We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Restaurant Choice with a beautiful view”

The Quays Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Cobh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Orrington, Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant Choice with a beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We asked a local where to eat and this was one of the suggestions and we were very pleased. The weather was beautiful for April so we sat outside and enjoyed the view of the harbor. I chose a special, Beef and Guiness Pie encased in a nice flaky crust. It was quite yummy. The service was very nice and we all enjoyed our menu choices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    117
    36
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Frozen chips - really?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I used to be a relatively regular customer here, the words to focus on in the first part of the sentence are 'used to be'. Ordered a burger but it came with frozen chips - I could have rustled that up myself at home! Not impressed and will not be coming back!

Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Reasonable food and great quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I recently went back to the Quays for a meal and the food and service was very good. It was pretty quite but it was off season.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miriamo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Small bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Off season so not much going on. They should clean up behind bar, very messy. View nice, bartender did not say much, could be more engaging.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank likestoeatout51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best lunch I've had in a long time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband, daughter (20) and I stopped at The Quay yesterday for lunch - what a lucky find! We were seated in a heated outdoor patio area with an amazing view of the water. It was difficult to choose from the menu options as everything sounded so good. I finally chose the soup and sandwich - I really can't put into words how delicious a simple bowl of vegetable soup and beef sandwich was, but it was really the best lunch I've had in a long time! I really wasn't that hungry when we stopped but I ate every bite - and the portions were very generous, especially given the reasonable price. My husband had a seafood pasta and my daughter had a chicken sandwich and they were very happy with their meals as well. We also split an order of Fire Fries which I highly recommend! I've never met a potato I didn't like but these were SO good I think I could have made a meal of them! As is so often the case with the really good places, the owner - Noel, was onsite and a pleasure to chat with. Although we sat on the patio, the inside was beautiful too with beautiful wood floors and trim and a cozy fire in the fireplace. Great food, a great view, and a cold pint - what could be better!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quays Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Cobh, County Cork
 

Been to The Quays Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing