We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodging o.k. Restaurant weak”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2008

The reservation program for this hotel does not give you any options to contact the hotel and find out exactly what the rooms are like. I booked 2 rooms (1 with 3 beds , 1 with 1 bed). We were given a couple of options by the front desk manager. Thankfully we did not have to take the rooms that were originally reserved. Ugh! Some areas havie long closed in hallways to rooms that make you feel like you are in a dormitory. They have long term residents that live here which may be a better use of this old house. .

We selected to stay in an added portion of the hotel which was an apartment with 2 huge bedrooms (6 Beds total) each with their own bathroom, a full kitchen and tv/family room in a large sun room setting, for the original rate of $45 Euros each. The TV was a 48" LCD with cable. Haven't watched TV in 10 days! It was nice! The towels were very small motel 6 type towels with little soaps. The shower was one of the best says my sister. I did not try it. . The beds were very tired and had saggy mattresses. The decor was very dated and who knows when the bedspreads had been replaced.

The people above us were moving furniture across the floor (wooden floors) for 2 hours...thankfully they stopped at 10pm.along with the church bells. Which ring every 1/2 hour until 10pm.

They have a Chinese Restaurant onsite. They were doing a killer take out business. We tested it with Fried Won Ton appetizers which seemed o.k. but for the main meal the quality of food was poor. One of the items, ribs with many different sauces was just ribs with some cold sauce of choice poured on them. The prawns had so much red sauce on them you couldn't even taste the prawn. Maybe in Ireland that was good Chinese...not for me. The chow mein was not edible.

The breakfast was tothing to write home about and there was only 1 other party having breakfast, except for a group of construction workers who lived there. They seemed to get pretty good service.

The bar has a good selection of beers and liquor. They do quite a business. Expensive tho.

The view was fantastic!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LaurieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 861 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2008

I stayed at the Bella Vista over the Easter weekend. We were pleased to realise on alighting from the train that the hotel was only a five minute walk up the road. However it is up hill, which isn't quite as much fun with luggage so be warned! This is the situation with much of Cobh and its accomodations due to the town's geography. On arrival at the Bella Vista our room wasn't quite ready, but we were more than happy to wait in the hotel bar - a very cosy little room with a real fire and a full bar.

We'd requested a quiet room and the receptionist (who was at all times terribly helpful and polite) told us that we'd actually been given one of the quietest rooms, right up at the top of the house, in what would I suppose years ago have been the servants quarters. Our fabulous room had stunning views of Cobh and the harbour, and was extremely spacious and comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was also very large, modern, clean and bright. The only downside to this marvellous room was that its floor seemed to slope slightly downwards, so putting a glass on the bedside locker wasn't really an option! The room was also up a couple of flights of stairs (no lift), so possibly wouldn't be suitable for anyone who has mobility problems. But for the young and fit it was a delightful and romantic room.

Our reasonable rate was inclusive of breakfast, and you could choose from a full Irish, or a selection of cereals, bread and scones. The breakfast was tasty, but lacked any continental breakfast option - some croissants or pastries would also have been nice.

There is also a Chinese restaurant in the hotel, with an extensive menu. We ate there on our first night, and everything was delicious. They do describe the restaurant as a Chinese and European restaurant, but in fact there are only about 5 European dishes on the menu, and these are mostly omelettes.

In summary, I would highly recommend the Bella Vista, if you want a cosy hotel with a real Irish welcome, very close to the heart of Cobh.

The only flaws:
The beauty salon/hairdressers at the hotel never seemed to be open or to answer the phone. However there are a number of hairdressers and salons in Cobh but you do need to book ahead.
While the usual daytime receptionist was extremely courteous and professional, one of the night porters was unhelpful one evening when I requested my room key and it couldn't be found. He insinuated that I had lost it myself, even after I described handing it in that morning. He gave me a spare key, but was a little unpleasant about the situation.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheSnakeCharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2008

We hit the pubs in Cohb and decided not to drive back to Cork. A local gentleman directed us to the Bella Vista House Hotel. It is a house that has been transformed into a hotel.
The house has quite a little history behind it. It was built in 1845 by Dr. James Roche Verling. (He was personal physician to Napoleon Bonaparte from 1818-1820.) I won't go into the rest of the history, but it is quite interesting.
The current owner, Kevin Murphy has done a wonderful job bringing the hotel to it's current glory. It is most obviously a labor of love.
We stayed in room 10. (3rd floor with a harbourview.) The room is in a former attic space. The space has been used well. The bathroom is rather large and offers tremendous water pressure.
The dormer window offers a harbor and cathedral view. Lovely.
The staff could not have been nicer. We had a long chat with the owner (Mr. Murphy). He has great stories. Definitely corner him for a chat!
The word that would best describe the Bella Vista is character. She has warmth and charm. And someone is always singing somewhere.
Enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

We arrived in Cobh and selected this hotel from the Tourism Office recommendation. The views over the harbour from our second floor room were excellent. We relaxed and enjoyed the bath and the large size of the room.

The service is great and we felt like we were at home. They offer free internet access too.

We had a very enjoyable 3 day stay and found it very relaxing. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Marie-Therese1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

All too often when you book your accommodation via the internet when you arrive the reality bears no resembelence to the description provided by the hotel owner. This is definitely not the case with Bella Vista. The description "Victorian-style house...sensitively renovated to provide the perfect combination of modern comfort with traditional style & hospitality" is completely accurate if a little understated!
The rooms were delightful, the staff and management were extremely friendly - nothing was too much trouble - it was all about ensuring your stay was as enjoyable as possible.
The hotel location was ideal - breathtaking views over Cobh Harbour, accessible to the local town centre and its magnificent Cathedral. Cobh itself is a perfecr base to explore other parts of the county - just ask the Bella Vista staff if in any doubt about the main attractions.
Overall Excellent - accommodation, staff and managment, food and as always location, location, location.
Well done Bella Vista excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RelaxingBreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

I was a little tempted to keep quiet about this lovely hotel as I intend to stay here again and I dont want it to be booked out...but that would be very selfish of me and very unfair not to give credit where it is due. This hotel offered the warmest welcome I have ever experienced, with wonderful smiling friendly staff who went out of their way to make sure our stay was pleasant and enjoyable.
I stayed here for 3 nights with a large family group, in one of the fantastic self catering suites. There were 2 bedrooms, both with huge en suite bathrooms, a main bathroom, kitchen/living area, balcony and furnished terrace. The beds were huge and really comfortable, there was always plenty of hot water, and the kitchen had all the cutlery and utensils we needed to look after ourselves. Inside the hotel was a small bar and a Chinese restaurant, a small reception and even a pc for free 24 hour guest internet access.
The hotel is quite an old building but not at all fading or shabby, as it has been very well looked after and kept spotlessly clean throughout. The self catering apartments are seperate from the main hotel building and are brand new with a lovely airy spacious feel. At least one of the suites was all ground floor with no steps at all, which may be of help to anyone with walking difficulties. Most of the rooms and suites have beautiful views of the harbour, but are just far enough from the sea front to escape any traffic noise.
The location of this hotel is ideal. The train station is less than 10 minutes walk downhill, the famous cathedral is 10 minutes walk in the other direction, and the town centre itsself is just 5 minutes away, though admittedly down a very steep hill - if you prefer a more relaxing stroll you can take a gentler route that still only takes about 10 minutes. There is car parking available in the hotel car park, and plenty of spaces all along the road too if needed. The Bella Vista is so central that you can park the car at the beginning of your trip and not use it again until you are leaving.
While we were staying here we met the owner of the hotel, Kevin Murphy, a very friendly and likeable man who clearly takes pride in his hotel's customer services, and rightly so. Nothing is too much trouble - from making sure our accommodation suited our needs to organising fishing trips for some of the other guests. The effort made by him and his staff to make sure every one of their guests had a great holiday was really appreciated; I will not only return here myself but will also be recommending this place to anyone who wants to treat themselves to a really special break.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank needspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We checked in here following a glowing report from the Tourist Information Office in Cobn. We had to pay in cash up front in order to get a room. (We now know why they insist on this, see below).

The room was OK, but we were located directly over the "Chinese" restaurant, and were woken every 10 -15 minutes through the night by the restaurant kitchen ventilation. This started with a groan and rose in pitch to sound like a siren, before abruptly stopping.

Also we had to put up with a light directly outside our window used to light access to the self catering units.

The "Chinese" restaurant is not genuine!, no chop sticks, no Oolong or any other Chinese tea, only wine! Who wants wine with spicy noodles? Beer was only available from the bar, (no Chinese beer). The meat in our dishes was pre-cooked, stale, and not heated through. We only ate there as it was the only restaurant option on a Sunday evening in Cobn.

The breakfast was probably OK, but the "hot" Irish breakfast was served on very cold plates, making the meal inedible.

The owner, Kevin, was not at all interested in our complaints, afterall he had our money and just wanted us to go!

When we came to leave we were blocked in the car park and had to wait until the obstructing vehicle left.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
695 reviews
Commodore Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cobh
529 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites

Address: Bishop's Road | Spy Hill, Cobh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range: $95 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as its name indicates, the Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites offers a choice of accommodations: Whether you choose one of the traditional guest rooms or a more spacious apartment, you will be treated to excellent service and quality amenities.On the property are such world-class facilities as a gourmet restaurant with a lovely bar. complimentary WiFi Internet access and private parking also come standard at this holiday destination.These and other excellent perks are located in the heart of picture-perfect Cobh, County Cork. The peaceful harbor town is full of unique landmarks and acres of untouched majesty. The sights and sounds of the bustling town centre are a 3-minute walk away, and the residential street on which the hotel stands is tranquil. Here, guests are invited to let the cares of daily life slip away while they unwind in beauty and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel And Self Catering Suites
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Cobh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing