We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cobh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 14 Cobh B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

A great place to stay in such a beautiful town.
We only had 1 night here but wished it had been longer.
Noreen was such a wonderful friendly host we felt at home as soon as we arrived.
Rooms were lovely with small ensuites. We had the harbour view from our room which was wonderful. Breakfast had a good selection to choose from.
The town centre is a short walk downhill with loads of eating options.
We ate at Amigos Pizza in West Beach Rd where we had the best pizza.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingsville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The granddaughters and I stayed with Noreen and Tony while visiting Cobh in June 2013. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated, and Noreen friendly and helpful with touring advice.

The place is a bit tricky to get to with a manual transmission car but worth the effort. The only thing I might complain about is that the towels smelled a bit of cigarette smoke. And you can hear the chimes of the Cathedral on the quarters.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaja1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed with Noreen and Tony Hickey at their B and B in Cobh in the middle of July 2013 and we could not have felt more welcome. It was as if we were long lost relatives. To me it felt like 'old' Ireland where everyone is made to feel welcome no matter where you come from or what you do. Cobh itself is quite staggering in its beauty and takes the breath away as you arrive at the top of the hill overlooking Cobh Harbour and there is so much to do there. You do need a car as it is located on some very steep hills but you get free parking at the harbour for an hour which is an added bonus.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the house are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here in 2009....the place was recommended by Val of Dunromin B & B in Kilkenny.
Had a lovely room...town is beautiful! Went out to dinner & had seafood... had an allergic reaction.Woke up wi two swollen eyes. Noreen was great & gave me some ice packs to reduce the swelling! Would highly recommend this B & B...very clean, great food, wonderful accomodations!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonSouthLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Noreen and Tony were very gracious and nice hosts. Place was clean and in excellent repair. Breakfast very good. Noreen visited with us and gave some good touring advice. I would recommend with no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jgcat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I posted a review for this place sometimes back but didn't get publish...

Noreen and Tony run the place and it is nothing but simply GREAT!
You need to know how to get there or else you ended up like me taking the long route. Lucky I met Margaret. Nice lady who invited me in for coffee and got her husband to send me to Mountview BnB.

It worth every Euro... And the breakfast was simply hearty and filled you in till lunch.
A MUST STAY!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NurAkmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Had a very nice stay at this B and B...Noreen was out of town and Tony was running the show--he was very sweet and accomidating. Cobh was great and Tony pointed us to Trade Winds restaurant which was great--sat outside and had a lovely meal and met very nice people. The twin room we had was clean and cozy. The location was great--right on top of the hill in Cobh...great views.

Room Tip: The twin room does not have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Commodore Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cobh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountview Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mountview Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2 John o'Connell Street, Cobh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cobh
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing