We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - what a find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gilbert's Bistro in the Square
Ranked #8 of 13 Cobh B&B and Inns
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow - what a find”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Arrived in Cobh in the late afternoon without a place to stay and began our search. We located Gilbert's and we could not have done better. Ann showed us the penthouse "apartment" room and we were amazed by what we saw. Living room, kitchen area, spacious bedroom and separate bath - you could live there. Great place, restaurant downstairs and pubs within a stones throw, what's not to like?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juno80503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    15
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
36
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

It being a while since I've being back to Cobh on business, this time I had the good fortune to choose an overnighter in Gilberts. It can only be described as 5 star accommodation without the 5 star prices. Everything can only be described as picture perfect. The cleanness and attention to detail has to be commended whit the owners and staff. I had an evening meal in the restraint when I arrived and it was also top class, very helpful staff that couldn't do enough for me, 5 star all round, why indeed can’t all places be like Gilberts in Cobh!!! Pure Pleasure!! Try this Gemstone you won’t be disappointed! Fantastic value for your buck! I’ll be back… Thank you all at Gilberts……

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 2 which is facing out into the square, you also have a view of the lovely harbour f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scituate
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Gilbert's Townhouse is an outstanding place to stay! The room was very spacious and decorated beautifully (very high end)! Ann was such a gracious hostess....welcoming us with 2 huge chocolate brownies...to accompany our tea! Also left us breakfast items and lemon souffle's! (Delicious!) Our room overlooked Pearse Square with 3 big windows and was very bright and cheery! Location was fantastic....just walk out the door and you are in the town center. The perfect place to stay to visit the Cobh Heritage Centre, Titanic Museum, Cork Harbor, St. Colman's Cathedral and the Lusitania Gravesite. The town of Cobh is beautiful with brightly painted homes and store fronts....just like a postcard, and very European! The Gilbert's restaurant was closed while we stayed there (Sunday & Monday), but we had two delicious meals at the Commodore Hotel. We highly recommend a stay at the Gilbert Townhouse!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patty a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My daughter and her boyfriend stay here regularly and they invited me to come with them for the weekend. My room was fabulous. Very comforatable and beautiful decor. I had dinner in the Restaurant and the food was wonderful.I had prawns and my friend had the lamb. The wine was beautiful and we shared a brownie for dessert.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the street as its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trish4217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heebie11, Owner at Gilbert's Bistro in the Square, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Trish
Thank you for your trip advisor review of Gilbert's Restaurant and Townhouse Accommodation. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you also enjoyed your evening in the restaurant and hopefully your will be back sometime in the near future.
Kindest regards
Ann
co -owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were part of a very special celebration based at Gilbert's last week. Not only did we host a group of 65 people but we also stayed upstairs in the magnificent 5 star accommodation. Stylish and very comfortable. You would okay twice as much for comparable accommodation elsewhere. Ann Daly, proprietor, presented our group with an 8 course extravaganza for this special celebration. The menu was based on the first class menu from the Titanic. Every mouthwatering course was presented in an unobtrusive and professional manner. Our compliments to the excellent chefs and the front of house staff. Starting with the soup course and finishing with the cheese board and every course in between, the food was mouthwatering and the service was without fault. All our guests were highly complimentary of the experience. Thanks to Ann and the staff for making this special event so memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the penthouse with a separate lounge and kitchen. Our friends stayed in a first floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heebie11, Owner at Gilbert's Bistro in the Square, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear PJ
Thank you for your very kind review of Gilbert's Restaurant and Townhouse Accommodation and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that your great occasion went off so well Best of luck to both of you
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed in Gilbert's for a night last week, and it really is a fabulous little find. The rooms are outstanding - if I had paid twice what I did, I would still say the same. Large room, with massive bathroom. Everything finished to the highest of standards. The shower was a long walk-in one, and something I've never seen anywhere else, the knobs were at the opposite end to the shower head. So no sticking your hand in to turn it on, and getting a frozen/scalded hand! Both I and my friend, who was staying in a different room, commented separately on this. And, a crucial point for me, the room was exceptionally dark at night. We ate in the restaurant that night and the food was delicious. Location wise, it is probably less than one minute over to the Titanic exhibition, and plenty of other touristy things nearby also. Not only would I never stay anywhere else in Cobh, but I would actually go back to Cobh just to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heebie11, Owner at Gilbert's Bistro in the Square, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Trinash
Thank you most sincerely for your trip advisor review and very detailed review of Gilbert's Townhouse accommodation and hope to see you back again. Gilbert's is within reach of all that is happening in Cobh - Spike Island Tour, Titanic Experience, Titanic Walking Tours, Cobh Heritage Centre, St Colman's Cathedral and most important Cobh Museum which is well worth a visit.
With kindest regards

Ann Daly
Co owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay in the penthouse for a few days last week and absolutely loved it. The location is perfect, right in the middle of "town" and really handy for the pubs, shops and restaurants. Talking of restaurants, the food in the restaurant was really lovely and the early bird menu is great value although do book as it does get very busy.

The penthouse was lovely and was a great base while in Cobh. All the appliances were of great quality and the room was cleaned everyday. Very clean throughout. Free wifi was an added bonus.

When i saw some of the places on offer in Cobh, I am so glad we found this gem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tishybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heebie11, Owner at Gilbert's Bistro in the Square, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Tishybabe
Thank you for your trip advisor review of Gilbert's Townhouse accommodation. Gilbert's is in the heart of Cobh town. Delighted that you tried our menu on your visit and that you enjoyed our early bird which is served from 530 to 630 each evening 2 courses for 20 euros and 3 courses for 24 euros.
With kindest regards
Ann Daly
Co owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cobh
0.1 mi away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cobh
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
0.2 mi away
WatersEdge Hotel
WatersEdge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobh
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
706 reviews
4.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Cork
3.4 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilbert's Bistro in the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilbert's Bistro in the Square

Property: Gilbert's Bistro in the Square
Address: 11 Pearse Square, Cobh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cobh
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cobh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With regard to restaurants in Cork, Gilbert's Restaurant and Townhouse accommodation is located in one of the attractive squares in the centre of the historic town of Cobh and nestling under the famous St. Colman's Cathedral it offers the unique opportunity to sample a delicious meal and then retire to the luxurious accommodation just above the restaurant. Gilbert's is the newest restaurant in Cobh. Gilbert's is different - come to Cobh and see for yourself. The modern decor complements the contemporary Irish food served in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Fully licensed, it is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All produce is sourced locally where possible and daily specials appear on the lunch and dinner menus.Every dish is cooked to order. The restaurant can cater for small private parties. Parties can be tucked away in two cosy alcoves set back from the main dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gilbert's Bistro in the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing