We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Old World Hotel”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this hotel and attended a Wedding here. The staff in all areas were fantastic and could not be more helpful. The food at the wedding function was outstanding but I cannot say the same for Breakfast. Breakfast set up and lack of it was a disaster. Breakfast if you managed to get any was cold and tastless and this is why I have marked the hotel down as this was the same for three mornings in a row. How hard can breakfast be? Breakfast chef should be ashamed and makes life really difficult for the fabulous waiters.

Room Tip: See view room is a must! 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 529 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our first stop on a 10 day Ireland trip with my family. Cobh turned out to be a really nice small town and a good base for trips in the surroundings. When entering the hotel there was a terrible fish smell that probably came from the restaurant. We had two rooms that both turned out to be very dark and hot. The view from both rooms were to the backyard. The room (as the whole hotel) was worn out and seen its best days. I can understand that someone thinks this is nostalgic.We did not use the restaurant services.

I would not say that our stay was bad. We had the best ever in Ireland, the town was really nice and the hotel OK despite its flaws. But I have seen better hotels.

Room Tip: A room facing the harbor must be a lot nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatkaajaSuomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from second visit to this hotel this time attending a wedding
Staff and management (excellant)
Wedding function service and food (excellant)
Old time charm in hotel and rooms (superb took me back to isle of ma holidays in the 70's memories hard to replace)
Breakfast (hot tasty lovely friendly service after a hard night)

Will be back for more hidden charms cobh has to offer

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mirrlachs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night in June. Room was very average but adequate with nice seaside view and very comfortable bed. Breakfast was not included in our rate, so cannot comment on that. We ate one meal in the bar, which was not very good. Perhaps it would be best to scout out different places to eat in the town of Cobh. If WiFi is important to you, it is available but we were only able to get it in the lobby of the hotel.
We got a very good rate on this room, so for what we paid, our needs were met.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I just want to say, i stayed in the Commodore Hotel for 2 days and nights. On arrival to check in, the receptionist was very helpful and nice. When i got to the room the view was fabulous, as i got a seaview room. It was lovely looking out onto the harbor. Plus the weather was gorgeous when i arrived. I had dinner that evening in O'Shea's Bar of the hotel, i had a 3 course meal, it was very nice and tasty. Compliments to the Chef. Also the service was very good. Also the hotel carpark is very safe and secure. On checking out of the hotel the staff were very nice and i would definitely will be going back there again to stay. I would recommend the Commodore Hotel to anyone. It is reasonable for price!!

Room Tip: I would recommend the seaview rooms they are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank josiecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

al,ways when in cork ireland,i make a point of staying at the commodore hotel,another timemachine friendly staff good food,cold beer, nice rooms,and decent rates ,its like hotels used to be,if ever there try it out,much nicer than overpriced dumps in cork city

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 155christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I love the Comm! My wife and I (both Americans) were married in Cobh in 2003 and had our dinner and reception at the Commodore. They couldn't have gone more out of their way then and when we celebrated our 10th anniversary by heading back there, they nearly outdid themselves!!

First, let me just say that the Commodore in itself is a beautiful hotel located on the waterfront of picturesque Cobh in the south of Ireland. When you stay, make sure you get a harbor view as you could just spend hours watching the freighters, navy vessels, cruise ships, ferries, etc. moving in and out all day long. The hotel has an old Irish charm to it and while the rooms may feel a bit dated, they are clean and airy. The hotel itself is located exactly halfway between the trainstation and downtown area. Perfect location.

The service at the Comm is second to none. We had a group of 7 traveling with us to celebrate our 10th anniversary and upon our seating at dinner, the staff of the Comm presented us with a complimentary bottle of champagne. Then for desert, they surprised us with a custom cake, also complimentary. Special thanks goes out to Iona, Mary, Peggy and Nora for everything you did to give us truly a memorable trip. We will stay nowhere else but the Comm when visiting Cobh.

The remodeled bar is first rate. Live music Friday and Saturday was first rate. The dinner in the restaurant was exquisite. My recollection of Irish food was that it was never as tasty as it was upon my most recent visit to the Commodore. Wow! Definitely get dinner.

And for the price, the Commodore was the best value we encountered in Ireland. I would have gladly paid double for the service and hospitality that we received.

Room Tip: Definitely get a harbor view room in front. Dinner in the restaurant is a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magmystour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
695 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: Westbourne Place, Cobh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range: $62 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Harbour, Heritage and Home-grown Hospitality from the moment you arrive at the Commodore Hotel. An elegant Georgian residence, the Commodore Hotel is located directly on the main street of Cobh, overlooking Cork Harbour, one of the largest natural harbours in the world. Each of our 40 guestrooms is unique and many are decorated to highlight their Georgian features with high ceilings and large windows. There is a wide range of food on offer for you to choose from. Breakfast, Afternoon Teas, Bar Food and Restaurant specializing in home-cooked, locally sourced produce. Live entertainment is available and our friendly bar staff will update you with our schedule.The Commodore Hotel is the perfect location to experience everything East Cork has to offer such as: St Colemans Cathedral, Queenstown Heritage Centre, Titanic Experience, Cobh Museum, Fota House and Gardens, Jameson Whiskey Heritage Centre. The Titanic Trail Walking Tour leaves the hotel at 11am daily. Fota Wildlife Park which is a must see for families is on our doorstep - only 10 minutes train ride away. For the golf enthusiast there are many golf courses to choose from, Fota Island Golf Resort being the most renowned. Cobh Golf Club is a parkland style course which has an island green. For the angler, Cobh is an ideal location given its proximity to Cork Harbour and its famed quality of angling. Located 30 mins from Cork Airport, Ringaskiddy Ferry Port and with its close proximity to major roads and rail routes, the Commodore Hotel is easily accessible for all visitors. If driving, please note the town of Cobh is located on the Great Island in Cork Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Cobh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing