we are very lucky here to have such great location, staff and facilities. The staff will be thrilled to be described as “faultless” and I will certainly pass on your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon with a cosy fire and warm welcome waiting for you.

Kindest Regards,
Aisling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were looking for accommodation for initially one night but it turned into 2. We were allocated a room on the top floor which required climbing 2 levels of stairs. No lift is available. The room was spacious and included all necessary features for this standard of accommodation. The information booklet contains a significant amount of information including a history of the town. It would be beneficial if a map of the town was made available to guests upon their arrival. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Standard of breakfast was very good. Would not have any trouble staying at the hotel again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank parkyposs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you liked your room. I agree that the room folders have a lot of useful information in them. I am sorry to hear that you didn’t receive a map on arrival as they are on the reception desk. I will certainly make sure that they are pointed out to guest in future. I will pass on your good comments about breakfast to the kitchen staff. Please keep us in mind if you return to Cobh.

Kind Regards,
Aisling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Friendly staff and comfortable suite for 4 people. Good to have a self-catering option, though the facilities are fine (if you like Chinese food!). A pleasant change to find a hotel with good outdoor smoking areas. Cobh has a fascinating history and still has comings and goings in the harbour - though you do need good leg muscles. It's very hilly. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffy1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very lucky to have such good facilities here at The Bellavista Hotel. We are delighted to hear your nice comments about the smoking area. Yes I agree that Cobh is very hilly but to get the best view to have to go to the top. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Aisling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

we had a great bank holiday weekend with kevin and his staff. they could not do more to help as we stayed with friends that were here as part of the gathering we were all very impressed with this place.it was our first visit to cobh but it will not be our last and we will stay here without a doubt.thanks to all

Room Tip: we had a great bank holiday weekend with kevin and the staff they could not have done more for us an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phyllisbehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello Phyllis,

Thank you very much for such a kind review and thank you also for taking the time to write it. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay here in Bellavista and that your friends also enjoyed their trip to Ireland. We would love to welcome to back again.

Kind Regards,
Aisling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

we had one of the 2 bedroom suite,other family members had the 4 bedroom suite, nothing to much trouble for the staff very friendly, their were slides for the kids in the 4 bedroom, lovely bar and chinese,location very close to the harbour, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellavistaCobh, Guest Relations Manager at Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hello Mags,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, your feedback is very important to us. It’s great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Bellavista. We would be delighted to welcome you back again.
Kind Regards,
Aisling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Commodore Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cobh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites

Property: Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Address: Bishop's Road | Spy Hill, Cobh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as its name indicates, the Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites offers a choice of accommodations: Whether you choose one of the traditional guest rooms or a more spacious apartment, you will be treated to excellent service and quality amenities.On the property are such world-class facilities as a gourmet restaurant with a lovely bar. complimentary WiFi Internet access and private parking also come standard at this holiday destination.These and other excellent perks are located in the heart of picture-perfect Cobh, County Cork. The peaceful harbor town is full of unique landmarks and acres of untouched majesty. The sights and sounds of the bustling town centre are a 3-minute walk away, and the residential street on which the hotel stands is tranquil. Here, guests are invited to let the cares of daily life slip away while they unwind in beauty and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Cobh
Bella Vista Hotel And Self Catering Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing