We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor hotel, so dated, don't bother”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Was amazed at how bad this hotel was considering the reviews that were written up for it. There were two good things about this hotel. The views and the staff. Everything else was very poor. No parking, only on the street and you have to get up at 10 the following morning to pay for street parking by the hour. The rooms are ancient, mouldy around the windows. Toilet seat manky with the dirt. Badly fitted dirty curtains. freezing water in the bath. The room was cold. The lift was like something that you would see 60years ago.Kettle not working. Breakfast was poor. Even though dinner was included in our package, we were informed we would have to have it in the bar, and if not it would cost more in the restaurant. Would definitely not recommend it. There are much better deals out there for the same cost, in hotels that are superior in every way than this.

Room Tip: don't bother staying here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amgboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodorehotel, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear reviewer,
We are very disappointed to hear that your stay was not to your satisfaction. I have checked our files and could not find any record of your complaint. A member of our team would have been delighted to meet with you during your stay to rectify any complaint you had.
We do have parking available, on a first come first served basis at the rear of the hotel. As this is secure parking we have a key fob system in place, our reception staff inform guests on arrival.
I have investigated the issue you had with the restaurant. Normally food is served in O’Sheas Bar and Bistro midweek. We have a restaurant and this is open on weekends and during peak season, when there is a demand for it. Each night we serve a bar food menu and a table d’hôte menu. The only night it would cost any extra to eat in the restaurant is if there is a package deal in operation such as a recent Valentines Night dinner. That package included a glass of prosecco on arrival, an enhanced dinner menu and a cocktail in O’Sheas bar for only an additional €5 per person. Customers did not have to avail of this package and could still dine in our restaurant on their inclusive dinner.
In relation to the issues with your bedroom, I have forwarded these to the accommodation and maintenance team to investigate.
The hotel, lift while dated, is fully functional and meets all safety standards.
Our aim at the Commodore Hotel is to provide a product and service that gets you the customer to return, we are sorry that we were unable to deliver on this occasion. I can assure you that this is the exception rather than the rule.
Regards,
Robert Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 513 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is literally right on the water, very central, and could not be more pleasant or comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Cobh (pronounced "Cove") and it is well worth staying here. The hotel restaurant was also great and reasonably priced. We were in Ireland/Northern Ireland for 14 nights and stayed at a total of 10 different hotels/B&B's during our time and this was certainly among the best. Make sure you get a water-front room if you can... watching the sunrise from your room is terrific.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USCTrojansFan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodorehotel, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words, we really hope to see you soon again,
Regards,
Robert Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Commodore Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here appox. 3 years ago for a weekend with my bf. car park behind the hotel was a bit shabby littered and small the hotel it's self is on a lovely location friendly staff breakfast was fab sat at the window looking out at the sea the hotel is old style but comfortable and clean I think there's a night club next door but no noise affected us any way I didn't hear anything from it the room was lovely sea view (paid extra) woke up the first morning to see a massive ship coming into the dock it was amazing ! . Food in the bar was delicious excellent !!! But did have a bit of a wait

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doggiedayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodorehotel, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our hotel. I agree that the car park at present, even though it is fully functional, does require some investment,. This is something that we are planning to do in the summer of this year.
We are very fortunate with the location of the hotel, overlooking Cork Harbour and the Victorian Promenade. Over sixty liners visit Cobh each year and the best vantage point to view them dock and disembark is from one of our seaview rooms. I hope you found the small supplement value for money.
Thank you for recognising the staff and their friendliness, we feel that this is key to providing you with the best service. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant & bar. We aim to provide you with homemade, cooked to order dishes and sometimes this can result in a slight time delay but I assure you that this is the exception rather than the rule.
We really hope you do return again to stay with us,
Regards,
Robert Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Commodore Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

When I arrived at the hotel I was greeted by Sarah one of the Hotel reception staff. She was very pleasant and helpful and was able to move rooms as the room I was assigned was a smoking room. She was also on hand to organise a meal to be sent to my room after a rather long day of driving I was tired. All the staff from the breakfast, porters,domestic staff etc were very pleasant and very helpful. As this is a privately owned hotel I say a big pat on the back to the owners with their standards being very high. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for good value and a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Commodore. We had a lovely stay, have stayed in 3/4 star hotels not as comfy and homely. Rooms spacious and spotless rooms very warm (too warm for me but thats just me) have no complaints at all. Staff welcoming and helpful and pleasent. We had a seaview which i recommend, didnt close the curtains at night, beautiful.... Looking forward to going back over the Summer. Cobh is a beautiful town and a quick 20 min stress free train journey(€7.00 return per person) brings you to a shopping mecca and food outlets.

A great break for a couple with grown family at home.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a seaview, you wont be disappointed when you wake up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Galwayblowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

hi was in cobh begining of november in commodore hotel,so glad to be back was treated like an old friend, could not fault the friiendlness of all the staff.food was great drink cheaper than in dublin,looking forward to going back. pauline phipps

Room Tip: sea view rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodorehotel, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Pauline,
I was delighted to see that you were looked after so well on your last stay. You were treated like an old friend because you truly are one!
Thank you for kind words about our food and drink, we really are trying to provide the best value for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Regards,
Robert Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Commodore Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
0.1 mi away
WatersEdge Hotel
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
683 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork
6.7 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
725 reviews
6.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Silver Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: Westbourne Place, Cobh, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range: $66 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Harbour, Heritage and Home-grown Hospitality from the moment you arrive at the Commodore Hotel. An elegant Georgian residence, the Commodore Hotel is located directly on the main street of Cobh, overlooking Cork Harbour, one of the largest natural harbours in the world. Each of our 40 guestrooms is unique and many are decorated to highlight their Georgian features with high ceilings and large windows. There is a wide range of food on offer for you to choose from. Breakfast, Afternoon Teas, Bar Food and Restaurant specializing in home-cooked, locally sourced produce. Live entertainment is available and our friendly bar staff will update you with our schedule.The Commodore Hotel is the perfect location to experience everything East Cork has to offer such as: St Colemans Cathedral, Queenstown Heritage Centre, Titanic Experience, Cobh Museum, Fota House and Gardens, Jameson Whiskey Heritage Centre. The Titanic Trail Walking Tour leaves the hotel at 11am daily. Fota Wildlife Park which is a must see for families is on our doorstep - only 10 minutes train ride away. For the golf enthusiast there are many golf courses to choose from, Fota Island Golf Resort being the most renowned. Cobh Golf Club is a parkland style course which has an island green. For the angler, Cobh is an ideal location given its proximity to Cork Harbour and its famed quality of angling. Located 30 mins from Cork Airport, Ringaskiddy Ferry Port and with its close proximity to major roads and rail routes, the Commodore Hotel is easily accessible for all visitors. If driving, please note the town of Cobh is located on the Great Island in Cork Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Cobh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing