We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable congenial harborside hotel”
Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Cobh is a 25 min train ride from Cork and the hotel is a 6-7 minute walk from the train station. The hotel faces the harbor across the street from an attractive public park alongside the water. The rooms are large enough, especially those facing the harbor, with views and light well worth the extra price paid. The rooms are comfortable, attractively furnished, although with dated furniture, the bathroom properly fitted out and well supplied, and good hot water. The several floors of the hotel are served with only one elevator, which can only provide for three adults without luggage at a time. It also serves as a utility elevator for the household staff who will be shifting clean/dirty linen and suchlike. The hotel is well maintained throughout, but keep well in mind the age and history which will explain some perceived lack of modernization by some. The breakfast is excellent, served buffet style in a dining room and served by very helpful staff. The bar is a congenial, chatty place, small, with a larger adjoining area for sitting and eating. The food is basic, sometimes good. There is a dining room in the rear of the bar area, more formally laid out and with a broader menu. If there is heavy rain, the dining room will suffice to save the trouble of going out elsewhere.

Room Tip: the harborside rooms are the best and worth it
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cloudseleyshovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodorehotel, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Thank you kindly for taking the time to a write a review about our hotel. I am delighted that you found the harbour view room met your requirements. Though the price is only €15 extra, for a sea-view than a standard, we feel it is worth it for a view, of the second largest natural harbour in the world. I have also taken on board your observations about the furniture and will address these over time.
The hotel elevator is some-times used by the hotel staff and we apologies for the delay you experienced when this occurs. It normally only happens when accommodation staff are transferring trolleys to and from floors. They assure me that they always give priority to guests when they are aware that guests need to use the lift.
We are delighted you found the hotel well maintained and clean. We are very interested in keeping it’s unique features in any future development in order to keep its character.
I have forwarded your comments to our breakfast staff and was delighted that you found them to be so welcoming. This is key trait to the service we strive to provide in the Commodore Hotel. I am also delighted to hear that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast as this is a relatively new feature to us and we are monitoring customer feedback.
Finally, thank you for your comments in relation to our food. I agree that we can make certain improvements and hope to have these made in the next two months.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Commodore Hotel and wish you safe travels,
Regards,
Robert Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Commodore Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for Commodore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 499 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

Sea front hotel, on arrival can be a bit of a struggle unloading as on road pay and display parking until you book in and get a car park "fob" - hotel shared car park a couple of minutes walk away.

I travelled with my sister and her four children aged 11 months to 11 years and the room we had was a proper sized family room with a lovely albeit rainy view looking out to sea. The staff are very friendly and even though the restaurant was due to close they stayed open saving us the hassle of trying to find somewhere to eat at 9pm at night.

There was great entertainment on, traditional irish music and a female artist the next night. There was also a kiddies room which showed a dvd and kept the older children quiet for a hour or two.

The decor, lift and in general the hotel was a bit dated and worn but that said it gave it character and with children we didn't feel to on edge that they may spill a drink or knock something - they are not rowdy children but you get what I mean!!

Cobh is a great location for getting out and about, we went to Blarney, Cork and did the Cobh tour on thomas the tank engine - the kids loved it and we were able to take in some of the history. There is a lovely cathedral to visit and also a boat trip to Spike island 12pm and 2pm each day (but check!) which has housed many things including a prison and of course Titanic memorabilia.

Well worth a visit and a stay at the Commodore Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndreaPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodorehotel, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We agree that the parking restrictions in Cobh are a bit of a struggle, however we have agreed that guests have a ten minute set-down period when off-loading baggage. Our hotel staff would be very happy to help you with your bags and I hope that this was offered to you on check-in.
We are delighted that our staff looked after you and that they catered for you outside the normal operating times. The entertainment that we provide in O’Sheas bar is family orientated and we are delighted that you availed of our playroom facilities which operate during the peak season as we really do want to cater as much as possible for families.
The town, as you have found, has a lot to offer and is steeped in history. Spike Island “Irelands Alcatraz” is a big attraction that will be developed further overtime and we can advise guests on tour times. We also are looking forward to the commemoration of the Titanic next year and hope you come back this way to flavour the experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Commodore Hotel,
Best regards,
Robert Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Commodore Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed here for a night with my mum & my 2 boys 13 & 9 .Booked 2 rooms but on arrival realised I didn't need both as the sea view family room was huge - 1 double & 3 singles with plenty of room with 2 beautiful windows overlooking the sea. Reception great refunded money happily without question. Loads to do in walking distance-
heritage centre great, crabbing on Coastal walk, admiring huge liners,
church beautiful!
Great Irish staff who make you very welcome !

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LilLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodorehotel, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Reviewer,
I was delighted to hear your very positive views about your stay in our hotel. The view that we have at the Commodore Hotel is really magnificent and we were delighted you availed of one of our seaview rooms. I was happy to hear that your requirements were dealt with efficiently by our reception staff & that you enjoyed our Irish welcome.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our harbour side hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Robert Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Commodore Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Would defiantly recommend hotel for one reason..it is a beautiful location....views are of bay and sea front park area.....bar service awful... dining room service a little better..beds comfortable and clean though somewhat dated... great location for exploring Cobh...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfrceo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodorehotel, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about the Commodore Hotel. We are delighted that you found the location beautiful. We really are lucky at the Commodore Hotel to be overlooking the second largest natural harbour in the world and the Victorian Promenade.
I am disappointed to hear that there was a problem with service. Please contact me personally as I would be keen to learn from your experience as normally our standard of service would be excellent.
Regards,
Robert Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The town is wonderful. Real ireland. The Commodore is a touch of the past when Cobh was an important port. The Titanic sailed from here. Hotel is very clean, food is great, & the location on the bay is fabulous.Art Deco touches highlight its heyday. AAA+++

Room Tip: ask for a front view
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank themobilitystore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodorehotel, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Thank you for your review about our lovely town of Cobh and the Commodore Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed our stay with us and hope you return very soon.
Regards,
Robert Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Commodore Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Very pleasant stay. nice staff; right on seafront so ideal for walking tours which start oiutside the hotel, and the trip to spike island. We ate at the Quays restaurant which is less than 5 minutes walk from hotel. Parking was a bit of an issue as the car park is a bit of a walk from the hotel and is not guaranteed. Breakfast buffet was very nice. Rooms were ok but not fantastic - the decor was a bit old school - as befits an old hotel though i suppose.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonh1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodorehotel, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and location. We really are lucky with the staff that we have and also the fact that the hotel overlooks the second largest natural harbour in the world.
There are many fine eateries in Cobh including the Quays and we are delighted you dined locally. We also hope that you had an opportunity to eat in our hotel bar/ restaurant.
We admit that parking is a problem in the town. At present we have a car park that is barrier operated and is available to guests on a first come, first served basis.
We are also in the process of re-decorating some of our bedrooms to update them.
We hope you will return to the Commodore Hotel soon,
Regards,
Robert Fitzpatrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I normally don't bother with reveiws when staying in hotels but I thought I needed to say something about this hotel. My husband and I travelled to Cobh for 3 nights in August and were very disappointed with this hotel. Our room smelt of must and the floor boards were creeky and when walking around the room I felt I was on a ship. Our room was at the back of the hotel and unfortunately with the mouldy smell we had no option but to keep our windows open 24 hours a day, therefore each morning we were woke by the sound of glass bottles and deliveries. Bottom line is I would not recommend this hotel and certainly will not be returning myself. On a brighter note Cobh is a lovely town and we had pleanty to do and see there and the surrounding areas of Garryvoe, Ballymalloe and Fota Wild Life. Loads of options for eating out, but would definately recommend Gilberts, I'm still dreaming of the white chocolate mousse desert I got.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonorIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
commodorehotel, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Thank you for your review. On behalf of the team I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your stay. I agree that the floor boards in your room were creaking and had flagged this with our maintenance staff prior to your stay.
During the summer season it is difficult for us to carry out repairs to areas that are underneath carpet as it means that we have to take up and relay the carpet and this means that the room would be unavailable for a long period of time. As a result we have timetabled this maintenance to be completed in the next two/ three weeks when the hotel is quieter.
I was sorry to hear that there was a smell of dampness in your room and am investigating this at present.
The room you did stay in does overlook a working yard. I am speaking to the purchasing manager at present about deliveries and their timings.
Should you wish to change your mind and decide to stay with us again, I would be delighted to do everything available to me to make sure your stay is enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Robert Fitzpatrick
General Manager
Commodore Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
0.1 mi away
WatersEdge Hotel
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
675 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork
3.8 mi away
Fernhill Golf and Country Club
6.7 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: Westbourne Place, Cobh, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cobh
Price Range: $76 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Harbour, Heritage and Home-grown Hospitality from the moment you arrive at the Commodore Hotel. An elegant Georgian residence, the Commodore Hotel is located directly on the main street of Cobh, overlooking Cork Harbour, one of the largest natural harbours in the world. Each of our 40 guestrooms is unique and many are decorated to highlight their Georgian features with high ceilings and large windows. There is a wide range of food on offer for you to choose from. Breakfast, Afternoon Teas, Bar Food and Restaurant specializing in home-cooked, locally sourced produce. Live entertainment is available and our friendly bar staff will update you with our schedule.The Commodore Hotel is the perfect location to experience everything East Cork has to offer such as: St Colemans Cathedral, Queenstown Heritage Centre, Titanic Experience, Cobh Museum, Fota House and Gardens, Jameson Whiskey Heritage Centre. The Titanic Trail Walking Tour leaves the hotel at 11am daily. Fota Wildlife Park which is a must see for families is on our doorstep - only 10 minutes train ride away. For the golf enthusiast there are many golf courses to choose from, Fota Island Golf Resort being the most renowned. Cobh Golf Club is a parkland style course which has an island green. For the angler, Cobh is an ideal location given its proximity to Cork Harbour and its famed quality of angling. Located 30 mins from Cork Airport, Ringaskiddy Ferry Port and with its close proximity to major roads and rail routes, the Commodore Hotel is easily accessible for all visitors. If driving, please note the town of Cobh is located on the Great Island in Cork Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Cobh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing