We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pleasant stay”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend with family and grandchildren.It was great, very clean, the food was excellent and a beautiful view from the rooms. The one thing the Commodore hotel has is excellent staff. They couldn't be more helpful, nothing was a burden to them and what a pleasure to hear someone say, Please and Thank you.From the front room staff, to housekeeping and bar/ restaurant it was a pleasure. Thanks Sabrina,Jenna, Gina and Peggy and all the rest of the staff, hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Request the see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidwhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 518 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We decided to give ourselves a treat and go to Cobh, have a butchers round the town and enjoy a nice lunch. The first part was negotiated successfully. Then my wife made the mistake, again, of asking a local woman to recommend a place to get a good lunch.
She recommended the Commodore Hotel.
I had what the hotel called 'lamb' together with home made chips and side salad.
It was a long time since that sheep was a lamb. The chips were a grey colour of black and soggy and reheated. One leaf of the salad was nice and fresh.
We complained, the manageress thought that the food was good. We paid and departed and had a lovely coffee and freshly made doughnut in a cafe10 metres from the front door of the hotel.
Avoid The Commodore.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lcoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

hotel is a bit dated but staff are great and location fantastic.
Barman very pleasant. bar food was good value.
I had a very early start in the morning. The night porter obliged with some nice strong coffee

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackletfet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just back from a one night stay here. The location is fantastic, the staff very friendly and facilitating however the rooms need serious attention. We understand that the hotel is very old however the general cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. The mould around on the bathroom ceiling and around the windows was pretty bad, the tv had never been cleaned, the once white kettle had turned yellow due to age and draft through the windows (sea view) was pretty bad. Again we do understand the hotel itself is old but I don't think their is an excuse for non cleanliness. We did not mention this to any staff as we did not think it was that important !!! The bar food looked fantastic, drink prices were very reasonable and staff very friendly. I have stayed in many hotels over the years and certainly would not say the Commodore has been the worst, just needs a little attention to detail. I did not think it was worth €101 per night, €70 at most

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxx44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a birthday recently. Food was lovely staff couldn't be nicer. Rooms comfortable basic if you want a quiet room sleep at back of hotel can be noisy with a sea view room. Breakfast is really nice and worth getting up for as you can go for seconds. The bar has a great band on a Saturday night no complaints at The commodore. Recommend The Titanic bar across the road and the bar next door is good craic great town for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annon737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to see the Blarney Castle. The hotel has old world charm, but could use a little updating. You can definitely see how once upon a time this was a very nice hotel. We didn't eat at the hotel, but the locals told us after we had already eaten that the food is great. We had a drink in the pub and the locals were all very friendly. Excellent and beautiful views from our room of the harbour. I am glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinSRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely hotel, stayed here last night, had room 203, really nice, big , spacious room. You get a fob for €20 deposit to park a few doors down next to trade winds restaurant. €7.70 return on train to cork, very pleasant trip & frequent trains which include free wi fi.
Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat at the hotel but it was busy there & the bar was good with fast service & reasonable prices

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgosul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
0.1 mi away
WatersEdge Hotel
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
687 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork
6.7 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
736 reviews
6.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Silver Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: Westbourne Place, Cobh, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range: $60 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Harbour, Heritage and Home-grown Hospitality from the moment you arrive at the Commodore Hotel. An elegant Georgian residence, the Commodore Hotel is located directly on the main street of Cobh, overlooking Cork Harbour, one of the largest natural harbours in the world. Each of our 40 guestrooms is unique and many are decorated to highlight their Georgian features with high ceilings and large windows. There is a wide range of food on offer for you to choose from. Breakfast, Afternoon Teas, Bar Food and Restaurant specializing in home-cooked, locally sourced produce. Live entertainment is available and our friendly bar staff will update you with our schedule.The Commodore Hotel is the perfect location to experience everything East Cork has to offer such as: St Colemans Cathedral, Queenstown Heritage Centre, Titanic Experience, Cobh Museum, Fota House and Gardens, Jameson Whiskey Heritage Centre. The Titanic Trail Walking Tour leaves the hotel at 11am daily. Fota Wildlife Park which is a must see for families is on our doorstep - only 10 minutes train ride away. For the golf enthusiast there are many golf courses to choose from, Fota Island Golf Resort being the most renowned. Cobh Golf Club is a parkland style course which has an island green. For the angler, Cobh is an ideal location given its proximity to Cork Harbour and its famed quality of angling. Located 30 mins from Cork Airport, Ringaskiddy Ferry Port and with its close proximity to major roads and rail routes, the Commodore Hotel is easily accessible for all visitors. If driving, please note the town of Cobh is located on the Great Island in Cork Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Cobh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing