We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Educational and Enjoyable for Kids”

Cobh Heritage Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.61*
and up
Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin
More Info
$70.70*
and up
Cork and Blarney Castle Visit from Cobh by Train
More Info
$11.38*
and up
Skip-the-Line: The Queenstown Story Tour at Cobh Heritage Centre
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Cobh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The story of Irish emigration- from the indentured servants and forced labour who left for the Colonies and the West Indies in the 17th century, the early emigrants to Canada and the U.S.the Great famine and the transportation of convicts to Australia . Learn about our maritime history,the hardship and the heartbreak. Find the stories and learn the connection between Cobh and the Titanic and the Lusitania. A facinating, educational and emotional journey through our past. "Walk in the footsteps" of our emigrant ancestors in this restored Victorian building.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Hohenfels, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very Educational and Enjoyable for Kids”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a must visit in Cobh. Not only due you here history on the Titanic and Lusitania, but also some historical background on Irish history. I would definitely recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Phillips2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    278
    63
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisse, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Boring and overpriced”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We did visit the Cobh Heritage Center with a family of 3. When you enter the building, looking like an old railroad station, it looks very promising. However we found the Titanic exhibition quite boring, showing lots of writing on the walls, but little interactivity. You could find most of this information in any library or on the Internet. For what is shown, the entry fee of 9 euro is far to steep. If you want a good Titanic exhibition, then go the the Titanic Experience in Belfast (yeah, not really next door, but we managed to do both in one holiday), for that Belfast Titanic Experience trully is impressive. In Belfast we needed a couple of hours to see it all, while in the Cobh Heritage Center, 15 minutes was more then enough.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Little town has a lot to see!”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My brother and I decided to stop in Cobh briefly to see the monuments and the Heritage Centre. We did not anticipate how much would be in the Heritage Centre! There was a lot to read about and look at, and we ended up staying there for quite a while. The price seemed a little steep, but they have a student discount, which was worthwhile.
If you find yourself in or near Cobh, GO. Not only is this museum there, but there are several monuments and beautiful views right outside the door!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank weemurree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First rate”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Hard to believe that for what is a reasonably small town this little jewel of a heritage centre could pack in so much quality and interesting information. All of the people there have plenty of time and so willing to help you out with any questions, nothing is too much trouble.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Connection to our family's story”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

It was so moving to see where my grandfather may have emigrated from. The interactive portions of the exhibit that allow the visitor to hear stories about the shipwreck survivors are extraordinar Personal memory: my then 86 year old mother seeing he port her father probaby
emigrated from.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Milseain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cobh Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Cobh Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing