We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Summer Hill Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castletownbere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summer Hill Bed & Breakfast
Claremore, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is a fairly newly-built B&B. Clean, good breakfast. We stayed in the "annex". Wood floors made it a little noisy when others came in late. Easy walk to the quaint town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gloriaj2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    16
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
31
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naas, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We found this B&B on the internet and found it lived up to all our expectations. The rooms are a good size, well furnished and spotless. The host, Nealie, is most welcoming, giving us our choice of remaining unoccupied rooms and advising us on local activities that would interest us. The breakfasts are exceptional, well cooked and served, and 'plenty of it'. We have no hesitation in recommending Summer Hill as providing good value in comfortable surroundings.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, with one extra large family one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerard123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise,Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Very nice place to stay and the owner Neil was a wonderful host!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casephoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

We absolutely loved staying at Summer Hill B&B. I felt right at home (well...I AM an O'Sullivan!). Cornelius O'Sullivan is a great host with plenty of local information and history tales. The B&B is gorgeous and our room was the best we stayed in through our ten day trip around Ireland. This truly is a beautiful part of the world and you couldn't do better than staying at Summer Hill.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipstie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte, MT USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Summer Hill B&B: October 1, 2007. Beautiful home with immaculate, spacious rooms and extremely comfortable beds. Wonderful and hospitable owner who is an excellent cook and offers a menu of cereal, fruit, juice, full Irish breakfast, smoked salmon, eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. Coffee, tea and fruit are available all day. There's a five minute walk to the interesting town with beautiful scenery and ships in the harbor. It is the best B&B that I have stayed in while visiting Ireland. B. L.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank bettlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, WI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2007

We hadn't planned on stopping in Castletownbere but the Irish hospitality hadn't let us down yet so when the owner of the resturaunt said he'd called up and reserved us a room, we weren't worried. We couldn't have been more pleased when we got there. The house is charming and immaculately clean - there is a cat that lives there but my husband who is VERY allergic, never knew! The owner, Cornelius, was very helpful and a wonderful cook but the best part was the beds. We were in Ireland for 2 weeks at B&B's and castles but this was the most comfortable nights sleep in the whole 2 weeks! Between the beds and the breakfast, it was one of the best B&B's we stayed at!

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — It was set off the road a ways (easy to find though) so untill we got up the long driveway, we weren't sure if we were in the right place.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nikkicocacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletownbere
0.5 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
185 reviews
17.4 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
510 reviews
20.0 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Island View House
Island View House
#4 of 8 in Castletownbere
87 reviews
5.2 mi away
Beach View Bed & Breakfast
5.4 mi away
Allihies Seaview
Allihies Seaview
#1 of 4 in Allihies
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Summer Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: Droum North | Beara, Castletownbere, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Castletownbere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Castletownbere
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing