We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Queenstown Experience”

Cobh Heritage Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.53*
and up
Skip-the-Line: The Queenstown Story Tour at Cobh Heritage Centre
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Cobh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The story of Irish emigration- from the indentured servants and forced labour who left for the Colonies and the West Indies in the 17th century, the early emigrants to Canada and the U.S.the Great famine and the transportation of convicts to Australia . Learn about our maritime history,the hardship and the heartbreak. Find the stories and learn the connection between Cobh and the Titanic and the Lusitania. A facinating, educational and emotional journey through our past. "Walk in the footsteps" of our emigrant ancestors in this restored Victorian building.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
544 reviews
242 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 843 helpful votes
“Queenstown Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent a delightful few hours having coffee and cake , looking around the historical pieces and shopping in the delightful stores... and all under one roof. The heritage centre is part of the original railway station that was downgraded, so it's a delightful place to spend a few hours looking around, enjoying the coffee AND all of this under one roof, so you don't need a brolly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystalline4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    254
    58
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Allow a couple of hours for your visit. The displays are extremely well laid out, creating a real atmosphere. Excellent use is made of mirrors in the later parts of the exhibition. The sensation of being on an immense deck is amazing. It looks as if you could walk for ever.
All the written information is only in English. A pity. When we were there, there was a large group of French students.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Talan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great history story”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Very informative time spent reliving the tales of the people who departed from this town. Very sad stories, but the walk through the museum is enjoyable

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank fionnMacCul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hohenfels, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very Educational and Enjoyable for Kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a must visit in Cobh. Not only due you here history on the Titanic and Lusitania, but also some historical background on Irish history. I would definitely recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Phillips2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Boring and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We did visit the Cobh Heritage Center with a family of 3. When you enter the building, looking like an old railroad station, it looks very promising. However we found the Titanic exhibition quite boring, showing lots of writing on the walls, but little interactivity. You could find most of this information in any library or on the Internet. For what is shown, the entry fee of 9 euro is far to steep. If you want a good Titanic exhibition, then go the the Titanic Experience in Belfast (yeah, not really next door, but we managed to do both in one holiday), for that Belfast Titanic Experience trully is impressive. In Belfast we needed a couple of hours to see it all, while in the Cobh Heritage Center, 15 minutes was more then enough.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cobh Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Cobh Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing